Blue Bird Land Speed Record Car Returns to Pendine Sands - By Steve J HuggettsteemCreated with Sketch.

Blue Bird at Pendine for 90th anniversary - by steve j huggett.jpg

This was a crazy day down at Pendine on a cold July day back in 2015 the "Blue Bird" took a run down the beach by Sir Malcolm Campbell grandson Don Wales. This was the cars first run out in over 50 years, since its rebuild in 2014.

This pioneer of speed traveled down this beach at 146.16 mph back in 1924 in this 350bhp Sunbeam. A great bit of Landspeed history on Pendine Beach.

Blue Bird at Pendine for 90th anniversary - by steve j huggett (5).jpg

Only 350bhp from that big engine, you get that in a fast hot hatch these days!

Blue Bird at Pendine for 90th anniversary - by steve j huggett (2).jpg

Even though they didn't have wind tunnels back then, but they understood the need for an aero friendly design.

What I use

Sony Alpha A350
Software Adobe Lightroom.
Taken by Steve J Huggett.

Location

Pembrey Race Circut Carmarthenshire Wales UK

Thank you

I appreciate you taking time to read this post and viewing my photos. I hope you enjoyed them. Please let me know what you think in the comments below.

Please follow me on Steemit @stevejhuggett.


Image © Steve J Huggett. All Rights Reserved.
www.www.sjhuggettimages.co.uk

Sort:  

Dig those spoked wheels :-)

Until you have to clean all the sand of them :)))

What a car. Must be one of the most valuable in the world and looks great.

Posted using Partiko Android

Priceless I would guess :)

I used to have a Blue Bird dinky toy as a child. When my brother and I got older, my mum threw all the dinky toys out thinking we'd outgrown them. Still gutted to this day!

Most of mine got thrown out but my mum missed some. Lucky for me.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thats pretty common thing to happen! Mine got given away, don't think I had a "Blue Bird" car. I had all the Gerry Anderson TV cars etc Thunderbirds/UFO/Capt Scarlet etc!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17