Will THIS Replace My CAMERA?!?!

in #vlog6 years ago (edited)


Preface


As most of you know, my main camera is the Sony a5100. This is a mirrorless camera, so unlike a DSLR this camera is light and compact. It delivers a powerful punch in a package so small, and it produces stunning images. There was a key flaw with this camera as it is missing a microphone jack and a hot shoe mount which made recording external audio very difficult. So I did some research and found a camera very similar that may actually beat the a5100.


Canon EOS M6


After doing some extensive research, I found the Canon EOS M6. On the surface, this appears to be the perfect vloggers camera. Sitting pretty with 24.2 megapixels, Dual Pixel Auto Focus, 60FPS video recording, Wi-Fi, NFC, Bluetooth, Mic Port, Hot Shoe, Tilting Screen, Flip Screen… This thing is a vloggers dream. Paola (@paolajane) was looking to get a camera, and she was looking at the Sony I purchased. After finding this camera, I suggested she pick up the Canon.


Initial Thoughts


Right out of the box, the Canon feels extremely sturdy and well built. It’s actually a bit larger than the a5100 and heavier as well. This isn’t necessarily a bad thing however. It gives it a nice sturdy feel, something to grab. I almost feel like the Sony is a keychain, albeit it’s really convenient! The build quality is fantastic. And I’ll just be completely honest in saying that the camera is gorgeous.


EOS M6 Vs. a5100

Well for this, you’re just going to have to watch the video above 😉


Photo Comparison


Heres a look at some comparison photos taken with the same settings and same focal length no post editing. As you can see, it appears the Canon is able to handle light better as most of the Canon pictures are better lit even with the same Shutter, Aperture, and ISO settings.

CanonSony
7650950144_IMG_0133.JPGORG_DSC02991.JPG
7650950144_IMG_0134.JPGORG_DSC02992.JPG
7650950144_IMG_0135.JPGORG_DSC02993.JPG

Final Thoughts


All in all, I think both are great cameras. For a vlogger, it has to be the Canon. Having that external mic option is just something so basic but so necessary. I still think the Sony is a great camera. And the fact that it’s really difficult to find mirrorless cameras with flip out screens is sad so they both trump others in this category.

The cameras are very similar and both produce stunning images. I’d say shoot for either one but if you really know you’re a vlogger… Get the Canon. I’m not entirely ready to switch over yet. However I do see myself picking this camera up in the future and keeping the Sony as a backup.


I believe that everything I desire to accomplish, will in fact be accomplished.
@spenceryan

Follow me on Instagram
Follow me on my second Instagram
Follow me on steemit
Follow me on Twitter


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

It look beautiful camera.this photography is lovely.

Looks like a great camera and would be absolutely perfect if that screen flipped out to the side to get the screen out of the way of a shoe mounted mic on top, but as you guys have done, easy to drop a shoe mount off to the side for the mic. That mic input is great and the Canon color science is good. Looks like a really great solution.

Yeah I can't believe that these mirrorless cameras haven't figured out the side flip yet. I think @paolajane had it right when she told me the other day that it's probably because they are scared nobody will buy the DSLR's. And yeah, canon does handle colors better than my Sony. White looks blue. It's a preference but still important.

You guys are really tempting me to get this. I have the same exact issue as you with the Sony A5000 series 😭😭😭😭

If you find it in the budget.... Pull the trigger. It's not in my budget yet but I'll be allocating to it!

hey u didnt reply me in discord, anything wrong? i just drop a logo in there and need ur comment. if u r not interest just let me know.

The Sony A6000 series is pretty amazing, I have the A6300 and love it. But the lens line-up is a little light, there is either cheaper kit lenses or super expensive g series. I'd love to see a decent third party midrange tele.

It's great that you did this review. I'm choosing a camera for me now, too. I don't need a microphone because I do photography. I have long thought what to choose: Canon or Nikon. Everything was in favor of Canon, the specs and the reviews. I've been convinced that I was going to buy the Canon. But holding both cameras in my hands, I realized that for me, Nikon is a more convenient camera.

I love Nikons! As a photographer, I'm kind of guilty of favoring all cameras 🤣 I really love my Sony too!

ye mate i love cannon always had cannon. my grandad is a pro and said Nikon and cannon are very close just depends on what you used to like buttons etc etc

Personally I'll forever use the G7X but if I had to upgrade the EOS M6 would probably be my first choice, it certainly beats the Sony for vlogging by the looks of it :P

Ahh the good ol' G7X. Yeah not going to lie the EOS M6 is a beast. I'll probably end up getting one in the future.

Synch can be done automatically by adobe premier with just 2 clicks. You'll need the audio from the 2 microphone.

Thanks for the review.

You're absolutely right @teamsteem! Fortunately someone showed this to me a couple weeks ago or I would have never known.

However, productivity and time is still an issue because instead of having one file I have to move the audio from the SD card on the recorder as well as the video on the SD card of the camera.

Shots taken by canon are bright, on sony they are little bit dull.

Totally agree. I bought Sony 6500 to replace my old school Canon but I went back to my old Canon because it's better than Sony 6500. So I guess now I have to try the new Canon M series

Yeah isn't that crazy? Same settings and everything! I guess the Canon beats the Sony in this regard!

If the settings are same the canon really beats the sony

why are you comparing a new camera with an old one? kinda biased isn't it?

Not at all. Practically the same specs and the newer Sony cameras do nothave flip out screens. Thus for a vlogger, these are the closest match.

If you can then get Sony A6500 :)

YEs no flip you can not see your self ... but this camera is very fast :)

Thanks for the review. It helps much more than any other written review on the internet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66344.62
ETH 3214.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.37