Moviemaking Concepts: Directing

in #video6 years ago

Continuing my moviemaking concepts series - today we're talking about the one role you've probably heard the most about out of all the roles on a movie!

Video Transcript:
Hello! I am the artist known as DEROSNEC, and welcome to my bi-weekly vlog where I talk about making music, art, movies, and more.

If you’re interested in movies, you probably hear the Director’s name thrown around a lot more than any other crew members besides the cast. You know he or she is one of the most important people involved, but do you know what a film director actually does?

The Creative Lead

Conceptually, the Director’s role is to lead the creative and technical vision of the film. Practically speaking, this means assembling the key creative crew (such as the Director of Photography, Art Director, Editor, Production Designer, etc) and working closely with them to guide them towards a clear look, feel, and style which supports the story and screenplay.

Creatively, this means that the director has to have a plan and an established understanding of the story to be able to communicate these things effectively. He or she should have an idea of how to ensure that everything is cohesive and is working together to tell the story.

This could be as specific as colour use in a shot - for example Director M. Night Shyamalan has spoken about only having certain characters and objects use the colour red throughout his film “The Sixth Sense” as a particular use of symbolism. Alternately, this creative vision could be as broad as something like “this scene’s environment needs to look like a planet which is uninhabitable” - which could be open to interpretation by the Production Designer and Art Department team. Every director is different in terms of how much specific input they give each department, but they all need to make sure that they keep everyone on a similar wavelength.

Performances

Aside from being the master of the overall creative look and feel of the film, the director is also in charge of directing the performance of the actors. And let’s face it, if the movie looks fantastic and is technically sound, it’s all for naught if the acting is terrible.

The director is usually very involved in the casting process, and works very closely with the actors for a long time before the shoot. Everything from rehearsing lines, discussing character backgrounds and motivations, blocking movement, and improvising scenarios is covered, and probably is the majority of the director’s time spent. This is because it’s of the utmost importance that the actors are prepared and comfortable with the director when shoot time comes - an actor who feels comfortable enough to be vulnerable to act will usually do a better job than someone who’s coming in with no intimate knowledge of the character, story, or director’s style. Of course, there are exceptions to this, but actors who can do that are few and far between.

Responsibilities

No matter how big the production is, be it Indie or Hollywood blockbuster, the Director is on the show from beginning to end, and his or her specific responsibilities change from phase to phase. For example, during pre-production, they’re working closely with the writers and storyboard artists to really figure out the film from a story perspective. They’re also working with the Art Department to establish the visual feel and specific environments or objects that need to be made. They’re actively rehearsing and talking with the actors, and if there are stunts or dancing, they’re reviewing any choreography that’s being developed.

During production, they’re mostly focussed on the actors and performance, but they’re also working very closely with the Cinematographer and Art Department to ensure that the lighting and shot composition is still conveying the look and feel that they’re going for with the story.

In post-production, they’re working very closely with the Editor and VFX teams (if applicable) to help guide all the pieces into place. This could mean setting up multiple test-screenings to get objective audience feedback, and long nights in the edit room going back and forth on a particular performance. At this point they’re usually also working closely with the Producer and marketing teams in working out how to sell the film successfully and hopefully make everyone a bit of money.

While different directors will have different degrees of involvement in any particular area, in the end, the Director is the lynchpin of the moviemaking process. He or she needs to be clear, firm, and a strong leader who is able to delegate effectively and communicate ideas.

What else do you think that a Director should be actively involved with in a movie? Why? Tell me what you think in the comments!

Thanks for watching - hit that thumbs up button below - it helps me more than you know - and join the uncensored by subscribing to my Youtube channel, my newsletter, or by following me on facebook, twitter, and instagram! If you never want to miss a video, be sure to click the little notification bell icon, too.

DEROSNEC

WebsiteYoutubeFacebookTwitterInstagramSpotifySoundcloudBandcampMusicoinSociety6Threadless

Art, Music, Movies, Media
Join the Uncensored

NOTE: These Thursday Vlog transcripts can also be found published on my website: http://derosnec.com

Sort:  

Always love your work, I try to catch every video.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you! I really do appreciate that :D

I didn't know that the director of a movie has so many tasks to do. It looks like a very stressful and responsible job. I thought it was just a person walking around and giving commands just for the sake of giving them :) Now you changed my opinion completely. I can imagine the when the movie is released the euphoria that the director is feeling is unbeatable. Thank you for sharing such a useful information. It's good to know about their work to appreciate them better. Have a lovely weekend!

Hahah yes that is a common misconception - sometimes even for the director! With great power comes great responsibility... ;)

Thanks for watching!

Interesting as always but my question is focused more on Steem promotion.
Did you try to get anyone to join Steem? What were the biggest hurdles and what was the feedback offered, if any.
I know a little about the industry and was very curious if the renowned open-minded people in moviemaking would have found Steem interesting in any way? :)

Keep up the good job! Wonderful video.

Thanks @alexdory! To answer your questions - I don't really go about actively trying to get anyone to join any particular social media in my vlogs, though I have mentioned Steemit in a few videos in the past, like when I get a specific question from a steemit user for example - I'll give them and the platform a shout out. I do however provide links to my steemit blog in the Youtube video descriptions, relevant facebook/instagram posts, etc. - and basically whenever I'm actually able to provide the link! Many sites limit you to the big ones and only allow one "other" category, where of course I usually need to put my own website or a link to one of my stores.

