It's a vlog #1 (?)

in #vlog5 years ago (edited)

Took out the longboard for a ride today, beautiful springlike day, I had to. I used to longboard quite a bit some years ago, but my longboard is no longer with us... So I just abandoned the quest. Then today I remembered again my daughters board, and here we are!

https://youtu.be/slrwuHmVtM8

Saw lil bunny foofoo just before recording,

and a smoke cloud (guessing house fire, it seemed to be in a residential neighborhood) some distance off just after..

It was rough pushing with my right leg while balancing on my left, it was my first real attempt ever (well, that my 38 yr old brain can remember) to get it solid.. going to have to work some calf balancing into a yoga routine.. I've been doing mostly "book reading yoga" which is my way of contorting while reading books.

'll end this post with a nice photo of Mt Diablo's North-East side split in half with a telephone pole...

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Looks like a beautiful day for a longboard ride :) Hey just a tip, not sure why you used the youtu.be URL instead of normal youtube link, the way you did it you can't watch the video without going to youtube. If you put the normal youtube.com link in, you can play the video straight from most steem front ends like steemit.com, steempeak.com, busy.org, etc.

Thanks for the feedback, I'll make sure to do the embed code next time. Or does just the .com like work and it auto embeds?

yeah you don't even need the embed code, just the link. Youtube has started using those shortened URLs that you pasted in if you click the share button but if you actually just grab the full URL of the video page and paste it in, almost all of the Steem sites will allow the viewer to click play on the video on the page without having to visit youtube site. Check it out - I just pasted in the following link from my youtube:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bCqHH2gCz04

Haven't skated/longboarded in forever since my last board broke. I've been considering buying a boosted board ever since I saw it out in the streets of Chicago and Casey Niestat using it.

I was thinking about making my own boosted board. Haha.

Making yourself one? Good luck, and if you do, make a second one and ship it to me. It'd be nice to have.
A big reason I want a boosted board is I think it can be a fully sustainable way to travel around the downtown part of a city. I'll get you more details later on that, its in my amazon wishlist somewhere.

I'd much prefer a folding bike.. but I need to learn welding for that.. shouldn't be too hard tho, it's a skill most lay people could pickup in a few hours at most for basic skills

So here's pretty much my idea, really dumb, but hey, it'll work.

Boosted Board Stealth : Need that as the main piece. I choose the faster one thats more expensive, but I prefer longboards and it looks cooler.

Portable Charger: Charge it while on the go. I know its not much, and if I did my math right, it'd get me to like 50%, but an extra 50% is nice isn't it?

Now the fully sustainable part comes in:

Solar Panel: Always liked solar tech and I could charge up the portable charge with this while riding around.

Or even better

Portable Powerstation: Charge this thing up at home with the solar charger. Use it to charge the board at night.

It's one of my weird thought. Could it work, maybe. I hope so, but I'm probably going to buy at least the board someday. I like it and it seems cool.

My thought on making on myself was basically taking a simple RC car I have, connecting that gutted system up to a better motor... couple of gears for the rear axel, and good to go

Awesome to read that you are riding again man.
Don't forget to tag your skate rlated posts with #steemskate tag so they can get upvoted and resteemed by us.
Tere is also "Steemskate Contest Round 2" if ou want to participate.
This post was resteemed and upvoted by @steemskate.

Ok, I added the tag, but those guys are a far better set then myself! LoL

Posted using Partiko Android

Doesn't matter who skates best, what matters is to have fun.
#SKATEFORLIFE

^>^ I dig it

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes my friend! Fantastic to have another steemian back on the board!

Ah don’t worry for a second about anyone being ‘better’ @snOn we all first stepped on a board because it looked like fun, so really the best skateboarders are the ones who have the most fun!
And a cruise up and down a local street on such a nice day looked lovely to me!

Also, props on skating both ways!
It’s a trick in itself to be smooth in both stances! Good stuff!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes my friend! Fantastic to have another steemian back on the board!

Ah don’t worry for a second about anyone being ‘better’ @snOn we all first stepped on a board because it looked like fun, so really the best skateboarders are the ones who have the most fun!
And a cruise up and down a local street on such a nice day looked lovely to me!

Also, props on skating both ways!
It’s a trick in itself to be smooth in both stances! Good stuff!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @sn0n! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 600 replies. Your next target is to reach 700 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66785.29
ETH 3229.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30