One More For the Road – Another Volkswagen Type 3 … Chiang Mai, Thailand – Vehicle Photography

in #vehiclephotography5 years ago (edited)

Just when I thought I’d seen every single old Volkswagen in northern Thailand, I came across this “new”  VW.

[Right-Click Here to Enlarge Photo]

A best-seller station wagon

This model is called the “Variant.” (In the US, it was called the “Squareback,”  to differentiate it from the 2 other models in the Type 3 line – the “Notchback”  and the “Fastback.”  ) This type of car is more commonly known as a station wagon or estate car.   

The “Variant” was manufactured not only in Germany but also in Brazil, where it became the biggest-selling Type 3 car in the country. And somehow, one of those cars made it all the way to Southeast Asia.

Red, white, and blue … forever

The body of this old VW was in superb shape, partly owing to a recent paint job. However, I peeked inside, and even the upholstery, the dashboard, and the interior trim were in excellent condition. And I love the way the red wheels match the red interior.    

If the engine is also in great shape, this car might continue to run forever. Maybe longer. My previous VW post – "Classic VW Beetles in Chiang Mai"

My previous VW post – "VW Beetle Hippie Vans in Chiang Mai"

My previous VW post – "Another 1960s VW in SE Asia"  
Location – Chiang Mai, on Google Maps

This is my entry in @juliank’s Vehicle Photography contest.

Sort:  

Stories like these make me smile and give me hope

Classic Car i Like it so Much if i want own this car :)

What a beautiful with lots of stories to tell!!!

Great car, despite the fact that he is clearly much older than me :)

Are you on Discord?

No, I find it daunting and even frightening! However, I have managed to communicate on Steemit Chat.

autiful car, I have always loved classic cars

old is gold..!! nice vehicle photography

Hello, as a member of @steemdunk you have received a free courtesy boost! Steemdunk is an automated curation platform that is easy to use and built for the community. Join us at https://steemdunk.xyz

Upvote this comment to support the bot and increase your future rewards!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82