Paper work received from Veterans Affairs for Combat Action Badge Verification

in #veterans6 years ago


This is one of those weird posts where I don't really know the point of it but it is something I am proud of. I received this paperwork in the mail from the Department of the Army ( a few weeks ago) approximately a year or so after I sent off for it. I noticed this award was not on my military record when I sent off for my military metals to make a box for my metals.

That was a big day in itself. Running away from this past has been apart of me for a long time. Sharing this past with Steemit over the last two years is when I really started to get a grasp and acceptance of war. This sharing is what allowed me to get to the point where I was willing to display the military part of my past.

The day I received my metals without my Combat Action Badge. There was some sadness.

I'm not a bad ass because of seeing combat. But it is an experience of my life...actual combat. And I just wanted the paper to prove it. LOL. how a piece of paper can become so important.

It's really more for Vetarans Affairs Purposes. But I have it now officially.



Veterans Logo designed by @gultyparties and for fellow Veterans Use.

Visit https://steemit.com/~witnesses and vote for @anarcho-andreai, @guiltyparties, @jackmiller, and @nnnarvaez. Your Steemit Military Veteran Witnesses.

Sort:  

Hell yeah man you deserve those words on your DD214.
Provided, now the air force can get a CAR for flying over a combat zone...
When I was deployed, we had to take fire and return fire to get written up for the CAR (and everyone got it except for some FOB and BAS individuals)
It's not that it makes your service for your country more significant or heartfelt than someone who didn't see combat: it's just a nod that you probably sacrificed a lot more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11