ADSactly Design - Danish Design and The Iconic Egg Chair

in #vintage6 years ago

cover working file.jpg

Most ADSactly readers will know me as the resident foodie. That is not my only passion, and it may surprise you to know that my day job is an antique furniture trader. With this sort of job, comes many special pieces of furniture, some magnificent and old, some really strange, and some just plain wondrous.

Have you ever looked into really expensive and/or designer stores, and thought to yourself, "Who would ever buy that for that price?" Well, folks, I bought and sold one of those crazy pieces last week. I think, for a collector, or anyone who is design obsessed, it's an understandable purchase.



Source

The item in question is an Egg chair, designed by Arne Jacobsen. Arne Jacobsen was one of the pioneers of Danish mid-century modern design, and changed the way the world looked at furniture design

1040 x 820 x 860 - R80500 incl vat .JPG

Danish Design

If you don't know much about Danish Minimalism/Mid-Century Modern, allow me to give you a quick crash course.

Danish design favoured functionality. Around the mid 1940's through to the early 1950's, just after the War, and inspired by modern design trends such as Bauhaus, Danish Design became very popular. Resources were low after the war, and functionality became very important.

The Bauhaus Institute in Dessau, Germany, the first and finest example of Bauhaus architecture - Source

Popular Elements of Danish Design

Popular elements of Danish design include the usage of wood, steel, leather, and later, plastic. Oak, teak and rosewood were commonly used, and smooth, free flowing lines were common.


One of my ultimate favourites, the CH 28 chair by Hans Wegener - (This baby goes for around $4000) - Source

Jacobsen and Other Pioneers of the Movement

Arne Jacobsen, Kaare Klint and my personal favorite, Hans Wegener were some of the most well known designers in the movement.

Arne Jacobsen was famous for his beautiful simple lines, and the influences of Swiss-French designer Le Corbursier, and German-American architect Mies Van Der Rohe and Frank Lloyd Wright (pioneers of the Bauhaus movement) are very apparent through out his designs.

Jacobsen, The Egg Chair and The SAS Royal Hotel

Jacobsen, who designed the Egg Chair I sold, famously built the SAS Royal Hotel in Copenhagen, now the Radisson Royal Hotel. The SAS Hotel is known as "the world's first designer hotel" 1. His now famous Egg and Ant chairs were designed for the hotel especially and were revolutionary back in the sixties. Jacobsen was considered a visionary in his field at the time, as he understood the appeal of a fully designed, all in one experience. His vision stretched all the way from the then very modern stainless steel cutlery, to the door knobs, the spiral staircase, the very futuristic furniture and the building itself.


The then radical staircase - Source

The hotel has since been redeisgned, of course keeping Jacobsen's original designs in mindRoom 606 is the only room remaining in Jacobsen's original style, and one can still stay there! I would love to do this. In the image below the original green fabric is used, and the now iconic Egg chair is prominent.


Room 606 at the Royal Hotel, Copenhagen, left in it's original style, as designed by Arne Jacobsen -
Source

Why Was I So Excited to Buy and Sell The Egg Chair

I was extremely thrilled to see this chair on a recent auction here. I have actually never seen my boss so excited as when he saw it. We were both shouting (in a refined manner teehee) about how we HAD to have it!

It was very different for it's time, with it's smooth lines and stream lined curves, and really is a special collector's piece. We have had a few designer chandeliers, a designer coffee table by Willy Rizzo (a '60's designer) but never a piece by one of the great masters of furniture design.

We bought it on a Wednesday, and sold it the very next day! Gone, baby, gone!

Please let me know if you found this interesting - I would love to write some more about furniture and design for you!

1 - Source

footer.jpg

Please consider voting for @adsactly-witness as a witness. To read what we are all about - click here

adsaxtly-witness.gif

CLICK HERE TO JOIN OUR DISCORD

DQmd5CQG5zLjjm2z8289qcLU6eBHJpC5FmgtR3aC1eXnhsi.png

Sort:  

These are super cool chairs. It is the kind of chair that you can get lost in. We had a similar chair in my house when I was a kid but unfortunately we broke it. Ours would spin and we would take turns getting in the chair and spinning each other into oblivion. The most fun part was getting out of the chair and trying to walk straight. So many bumped heads. Damn, kids can be dumb.

