Best Homemade Pizza Ever (Homegrown Food is Always Better)

in #vegetarian5 years ago

SAM_6330.JPG

So last weekend I ended up making the best tasting homemade pizza that I had ever had - and the best vegetarian pizza I've ever had, so figured I'd share it. I think it helped that it had some homegrown and hand-picked toppings, because for some reason homegrown herbs and veggies always seem to taste far better than store-bought produce, even organic.

I never used to make pizza myself, but started doing so in the past few months in order to save money by not ordering pizza, and to have healthier pizza. I've also since learned that as long as you don't also make the dough yourself, homemade pizza is actually a very quick and simple meal!

Anyway, this time I used pizza dough made by the local food co-op, which I got for free when volunteering at the local food bank the day before. Then I used an organic pizza sauce, and topped it with pineapple, jalapeno pepper, onion, garlic, dried oregano, fresh homegrown basil and fresh wild hand-picked sauteed chanterelle mushrooms a friend had recently picked and shared with me.

SAM_6327.JPG
SAM_6328.JPG

Then I topped it with an organic smoked mozzarella cheese and into the oven it went. I'm pretty sure the fresh basil and mushroom is what made the biggest difference, along with the smoked cheese, as I've done similar combos to this before and they were never quite this tasty. Added parmesan cheese once it was baked for the final touch, and she was mighty delicious!

SAM_6329.JPG

I like mixing pineapple with jalapeno peppers as I find the sweet/hot balance to be just perfect. I can't wait until my own tomatoes and peppers ripen later in the season so I can hopefully use almost all fresh grown toppings, and also make my own salsa. I probably should share some pictures of my garden in another post, as my tomato and pepper plants are doing pretty fantastic this season, and I've got quite the variety of pepper plants this year, but I digress.

Back before I was a vegetarian, pepperoni was my go-to favorite pizza topping, and I would have never imagined that a vegetarian pizza could taste so good. I guess it goes to show that vegetarian meals don't have to be boring, can be extremely tasty and satisfying, and as good if not better than meat-dishes. Who would have thought, right?

I highly recommend this topping variety for anyone who likes these ingredients, and makes or would be interested in making their own pizza. And feel free to share your own favorite pizza combo toppings in the comments below; I'm always open to trying something new!

Sort:  

You've been visited by @minismallholding from Homesteaders Co-op.

Looks delicious. Home grown is indeed the tastiest!

I have featured your post in the Homesteaders – Living Naturally newsletter.


Homesteaders Co-op

A community marketplace of ethical, handmade and sustainable products available for STEEM, SBD (and USD): https://homesteaderscoop.com

follow: @homesteaderscoop

I liked the "as long as you don't also make the dough yourself" bit. Sounds like you have a few tragic tales to tell there !! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78