[IBA PO ANGLICKY] Volunteering - Building park&Picking up litter

in #volunteer6 years ago (edited)

I.Park


I have already written an article about PrePrírodu(translated as ForNature) and saving frogs with them. It's an NGO my father and his friends founded and I am used to attending their events ever since I remember.
As a child I had no other option, but now it's a matter of my own belief (and habits:D). Anyway, they organise maany kinds of activities. From various fun&work eco camps to taking care about ginko trees in my town-@matkodurko mentioned it here.

But this time it was a bit diferrent. Not really ForNature, ForPeople I'd say.
Two years ago this NGO built a natural park containing 500m long path on the bank of Váh river, chillout zones with benches, small gene pool fruit garden, a fireplace, a gazebo.. And the park is just being extended - we're building a willow arboretum. The plan is to turn an empty space to a place full of trees and with a flower meadow and long circural wooden path, a grit garden and insect-house. There's going to be a willow-tunnel and a climbing tower to cheer kids up.

„Willows belong to rivers like Váh. There should be an overview of all Slovak willows and also places to sit or a teepee made of willows, so that the young generations know what was willow used for.,“ says ´Drahoš´, kinda Satoshi Nakamoto of ForNature NGO.

So.. I spent my whole sunny day plucking invasive weed.... small steps lead to great lead to big results :DD I hope.
pprd.jpg

II.Trash


My second socially beneficial activity these days was my own initiative. The last year there was opened a new underpass between my ex-school and my home. But it still misses some metal panels. And without them, every pedestrian has an access to 1m high and 2m wide space along the sidewalk. Which obviously means a biiig trash bin for some of my neighbors...

41695143_512642859161418_8943744381412704256_n.jpg

41723641_1909625142458322_6235160081239900160_n.jpg

It is a place I used to pass every single day, so I decided to clean it up. There was two of us and those 20 meters took us almost 4 hours. And this is only a third of the waste we separated and threw away.

41709930_232339087637815_3467119668320272384_n.jpg
the bags are much bigger than they look

No, I don't expect the people to stop putting their trash there and I know it's going to be the same a year from now. But what would happed if I didn't do it? More and more trash until there's no more space? No, thanks.. This way it's going to be more pleasant, at least for a few weeks or months:)

Ah, and tomorrow, 15.9. is World Clean-up Day. People all over the world are going to pick up litter. (the goal is to engage 5% of world population) So please, if you have some time, go and participate. Whether there;s something going on in your town or not. Believe me, it's not that hard to do things alone.

Anyway, if you want it to make it the official way, everything you need to know is here: www.worldcleanupday.org.

zzuzza.

Sort:  

Super! Zkus místo jednoho z těch tagů použít "cleanplanet" - mohli by tě za tvé úsilí a hezký post odměnit štědrým upvotem ;)

Akurat som jej to pisal :D

Posted using Partiko Android

skusim, vdaka:)

@zzuzza, I gave you a vote!
If you follow me, I will also follow you in return!
Enjoy some !popcorn courtesy of @nextgencrypto!

Hi there !
Great !!!
We encourage you to do it again !
Upvoted 100 by @cleanplanet
See you soon using cleanplanet tag

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62480.78
ETH 3045.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91