Summer Update

in #vlog6 years ago

I know it's been a while since I posted, but I have good reasons! Here are some updates and things to know about my channel.

Video Transcript
Hello! I am the artist known as DEROSNEC, and welcome to my bi-weekly vlog where I talk about making music, art, movies, and more.

I’m back!

I know, I’m sorry, I’ve been taking a little bit of a break from posting over the last few weeks, but I have a couple of good reasons. So I wanted to update you on what was going on, as well as tell you a little bit of what’s coming up on my channel.

Personal Project Time Accommodation

My first reason for posting hiatus, was that I was working really hard to finish editing my “No Comfort in the Void” music video, which is now finally complete!

As most of you know, I have a family and I work full time, so that doesn’t leave me a whole lot of time for personal projects - up until this last music video I have been spending most of my free time making these vlog posts. And as much as I love these vlogs, my passion is creating art. So with that, my posting schedule is going to be adjusted a little so that I have more time to create new art. This means that you can expect a new post every other Thursday rather than every Thursday. This also means, that you’ll see more new original music and movie projects so that you don’t have to listen to me talk about all my old stuff over and over again.

New Gear

If you’re particularly observant, you may have noticed that the quality of this video is a little nicer than my previous vlog postings - this is because I’ve finally upgraded my camera gear!

I said goodbye to my trusty EX3 and sent her off to a new home where she will get a lot of work more worthy of her time, and in turn I invested in a fancy Sony A7sii kit.

New Gear!

It’s outfitted with a powerful EF lens adapter, which means that I can use all my existing EF lenses, as well as an Atomos Ninja external recorder which allows me not only to see what I’m doing when I’m filming myself by acting as an external monitor, but also records the footage in the highest quality possible! I’ll have a lot more flexibility in post production with this setup, and I’m super excited to have the ability to shoot 4K as well as a frame speed of up to 120fps in full HD quality. I don’t have to use my iPhone anymore for high speeds!

New Family

The final and probably most exciting piece of news which added to my already complicated schedule is that my family is growing! This Christmas Terrence and I are expecting another kiddo. We even made a goofy movie trailer spoof as the announcement, so here’s a link to that if you want to see that madness:

I was in camera limbo at the time, so shot that entirely on my iPhone! See what I mean about no excuses?

Coming Soon!

So what can you expect from my channel over the next little while? Well, aside from some new music and hopefully a few new music videos, my next vlog series is going to give you a general overview of the entire moviemaking process from beginning to end - breaking down some of the concepts and key roles in the general scope of making a film. I’ll talk about the script, production planning, previs, directing, shooting, and of course editing. I’ll also try to demystify the world of VFX and its processes as well as talk a little bit about its history and how it’s evolved into the complex leviathan that it is today. So if there’s anything that you’ve ever wanted to know about a particular aspect of making a film, be it small and indie or a blockbuster Hollywood film, then let me know in the comments below and I’ll include it in my comprehensive series!

Thanks for watching - hit that thumbs up button below - it helps me more than you know - and join the uncensored by subscribing to my Youtube channel, my newsletter, or by following me on facebook, twitter, and instagram! If you never want to miss a video, be sure to click the little notification bell icon, too.

DEROSNEC

WebsiteYoutubeFacebookTwitterInstagramSpotifySoundcloudBandcampMusicoinSociety6Threadless

Art, Music, Movies, Media
Join the Uncensored

NOTE: These Thursday Vlog transcripts can also be found published on my website: http://derosnec.com

Sort:  

I love your videos! I love making videos, but my equipment is basic, my knowledge is basic and I just muddle through really - I have a couple of very short documentaries that I'm quite proud of though! And I love making them, which is the important point.
As I'm clueless when it comes to camera (and most production) equipment, I'd be interested in info about what all these cameras with fancy acronyms actually do, in the hope that one day I'll be able to afford one! And any production tips would be welcome.
I don't know if you read @daan's recent post where he asked for tips on making videos. I think there could be a big audience for good advice on this.
I love the music video too - very powerful!

Yeah, I'd be very interested in that too. I'm planning on making a video next week, when I get back from vacation. I'm a bit clueless on video-editing etc.

Thanks for watching you two! I can certainly do a "Intro to cameras" series at some point - though I've been staying away from straight up tutorial videos because I feel that there are enough of them out there and frankly I'm more interested in talking about the story/theory (my geek is showing haha), but I can certainly break down the terms so that the theories actually make practical sense. Great idea!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by derosnec from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hey 👋 I discovered your page from the PYPT show today, thanks for sharing!

Thanks for watching! :D

Lots of exciting happenings! Congrats on your new equipment and the new family member to be!

Thank you so much!!

You've got a lot going on! Congrats on the growing family. Keep doing your thing! ;)

I do indeed, lol! Thanks so much :D

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 188 (7/07/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

yay! thankya!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94