Jim Carrey: Overcoming Depression and leaning on Spirituality

in #video6 years ago

jim_carrey.jpg

“I decide to be there. I only act in the movies.” This is Jim Carrey, the actor as a man – a real person. The few minutes’ clip displays a side to Carrey that only few can claim to understand, but that a world should sit up and take note.

Carrey talks about life in general and his battle with depression. Once on Prozac, he now steers clear from all forms of drug; from Prozac, alcohol through to coffee. He admits the depression still lingers but that he “was on Prozac for a long time,’ Carrey says. “I had to get off at a certain point, because I realized, you know, that everything’s okay,” talking gently about those who remain on Prozac and similar drugs for the remainder of their life. “It feels like a low level of despair you live in, where you’re not getting any answers, but you’re living okay and you can smile at the office…but it’s a low level of despair.”

He draws his strength from the beauty of the world and spirituality. During his interview, he touches on his personal beliefs helping him move away from his despair. His faith is very personal and he feels very strong about his religion as religion, not as segmented. When asked what religion he is, he gives a poignant answer, one the world can learn from.

“Are you a Buddhist?” With that, Carrey responds:

“I’m a Buddhist, I’m a Christian, I’m a Muslim, I’m whatever you want me to be. It all comes down to the same thing. You’re in a loving place, or you’re in an unloving place; if you’re with me right now you cannot be unhappy, it’s not possible.”

As comments on the YouTube clip suggest, “If more people believe as he does, there would be less religious wars.”

Sort:  

@therealwolf 's created platform smartsteem scammed my post this morning (mothersday) that was supposed to be for an Abused Childrens Charity. Dude literally stole from abused children that don't have mothers ... on mothersday.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@prometheusrisen/beware-of-smartsteem-scam

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16