Carrageenan Free

in #vegan6 years ago (edited)

132AF810-C0B6-4346-A541-E9EED22A86CF.png

I do not consider myself a health freak but I do try to eat healthy food and watch what I put inside my body. Most of the time I read the ingredients listed on food labels before making a purchase.

About a year ago I was purchasing some almond milk that I typically use in many of my vegan dishes and in my plant-based protein smoothies and I ran across some almond milk that stated on the container, “carrageenan free.”

Of course I had to look up the word carrageenan and later learned that it is a replacement for gelatin used in most foods. Gelatin is made from parts of an animal. I am vegan and do not consume dairy products, so I started to use almond milk that does not contain gelatin, but does contain carrageenan. I guess all almond milks are not equal.

I did some further research and discovered some of the benefits of drinking almond milk and other foods that are free of carrageenan.

E42C23F8-DDE6-4528-AC8D-D1782444A744.jpeg

Carrageenan is typically used in milk, yogurt, ice cream and meat to thicken and help preserve the food. It actually comes from seaweeds and red algae. Some studies have shown that carrageenan causes inflammation, bloating and problems with the digestive system. source

I have arthritis in my knees and carrageenan free foods help to control the amount of inflammation that tends to surround arthritic parts of the body.

Other benefits derived from carrageenan free foods that I have observed are less bloating and being able to digest my food without heartburn. I also no longer have to take the purple pill (Nexium©) everyday. Not sure if this is from a carrageenan free diet or just eating better.

The biggest disadvantage with eating carrageenan free food is the cost. A 48-ounce container of almond milk will cost you about four dollars. The brand of carrageenan free almond milk and coffee creamer that I use is by Califa Farms©.

5BEB797A-E90D-4DCE-9860-56C616E7948D.jpeg
source

It is hard to find a lot of this almond milk on the shelves at HEB or my neighborhood Kroger’s store. I order the creamer from thrivemarket.com.

I have had to cutback on buying frivolous purchases and budget so that I am able to buy foods that are healthier.

Eating to Live

14A20611-4EDE-4BB7-92B2-CC5D9B084765.png

My original images designed in Canva

Sort:  

Carrageenan might be one of those foods that causes problems like (gmo) soy, corn, tomatoes, etc. I should try the elimination diet some time.

I learned something new today. I was not aware of the differences in almond milk. That was very helpful.

I have heard some things to not consume this. I have a stomic problem and i think this is my next thing to cut out to see if it helps. I know soy isolate is not the best for stomic issues as well

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by pyemoney from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I have heard some things to not consume this. I have a stomic problem and i think this is my next thing to cut out to see if it helps. I know soy isolate is not the best for stomic issues as well

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17