Why do parents pickup their kids from school?

This afternoon, I visited an elementary school. It was about 10 minutes to the end of the children's school day.

The long line of cars that snaked around the perimeter of the school property made me think of what others may say is a silly question.

Why do parents pick up their kids from school?

I know many don't.

My parents did not pick me up from school. I was allowed to walk to and from school on my own because of the close distance of our house to the school and the safe walking conditions.

Outside of the obvious, such as the two reasons I just mentioned and you are a parent of school-age children, why would you pick up your kids from school?


Note: I am not a parent.

Thank you for reading this article and commenting with your thoughts about this question.

@silversaver888

Sort:  

@silversaver888 as I am not a parent I can not speak for certain, however I have a sibling and understand the reasoning for the most part. I always enjoyed picking him up and discussing the day, which we don't get to do as much now. The other is safety, but I always had to make sure to let him have some freedom because otherwise you kind of stunt their growth. Just my view and congrats on your great success in rewards my friend!!

Awwww... you are a big brother!!!! I loved my big brothers! Big brothers knew when to leave you alone and give you space, LOL!

We do it because it seems the world has turned a shade darker from when I was a school-going kid (I walked to school, in fact, I was sent away to boarding school since the age of 14 - for better education opportunity).

How was your experience in boarding school? Did you cry the first nights away from family? I left home for college in a private Catholic University, and stayed in the dorms the entire time. But I was like 17-1/2!

It was good. Stayed at an offsite student hostel, a 15 minute walk to school. I was always quite independent from young, but staying on my own, I grew up fast! And quickly appreciated all that my parents did for me when I was younger. No, did not cry. It was like an adventure for me. Moved into the onsite boarding house 2 years later.

Could it be a private school? Or maybe it's just parents that don't have anything else going on and want some entertainment. I don't really know though.

This one is a K-8 Charter School. I gather you are not a parent too. Did you ride your bike to school or walked to school when you were in grade school? What is your experience?

I am a parent and I take my nephew and my kid to school.
For us working parents, I think one big factor is spending that extra time with the kids. At times, it is harder to make time in the morning or evenings to invest in my kids. So, I use that little extra time in the car to sing with them, pray together, and listen to them.
Safety from abusers is another big factor. It seems like the world is not so safe anymore, so we want to do all we can to protect them from any harm.
Also, I think the kids also enjoy that time. They're so sweet about it too. They'll hold your hand to walk and be joyful, and the parents can feel it.
Long comment, but to summarize, it's all about that extra time with them and caring for their well-being.

Sometimes a parent may fail to realize that the kids do enjoy the time with their parents, and LOVE to be picked up from school by their parents. Without vocalizing their thought, I recall my feelings of being so proud during the times that my Mom or Dad picked me up from school... like, "hey, look at me... I am loved by my Mom and Dad!"

I see your point! This is something you will have to experience with your own kids. You will find in the future, it is very fulfilling.

My kids go to a parochial school and ride the bus to the public school where I pick them up, because they will not drop them at my house.

It is a blessing that your work allows you the flexibility to do that. Parochial schools are not neighborhood schools and a large percentage of children come from far distances. Growing up, we lived within the parish, and so my school was within walking distance.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-06T23:08:00
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 57.05/100.00
Total Photos: 9
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Thank you. I can't wait to reach level 1. Thank you for your continued support.

Our 5 and 7 year old girls ride the bus and are met at the bus stop by my wife or father-in-law every day. But last year they were picked up and dropped off every day. It took some convincing for me to let them ride the bus even.

Times have changed since we were kids and the world is a dangerous place...

Here's a kid who was walking home from school and was stabbed to death by a random crazy man: https://www.click2houston.com/news/vigil-to-be-held-for-josue-flores-1-year-after-stabbing-death

And kids even getting assaulted on the bus: http://www.fox16.com/news/local-news/girl-allegedly-sexually-assaulted-on-school-bus-superintendent-does-not-tell-parents/350308262

Helicopter parents, hehe... what can I say?

Awwww.... you and the missus are great parents. And WOW, the advantage of having their grandpa there .. that is priceless! Lucky you. Thanks for leaving a comment. I enjoy knowing more about you and your family through our exchanges! Have a wonderful week. Take care.

I think it is MAINLY the "obvious" reasons of safety, but in my county they now can pick any middle school as far as I know, if they provide their own transport... or so I've heard. So they get some that do not have a bussing option.

OH my... lucky you have busses for the kids! In this school I visited, there were no buses waiting to bring students home. It is a K-8 charter school, and gosh, just hundreds of cars, picking up students!

Looks like your Post Rewards are on the way UP? ;)

🤩

You noticed, eh?!

That is because you are not in Canada. They say that even little chindren (over 5 years old) go to and come from school alone or with a classmate. They teach it at school.

Hmmmm... that is wonderful! I am assuming then that all grade schools in Canada are neighborhood schools, and there is a school at walkable distance from any home. Lucky, lucky kids, and happy parents, especially parents who work outside of the home and cannot pick-up their children during work hours.

Yes, that is what my daughter that lives in Vancouver told me.

number one -to many creeps and two major intersections

Safety first! That is why parent involvement is needed in schools, like volunteer crossing guards for both minor and major intersections. What I gather from all your comments is that the safety of the children is the first and foremost reason! Are we saying then that it is generally unsafe? Thanks for leaving a comment, my friend. Take care.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83