Unexpected day off so let's play ARK!

in #vimmtv5 years ago

thumbnail

Unexpected day off so let's play ARK!

Category: gaming
Sub-category: ARK: Survival Evolved

Click here to watch the live stream!


Today I got an unexpected day off so I'd like to play some ARK. As I'm getting back into streaming I realize how much time is required to get set up and then stream for a few hours. I've been meaning to get other stuff done but gaming has always been a great stress relief system for me and I could use some!

ARK: Survival Evolved

I wrote an article that highlights some of the best parts of ARK about 10 months ago and it's only gotten better with the recent expansion.

I don't think I've been able stream it without lag yet, so today will be a nice treat now that I've upgraded the PC. Playing with the same friend I spoke of in the article, @tenk.trickpony and @blueteddy, we're on a "Path to Ascension" again. It'll be fun playing with friends again! The first time it didn't go as planned, which was around June 17th just two days before I got the day job. I'll be taking a more casual approach but we plan on taking out major bosses together. He's got a lot more time then I do though, so we'll see how it goes. In the mean time, I'm just enjoying the game!

I went ahead and got a head start as I played for a few hours to test the lag and everything seems to be going good so will see if streaming causes any lag. It shouldn't. Got a small, roofless base built to keep the two tames I got safe. A Carbonemys and a Tek Parasaur. Nothing too fancy, and I am not sure if there are benefits to having a Tek Parasaur yet., but I am in no way established. "Tek gear" is end game stuff that requires a lot of serious grinding and boss killing to accumulate. That is until we make it back to earth through progression. (Extinction) It's one reason why we decided against starting with extinction and are going for a "100 percent completion" attempt. That means teaming at least two of each dinosaur as well as breeding them. I am looking forward to it but it will require a lot of time!

These are the preliminary stages. Gotta level up and work on better tames. It's a new, unofficial fresh server with only 3 or so people playing. 1 person to each tribe, there is danger lurking absolutely everywhere. We have a few mods in place to make things easier but nothing out of this world. Rates are relatively low to give a meaningful, rewarding experience that would require me to utilize the dinosaurs as my tools.

For now, picking fiber with my hands is tedious until I can make a sickle and since the Parasaur is better at berry picking I can go for better herbivore tames. I've also upgraded to a metal pick, but there's still much to do. I need to consider moving closer to a cave (for better resources) or at least setting up an out post. Of course, I need a carnivore to keep me safe or at least a small army of herbivores for that. Sticking mostly to things near my base right now and not doing much exploring as I work on tranquilizer darts so I can perform a "mass taming" session where I tame anything and everything I see. Many tames will be throwaway tames just to get by. If losing a team means surviving the encounter, then so be it!

One thing I look forward to in this game is how limitless it really is and as a resource hoarder it really satisfies my needs as opposed to Fallout 76's weight limits and limit to the base.

In ARK, if I run out of storage space, I simply build a new storage box. If I run out of room because I suddenly have too many dino's, I merely expand my base into a larger one. There really are no limits to what I can have, minus the personal weight limit which is expected in any game. However; the dino's also have a weight limit and is much larger, so going out with a caravan of dino's to collect resources with makes gathering easier as well.

Incase you missed the stream, you can catch replays of my last streams below!
https://www.twitch.tv/bitcoinfiend
https://dlive.tv/bitfiend

When I joined Steemit I made the decision to always Power-Up my earnings. For now, payouts are set to 50/50 but you bet I will convert & Power Up! Besides internal transfers, I have never cashed out and don't plan on it! Power-Up only!

power-up.jpg

Please Consider @comedyopenmic for witness!

Proudly a part of the #comedyopenmic / #comedyopenmicespanol community! Make people laugh with your original jokes! Curate, Participate, Donate, Delegate!
Click The Banner Below To Vote @ComedyOpenMic For Witness And Disrupt The Steem Blockchain With Laughter!
Support COM Banner

Thank you to @matytan for the great banner


This post was generated from a live stream on Vimm.tv

Sort:  

Your post was upvoted by the @archdruid gaming curation team in partnership with @curie to support spreading the rewards to great content. Join the Archdruid Gaming Community at https://discord.gg/nAUkxws. Good Game, Well Played!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75