Flaps Up on my Jet Plane

How much fuel do you think can fit in the wing of a jet airplane? Here is a look at the flaps up on a jet I was in.

Flaps up vehicle photography fitinfun.jpg

According to the specs online, there are bladders in these wings that hold thousands upon thousands of gallons of fuel. Now that I look, I don’t think so. The maintenance alone on such a system would be a constant nightmare. The time to fill them with the gallons stated would be many hours.

I found this new conspiracy information on You Tube and you can look too by searching “no fuel on jet planes” over there. A few people are hot and heavy on the trail of truth for this issue. The number of gallons in the official record and the weight they would have to be appear to be impossible in such flimsy wings.

The original con on the subject of the pollution in our skies might be the contrail itself. The one we see coming out of regular jets, might be water vapor instead of exhaust.

I “woke up” when I found out about all the lies in our knowledge about food. I was furious to find out about the poison I had been eating in regular food that kept me obese and sick. Since then, I have an open mind whenever little people question the common wisdom. In this case, I no longer believe my large fuel surcharges are going to buy fuel at all.

I would love to know what you think about this one. Please let me know in the comments.

You are seeing my entry for this week’s #vehiclephotography contest by @juliank.

I use a Canon ELPH160 point and shoot camera point and shoot camera for my photos.

If you would like to help my son @bxlphabet and I stay on steemit, but your upvote is just not enough, here are my wallet addresses where I will be so grateful for any help at this difficult time.

BitcoinCash - BCH

1Bmcyk8Fk9micU3RWjWu3H1P2fvHyj71d6

Bitcoin - BTC

362ncqbi6qJn1daB8mrRrjYYWJ2HwpvcPZ

Dash - DAS

Xs7xdJHeRHRqdwF8RQuo6tPHUdXPm7viZp

Litecoin - LTC

Lhuh274DFkS6CNq4SJjhNem242QYwcTu59

steemit fitinfun site link before and after.jpg

Nothing at fitinfun would be possible if I was still obese.

Sort:  

Interesting stuff, but I have to disagree and say that I am pretty sure the fuel is kept in the wings of the plane. I used to be a mechanic at East midlands airport and although I only worked on the ground equipment, I have seen these things in pieces. Also the guy I worked with was a complete geek and had worked there all his life. He used to tell me all about the different planes and why the design had never changed. The largest plane in regular use is the Antinov Airbus and these things are awesome to see. They can hold 500 tons of fuel in the wings, but rarely do. They plan flights meticulously and the fuel amounts are often a lot lower than the maximum capacity of the tanks. They do take a lot of time to fill these tanks and the pumps for them work at massive pressure(As in slice you hand off) the fuel comes out at such a rate that they can pump 1000's of gallons in a short enough time.
Hope this has helped. I am going to look into this a little more tonight as I would be interested to know what they think is really happening.
Now as for why they do not explode is just down to things like fire proofing and bombproof fuel tanks. There are also shut off regulators that work of pressure, so soon as a line explodes or just leaks, it then shut of that part of the system.

People are looking into that idea of high pressure fuel filling and it does not seem to be possible at the rate needed. And the weight and volume and not possible in such small wings. You can see in my photo, that at least half of the wing in used for technical equipment and there is even a big gap in it.

500 tons at a lot. It does not seem possible at that weight, but the number of gallons stated would give much more weight than that. Also the time stated would be much more that the time the planes are on the ground.

I cannot imagine such wonderful fireproofing would also be in the wings.

I would love to hear from you again after you look into this.

Good morning, where you off to ?
They arent the flaps, they are the spoilers, or speed brakes that are up :-) They are the things that slow the aircraft down upon landing. The things that are down at the trailing edge of the wing are the flaps and are down to create a larger surface area of wing which creates more lift, allowing the aircraft to fly slower.
The A320 carries around 7000US Gal of fuel and yes, there are fuel tanks on the undersides of the wing. If you look how deep the aircraft is where the wings join the fuselage you can see where the inner thaks are. Youd have to look when you on the ground looking up at the aircraft.There are also much more slim outer tanks further out on the wing.

As for fuel and other surcharges on the ticket price...they are annoying.
My flight back to Thailand last week on Malaysian Airlines was a £278 pounds....the actual ticket price was just £7 yes, just $10 USD...the rest made up by fuel surcharge and the assorted taxes that the British Government charges to UK flyers!!
I'll maybe write a post about contrails later ;-)
Safe travels ! One day we'll have to meet up for a coffee downtown :-)

That was a trip to Yangon. Out of my $60 rt ticket - $54 of it was for fuel.

Look into the weight of said fuel and the impossibility of it to fit in these wings, regardless of the thickness at the front. The gallons stated are much too large for this space. I have a photo for next week showing the front side and there is nothing there big enough. I also have this photo from an older post. Not seeing any tanks or thickness to hold 3500 gallons. Plus the attachment for the engine has got to take some space in the wing.

Air Asia wing view from the boarding stairs vehicle photography fitinfun.jpg

You've got spoilers and technical equipment on the back side and thinness on the front.

Be sure to look at the videos I mention before you do your post so you can debunk them if you still feel that way.

My questions:

  • Shouldn't the wings catch on fire when a plane crashes? They often are just lying there as the fuselage burns.
  • How can the small attachment to the fuselage hold if there are 58,450/2 pounds of liquid out on these flimsy wings?
  • How to maintain stability with all that out there?
  • How long would it take to get 3500 gallons into a wing (X2)? This is a huge amount and the planes I fly on land and take off again in less than one hour. I looked on two recent trips and never saw anything that looked like it could be doing this trick.

I would love to meet up anytime :)

Very interesting, the only thing that bothers me when I am on a plane is if there is enough fuel :)

Maybe your fear is unfounded! I have not got any fear of flying since I have done it often since childhood flights. I am pretty much convinced there is no fuel except maybe for take off and landing. The logistics are impossible as we are told to believe.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-13T02:50:42
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 1179.24/1600.00
Total Photos: 161
Total comments: 125
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 1.60 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Loading...

You have been defended with a 11.11% upvote!
I was summoned by @fitinfun.

Hey @fitinfun, Congratulations! Bodzila just upvoted your post with 31.25% power. Keep up the good work!

Delegate your Steem Power to @Bodzila & Earn 80% Weekly returns based on your share. You can cancel delegation of your SP at anytime as the money & power remain in your hands only.

Any queries or required support can be discussed in person. Join our discord channel https://discord.me/SteemBulls

Congratulations @fitinfun ! You received a 10% upvote from @kryptoniabot & @kryptonia for your 1st task Today.

Remember to receive votes from @kryptoniabot

Run a task on Kryptonia.

  • Join free here Kryptonia Account
    Use the tags KRYPTONIA or SUPERIORCOIN in your Steemit post.

Delegate to the Kryptonia Upvote by clicking links: 10SP , 50SP , 100SP , 500SP , 1000SP , 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Due to an increased amount of tasks, we have changed up the voting power to evenly spread out the Upvote amount.

The people who complain the most about the "climate change " are the ones who are flying the most around the globe, often in private jets.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75