Vocab-ability Prefix–321 (un__ = not) – A More Powerful Vocabulary (earn UpVotes with “Vocab Practice” exercise)

Each daily “Vocab-ability 1x1” post has 2 main features, as follows:  

One “Vocab-ability” entry

By spending 5 minutes reviewing today’s “Vocab-ability” entry (below), you can learn the vocab roots and many high-level English words.    

One “Vocab Practice” exercise (for UpVotes

By spending another 10–15 minutes, you can practice using today’s words by composing your own sample sentences. Your practice efforts will be rewarded with UpVotes.     (See “Vocab Practice” rules and notes below)    Today’s “Vocab- ability” entry

With this ‘Mini-Guide,’ you can identify the components in the “Vocab-ability”  entry above.

(To facilitate your quick reference, the ‘Mini-Guide’ has been minimized. For the full "Guide to Entries," right-click here.)

      Introduction – For "Intro to Vocab-ability," right-click here
      Guide – For full "Guide to Entries," right-click here
      Index– For "Index" to all Chapters and Sections, right-click here

Note re Copying each Entry

Each separate post in the “Vocab-ability”  series consists of one entry (one text-box). To use any of these “Vocab-ability”  entries for your personal study or in any classroom, you can download them by clicking and dragging the text-box that you want to use, and then print them out.  

Note re Free Use 

Please feel free to download the above text-box, copy it, print it out, and distribute it for any and all educational purposes. If “Vocab-ability”  helps you or your students to increase your English vocabulary, it will have served its purpose.   
(I hold the copyright to the original “Vocab-ability” guide, which was published in 2002. I hereby grant free use of all the material contained in this post and in all other “Vocab-ability” posts on Steemit).

Sort:  

MY VOCAB PRACTICE:

  1. Unnatural:
    What happened in the rafters with Becky and Henry was so unnatural to the extent that school children ran out with squishy, octopus-like things attached to their heads.

  2. Unfamiliar:
    I'm a little unfamiliar with how this grammar thing works, with the logic used within the long sentences, and with my inability to comprehend what I don't understand.

  3. Unrelated:
    When a person tells you that your opinion is the same as a fact, it is time to change the subject to something unrelated to whatever you two are discussing.

  4. Ungrammatical:
    If I, the guy who sits alone watching a blond girl eat her sandwich and read a paper, were to notice my ungrammatical sentences before passing them along, how much time do you think I'd spend editing?

MY VOCAB PRACTICE:

  1. Is genetic modified or unnatural vegetables are good for health, this is a topic of debate.
  2. Please guide the nely appointed person as he is Unfamiliar with the place.
  3. Pleae stope talking about the believes you have this is Unrelated to the topic of discussion.
  4. You should check your homework as I can found lots of Ungrammatical sentences.

Posted using Partiko Android

My Vocab Practice

1.-After the operation, his mouth and body looked unnatural

2.-People and unfamiliar places are sometimes the remedy for loneliness.

3.-For totally unrelated reasons, the two boys agreed in the same place.

4.-The problem with this sentence is that besides being ungrammatical does not reflect what you want to say.

MY VOCAB PRACTICE

  1. unnatural
    Her smile was very unnatural.
  2. unfamiliar
    He had an unfamiliar look even if he was Romanian.
  3. unrelated
    Everything he wrote was unrelated to our theme of the project.
  4. ungrammatical
    His post was very ungrammatical and that made it hard to be read.

MY VOCAB PRACTICE

  1. After the coroner's inquest into the death of the popular actor, a verdict of unnatural death was issued.

  2. It took me three months to adapt to my new job, as I was unfamiliar with the work processes.

  3. The physics teacher was reprimanded by the school principal for showing videos which are unrelated to the curriculum in class.

  4. Although colloquial language is often ungrammatical, it is the preferred style of communcation for conversation in everyday life.

Posted using Partiko Android

MY VOCAB PRACTICE

  1. I think that consumingunnatural fruit drinks causes more harm than good!
  2. Most ground breaking ideas are develop from unfamiliar challenges.
  3. The fall in the price of crude oil is unrelated with the increase in the production electric vehicles.
  4. When delivering a public lecture, being ungrammatical is short selling yourself!

Good work!

Good point about "fruit drinks." Most juices manufactured and then sold in packages are utter garbage, filled with all sorts of oils and sugars.

The only fruit drinks I ever drink are made from fresh fruits, peeled and cut before my eyes, then dropped into a blender. And I always say "Hold the sugar!"

That kind of great drink is available everywhere here in SE Asia.

You have said it all @majes.tytyty

In some climes, immature fruits like oranges plucked from the trees and then injected with some from of chemicals (carbide) in a bid to make them ripen sooner... It's just sad what some persons/companies do for quick or huge profits!

"MY VOCAB PRACTICE"

  1. Unnatural:
    Artificial Intelligence is the most unnatural form of artificial world.

  2. Unfamiliar:
    The priest at the wedding party was unfamiliar to most people who had come from the diaspora.

  3. Unrelated:
    After losing all his bet, James found himself unrelated with betting.

  4. Ungrammatical:
    Most first learners of a foreign language are so ungrammatical that it is annoying conversing to them.

MY VOCAB PRACTICE:

  1. Too much makeup makes some naturally beautiful girls look so unnatural
  2. I guided the intern with the office area and lobbies as he was unfamiliar.
  3. I am one of those persons who can change any ongoing conversation flow by bringing something totally unrelated in between
  4. I love my boyfriend, but he is such an ungrammatical kind of person.

Good work!

Too much makeup usually makes girls look ugly. A bit is okay.

As for love, I have yet to meet a woman who loves me for my in-depth knowledge of grammar!!! (Maybe I should study more .... :-) )

"MY VOCAB PRACTICE"

  1. I mainly purchase fresh produce when grocery shopping because most packaged foods contain too many unnatural ingredients.
  2. I found myself on an unfamiliar road and realised I must have missed the turnoff.
  3. When suffering from 'writer's block' some find it helpful to go and do something completely unrelated for a while.
  4. To be grammatically incorrect is to be ungrammatical.

MY VOCAB PRACTICE

  1. I prefer my natural look than the unnatural one displayed in most magazines.
  2. It can be stressing for some people, but me I love to be in unfamiliar places and discover new things.
  3. I don’t like when I ask a question to receive an answer completely unrelated to my demand.
  4. When I read a blog that is full of errors and ungrammatical I stop, and I never come back to that blog.

Good work!

Natural is best!! Anyway, I hope you keep reading my blog. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13