Unfreezing The Frame

in #video6 years ago (edited)

Light That Dances

My creative evolution has frequently surprised me. I've often felt that some other force is responsible for my imaginative whims; as though my muse enjoys keeping me on my toes – ensuring I never grow bored nor fall out of love with art itself.

Just as I recently shared about my accidental stumble into clothing design, the shift from still photography to moving imagery was entirely unforeseen.

Even as I'd traveled with a video-capable DSLR, it never really occurred to me. And yet, while documenting Faerieworlds in 2012, the simple flip of a switch dramatically changed my ongoing conversation with light. It felt not so unlike discovering the deliciousness of color after knowing only black and white.


Screen Shot 2018-05-08 at 10.13.46 PM.png


Having grown somewhat complacent about my work – perhaps subconsciously longing for the kind of challenge no longer experienced with stills – the discovery of video shook me awake. It shifted everything about how I relate with my gear, opening a wonderfully complex dialogue between my camera and I – building steadiness and fluidity into my posture.

As described on my Vimeo:

Light, once frozen in isolated moments, now dances before me, teasing me through the lens, writing and bending itself into colorful, refracted shapes that tickle my subjects and make my heart sing...


Today – as I began filming for a wonderful new client – I found myself reminiscing about how it is that I came to be here. I suppose I'm still somewhat in awe.

So – in honor of the unexpected – here's one of the first videos I was hired to create (and my most popular, with just under 230k views.) It follows my friend, Flora Bowley, through the creation of a painting, start to finish – from blank canvas to vibrant work of art.

Enjoy!
xo • Zippy



raindrop-promo-thin.jpg

DP-promo-stella.jpg

Sort:  

Super cool video! LOVE the painting!

If I tried to do a painting like that - well.... it would be sad.... very sad....

So excited for your new video project! Looking forward to seeing the finished product. No doubt in my mind it will be incredible just like you. 😘😘.

In Peace, Love , and Health ~ T

Your work and hers are both so lovely. A sonnet to art itself.

I've watched artist paint just about everything but this was a first experience in watching a abstract type design, pretty cool and you did a great job syncing everything, her movements to the music, I could really feel it as it went along.

Well done. A lot of good editing there. Did you record the whole painting? Do you know how long the painting took?

Never cease to explore wherever your creativity leads you. From photo to video sounds a logic call, I do never think one thing is over the other but they complements. I want to dip my fingers on vivid colours and paint on canvas with bare hands. Your edit is really cool and I love to see how it builds up to completion.

I'd hire you! Talented :-)

Cool video and cool painting. Thanks for sharing @zipporah :)

That was sweet and hypnotic, what beautiful creations you both made. ♡

thanks so much for sharing you thoughts ..I have just joined today and I'm already excited to find so many beautiful artist in this platform. I enjoyed your video so much that I feel inspired to do my painting now !! I will keep you in my heart(follow) to see more of your expression soon..have fun free spirit..!! 🎨💙

just lovely!!!! i loved watching that video!!!! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83