Small Plane on Shoreham Airfield

in #vehicle5 years ago (edited)


Shoreham Air Show Small Plane Waiting


I don't know what type of plane this is, although I'm sure someone here does, but it is waiting to off for it's slot in the Shoreham Air Show.

You can see the Shoreham Airport Art Deco building in the background which is worth a visit in it's own right as many of the original features remain. There is a great cafe here from which you can observe all the planes taking off and landing.

Shoreham airport was founded in 1910 and is the oldest airport in the UK. It's also the oldest purpose-built commercial airport in the world.

Sadly, it's name was recently changed to Brighton City Airport which sounds a lot less interesting to me.


small plane.jpg

Be sure to click on the image to view it full screen!

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Sort:  

NIce shot of the plane.

Name changes to buildings and areas are always hard to get use to.

That'll be a North American P-51D Mustang :)

The buulding reminds me scenes from Agatha Christie's Poirot.

That'll be a North American P-51D Mustang

That's pretty impressive @stav. 😁

And you're right about the building too. It was built in the era that Agatha Christie's Poirot is set in. 😊

You are correct! Are you a???

Howdy there gillianpearce! I like that plane. Are you a plane enthusiast or were you just with friends who are? I love Art Deco architecture! I gotta get you back on my radar, I'm writing your name down so I don' t forget, lol.

Nope. Not a plane enthusiast @janton. We just thought we should go to the air show at last once in our lives. So we've done that now. 😂

howdy again gillianpearce! I miss visting your blog, I don't know what happened that I stopped doing that, I think I was in an alternative universe for awhile. But anyway I will be bothering you more often now, sorry. lol..so the airshow..you went, you saw, you conquered. Were you impressed?
Were you all giiddy and amazed like a little school girl or no?
God bless the Queen!

Were you all giiddy and amazed

Nope. It's not really my thing.

I don't know what happened

There was quite a bit of time when I didn't post and I'm still not here anywhere near as much as I used to be. I don't even make it into Asher's league these days. 😊

well I understand, most people have more of a life that they need to spend time on. Are you on other platforms like weku or just busy with real life stuff?

I gave weku a try but quickly realised I didn't have the time or interest to start over again or keep up with engagement there as well as here.

I'm busy with real life stuff but also don't enjoy writing that much anymore. Have done so much of it in my life time. I'm in the process of cleaning up my website so maybe that will motivate me to get going again but I'm not expecting it to.

I miss all the photography competitions that used to be run here. They gave me a focus.

Nowadays there is nothing particular I want to write about and, without the photography contests as prompts, my interest has sort of fizzled out.

i took loads of photographs of my trips to Gozo in the New Year but only published a couple of them.

Also, a lot of my online time is taken up with Steem Monsters as it's a better investment for me whilst I'm able to earn cards. If that stops then I probably not play that either. 😂

Howdy again gillianpearce! oh that makes perfect sense and I understand. It becomes a grind and with the prices low then it's not worth the sacrifice in time. Plus you have a real life to live in the real world!

I like your approach though, I mean with Steem Monsters, that's a great way to keep earning and it's not boring, I hope it lasts forever. Thanks so much for the excellent explanation!

The P-51 is widely regarded as the finest all-around piston-engined fighter of World War II

What a knowledgable bunch you all are @manorvillemike. Thanks for stopping by. 😊

Yes, stav and victordaniels are right. I entered the number in Google and found the plane "Jumpin Jacques", that's even Bugs Bunny on it : D. It's a beautiful plane.

What clever plane detectives you all are @suntree. I think I posted other vehicles in the past and nobody knew what they were. I might have to look those out and set you lot on it! 😂

Hmmmm, looks like a mustang to me @gillianpearce.

@stav seemed to think so too @victordaniels. 😁

What a cool shot of what I think is a Mustang

I think is a Mustang

From what others have said, I think you are right @tattoodjay. 😁

Cool I wasnt 100% sure :)

Thank you gillianpearce! You've just received an upvote of 74% by @ArtTurtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your art and music posts

Please come visit me as I've updated my daily report with more information about my upvote value and how to get the best upvote from me.

Congratulations @gillianpearce! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi @gillianpearce!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.257 which ranks you at #2748 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 2749).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 247 contributions, your post is ranked at #135.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71