I liked the introduction to your post. However, if any of the readers of your culinary blog here saw your main blog, they will know your main activity. Personally, I've seen some of the things that you show in your everyday blogs. Do you know what I think about them? They are delightful. Yes, I'm one of those people who appreciate such things. They are individual, they create values ​​and of course, they are original. These are not things that are mass sold in stores and are in every home. Their value in their naturalness and originality. I'm sure that people who appreciate this design very much :)
You do not know how obsessed I am :) I really like designer furniture and designer interiors. I like when a natural tree is present in the design. However, I do not mind other materials.
I like what you said in this message! Thank you!

That was absolutely insane price! Lol
It is surely insane in our level to buy that 8k dollars for a chair. Its already a treasure for us to have that 8k dollars, isnt it? In our point of view as average level in society, no one will dare to buy that thing.

But that insane price is just nothing to the rich people who have hobbies to collect expensive things. It cant even dent to their wealth and in fact, they have even antique collections that costs millions of dollars. 8k dollars is just a penny for them. Lol 🤣

These are super cool chairs. It is the kind of chair that you can get lost in. We had a similar chair in my house when I was a kid but unfortunately we broke it. Ours would spin and we would take turns getting in the chair and spinning each other into oblivion. The most fun part was getting out of the chair and trying to walk straight. So many bumped heads. Damn, kids can be dumb.

That was absolutely insane price! Lol
It is surely insane in our level to buy that 8k dollars for a chair. Its already a treasure for us to have that 8k dollars, isnt it? In our point of view as average level in society, no one will dare to buy that thing.

But that insane price is just nothing to the rich people who have hobbies to collect expensive things. It cant even dent to their wealth and in fact, they have even antique collections that costs millions of dollars. 8k dollars is just a penny for them. Lol 🤣
What an informative post, I had no idea that there were so many points to look at to identify an original Swan or Egg chair as I have not had the opportunity to inspect one first-hand. I am now also armed with enough information about how a fiber glass chair is upholstered to feel like I can attempt the re upholstery of a mid-century chair I own - to be clear, it's not a copy of either of these. Thank you!

Oh my gosh! 8000 € ??? I opt completely for the reproduction ... ahah! It is true that the objects of art have often justified prices, but unfortunately it will never be in my means! (unless I win the lottery tomorrow!) I did not know that this type of armchair had a name, let alone that it had a real story ... thank you for this end of day!

What an informative post, I had no idea that there were so many points to look at to identify an original Swan or Egg chair as I have not had the opportunity to inspect one first-hand. I am now also armed with enough information about how a fiber glass chair is upholstered to feel like I can attempt the re upholstery of a mid-century chair I own - to be clear, it's not a copy of either of these. Thank you!

Have you ever looked into really expensive and/or designer stores, and thought to yourself, "Who would ever buy that for that price?"

That’s exactly what goes through my mind while looking at those pieces. That doesn’t mean there aren’t others who may think otherwise 😆. And there are planty of them to be able to even make it your own business, your own successful businesses. Knowing my wife, if she loves something she sees and if her subconscious, or this specific item tells her “buy me!” I don’t have much of a choice. Fortunately, it doesn’t happen too often 😆. Anyway, that piece the CH 28 chair by Hans Wegener for $4,000.00 must be hand made. Now that sentence goes through my mind ”Have you ever looked into...”
You sound very excited and satisfied about buying and than the next day selling this “The Egg Chair”, I assume you made a very nice profit.

I admit that I have never heard of the people that you mention in the post. Modern interior and furniture design isn't my strong suit but I certainly can appreciate a great piece when I see one. The good part is that I have heard about the Bauhaus school more times than I can remember. My friends who studied architecture kept me informed about it and once the visited it, they couldn't stop talking :-)

Apart from this it is great to know about Danish minimalism and why it came to be. War can inspire many things and some of them can be positive and not so painful to remember. It does my heart good to see such inspiration from lack of resources.

Also, congrats on the sale and acquisition of your personal masterpiece. I hope you guys were able to make a little profit from it, but I hope even more that you guys enjoyed it :-)

antique furniture trader? Sounds better then most of the names out there too!

8k for a chair makes me wonder who actually buys these things. Damn.

rich people, son, rich people.

Even if I were rich I would feel stupid over this though. But maybe I will think different about it once I'm rich.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30