In terms of trying to actively recruit entertainment people onto the platform, I do actually do that - but mostly in person or by word of mouth rather than online or via the vlog, because I find it's easier to explain that way. As the platform is structured currently, I find it really requires the user to have a certain kind of technical mind to be able to understand how the blockchain/cryptocurrency functions and that the way you can get the most out of the steemit community is to be active on Discord - a whole other program. This is limiting for those who aren't technically minded or who are more extroverted and don't like to spend a lot of time on the internet. The movie industry in particular is comprised of talkers who prefer face to face interactions than online interactions - this has been my broad stroke experience anyway.

The biggest issue I think that I've run into in my conversations with filmmakers in particular is return on investment - it can take a lot of money and manpower to make a film in the first place, and unless you're already super active in the steemit community and can work its system, it's unlikely they'll be able to make more than one person's lunch reimbursement on posting it here if you're lucky. It's much more lucrative to spend their time and energy in the traditional ways - festivals, meetups, networks, etc.

Not to mention, that homepage is still very much crypto-centric. Crypto-friendly people such as myself are trying to change that of course by featuring a blog on a blockchain that is about art and creative endeavors, but we're rarely seen on the trending page - at least enough that can stand out through the crypto-talk noise to not be off-putting to those who have no interest in crypto, decentralization, or financial talk. I don't use bidbots or anything, so I don't think I'll be up there anytime soon, and I think many artists on here also feel the same way.

Where I've had the most luck in recruitment is graphic artists and illustrators, as opposed to filmmakers. That's something that they can usually do by themselves in their own time, and can post when it's done. Unfortunately it comes down to consistency though, they'll fall off the wagon and stop posting. Or won't get involved in the Discord communities and not make more than a few cents per post and get bored. While it's nice to make .05 cents as opposed to nothing, it's still a song and dance to set up and learn how to actually turn STEEM/SBD into fiat, so they'll just quit and end up back on FB/instagram where they'll get lots of likes and immediate gratification without having to do any other work...

I believe the future is crypto, so I'm in for the long haul! But it's just not there for most of the worlds that I'm in yet. Hopefully that will change, and of course I'll continue to have those conversations to try and bring more people in!

Let me know if you'd like me to elaborate on anything!

Great explanation of the director's role in making film. Ive been active in the local indie scene (tired of mainstream Hollywood) and knows few directors and their craft. They're kind enough to share them with the crowd about their workflow and process.

Which gives me the idea to do a steemit post about one!

And yes...im one of the inktober-ers!
Check it out here haha (already missed few days damn)
https://steemit.com/teammalaysia/@nazirullsafry/inktober-9-star

Thank you! Yeah, Hollywood is great in many ways but it's definitely not the only way to make a movie, lol! I hope I'm covering both sides sufficiently in my series.

And that's great, I'm glad I inspired you! And YAY more inktober-ers!! I love that star one, you've got a really fun dynamic style :D Looking forward to checking out the rest of your work!

I know very little about film Making, but I am enjoying this series and learning so much about various roles in Movie making

I'm so glad, thanks for stopping by @tattoodjay!

Awesome explanation of the directors responsibilities.. great to have you post this on Steemit ;9)

Thank you, it's great to be here! :D

Directors sure do have great weight on their necks😃, don't know how some of them manage to pull through it and make great movies, it's definitely not a job for just anyone... Sadly, we only see the faces of the actors,not the directors that work so hard (of course others do work too) behind the scene. They definitely deserve more credit😃. A great director sure makes a great movie, the skill of the actor comes after that, i guess...

Is that piercings on your face? I love them....

Very true! And yet they're still arguably the role behind the camera who gets all the attention, lol - most of us are just names in a big line of credits :)

And yes! I love my piercings, haha - thank you! I don't have my septum piercing in in these videos.... ;)

Lol! True...😀

Of course you do!! How many piercings do you have?

four on the ears (lobes and cartilage), one in the nose (septum), one in my left eyebrow, and two in the bottom lip (snake bite). More to come! (and tattoos for that matter...)

That's like eight! More to come? Wow! Maybe one on your navel and then tongue? How many more do you plan on having?

I have always loved tattoos, but have never gotten around getting one. Not bold enough😢. Actually, I am scared I may end up getting a design that I will hate someday...😂😅😃😃

Hi derosnec,

This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase that will be posted Late Saturday/Early Sunday (U.S. time) on the @curie blog.

NOTE: If you would NOT want us to feature your post in the Author Showcase please reply, email, or DM me on Discord as soon as possible. Any photos or quoted text from your post that we feature will be properly attributed to you as the author.

  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in reply here or look me up on Discord chat (@misterakpan#6646).

You can check out our previous Author Showcase to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Thanks for your time and for creating great content.
Akpan (@curie curator)
[email protected]

Curie---Author-Showcase---Radial-Gradient-BG.gif

Ooh that's very exciting, thank you very much for your consideration!

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 279 (10/12/18)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29