Who's Got Vinyl? 2001: A Space Oddyssey

in #vinyljunkies6 years ago

This soundtrack belongs on vinyl. It's a beautiful, and at times chilling, work of art. I really enjoy the artwork as well, and use the backside graphic as wall art:

IMG_20180708_213938530_HDR.jpg

The recordings of each classical piece are great (I almost always appreciate the sound that Deutsche Grammophon creates on their recordings), and I really enjoy the works they included by Gyorgy Ligeti.

Just don't listen to them in the dark ;).

IMG_20180708_214024369_HDR.jpg

IMG_20180708_214120866.jpg

IMG_20180708_214230689.jpg

Sort:  

Great album.The art is really cool! I was one of those kids in the 60's that wanted to be an astronaut. I built models and and all kinds of stuff and then would usually blow them up around the 4th of July! I just watched the movie again not long ago and really enjoy the design and sets even more and the spooky quietness of it

Yeah the movie holds up really well for being filmed in the late 60s. I too love the eerie quietness of the movie and how the music and scene lengths really immerse you in the present within the story. You rarely see film editing like that anymore.

Things are so fast moving and way too much focus on fighting so much of the time.

I was just thinking of Solaris, both versions i liked for different reasons. I really like all space movies. some are disappointing but i look forward to seeing them. There's a movie i saw on cable awhile back about a British astronaut in 1959! Who has trouble with his mission. Capsule is the name. Pretty cool if a bit hard to watch for some reason

i just edited this after finding some info...

Awesome.... I would love to have a mint condition of that vinyl !!! Also Sprach Zarathustra .... or something like that...gives me gooseflesh when I hear it. I can so remember watching this in the movie house . I was about 9 years old and could not understand why these monkeys were throwing sticks at this piece of black marble ..... honestly that is ALL I remember about the whole movie.

Yes! I love that track. Richard Strauss was an amazing composer. It is the opener on side one, and was performed by the Berlin Philharmonic orchestra conducted by Karl Bohm.

It may just be one of the most recognized and famous 1:37 minutes of music on record thanks to the film.

You should go back and watch it now that you're older. You'll pick up on all kinds of new meanings from it.

Congratulations @garageheroes! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The semi-finals are coming. Be ready!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88