Thoughts about VotingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #voting6 years ago (edited)

I'm on holiday this week, so I've had a bit more time to investigate Steemit. I was intrigued by @steevc's post about voting, in particular, about some Steemians fretting that they don't have a slider. I'm not sure why this is a worry, perhaps someone will explain in the comments.

20180509_121637.jpg
I'm staying in Oroklini, a village outside Larnaca in Cyprus. This is the doorway of the tiny village church perched on the hillside. Oroklini originally had a population of about 3,000, it's now 10,000, mainly English immigrants ex-pats.

I like the discipline of only having 10-15 votes a day. It means I'm selective about what I read and even more selective about who gets a vote. Over the course of seven days I usually distribute between 95-100 votes across 55-60 accounts. I check each time before I start reading and voting (I use steemworld.com) roughly how many votes I have available and how many accounts I have voted for. If the number of accounts has dwindled, I'm a little more active in seeking out well-written posts by other people, instead of staying in my comfort zone.

I have some priorities - I tend to vote for:

  • thoughtful comments on my posts and replies to my comments.
  • community driven posts eg #runningproject #steembasicincome #freewritehouse.
  • well-written posts by Steemians who contribute community value.
  • posts which bring some joy or brighten the day in one way or another.

I do check what other Steemians are doing. A poster that only votes for twelve other accounts over a period of a month or who has more than 10% self-voting is unlikely to get a vote, or a follow. I don't think it matters what your vote is worth or whether it counts in the payout. Reading and voting, and using your 70 or so votes over the course of a week, is a contribution to the community.

IMG_1784.PNG
Here's my voting pattern over the past seven days showing 99 votes across 59 accounts. The largest segments are posters that I interact with regularly, the next segments include community accounts like #runningproject.

I try to make sure that I've used all the votes available to me and tend to keep my voting power in the 70%-95% range. If I know I'm going to be busy and not have much time for a day or two, I'll run it down to 70% (actually, usually just under)! I enjoy coming back after a day or two and sitting down with a cup of coffee and a fat (to me) budget of votes to distribute.

I recently reached the stage where my vote adds a penny (or a cent, whichever) when I vote. I like these milestones in my journey. I enjoyed it when I had earned enough that I didn't need any delegated steem power to operate the account. I enjoy it when I reach the next reputation level. I enjoyed it, ever so briefly, when I reached 200 followers (it rapidly became 203 followers - welcome, but a different thing).

If I have enough time, I try and comment as well when I vote on a post. I guess that's my next priority after making sure I use my votes. Sometimes, I'm out of time or I haven't got anything very enlightening to say other than, "I agree" and I guess that's covered in my vote, so I won't leave a comment.

But if I can, I try to respond to what the poster has written. That seems the most interesting thing about Steemit to me, the interaction in the comments. Occasionally, it's hilarious and that usually involves @nathen007 😎 but I also appreciate the openness and warmth that many people bring, or the sheer inventiveness of so many Steemians.

20180509_120707.jpg
The Miltos Taverna at the top of Oroklini. I went in the Communist Club opposite, darker and with domino players.

I can see where a slider would be useful with comments on your own posts. Then you would be able to weight your votes to order the comments (other people adding their votes to comments might throw this out a bit). I look forward to that milestone when I get there.

Sort:  

Oroklini looks really dry @shanibeer ! There's moss everywhere around here, so I miss not seeing it in photos 😆

It was very interesting reading how you distribute votes... I have been expanding my voting strategies and visiting new blogs lately. I tend to get a bit confused when I visit blogs and see lots of resteems though.

I wish there was a way of seeing the person's introduction/main interests and then what they're resteeming separately.

Besides upvoting posts that interest me, I also tend to upvote people who take the time to visit my blog, but I often need time to recharge my wallet, especially on Mondays.

In addition I upvote my family because I try to encourage them to keep at it.

I also like encouraging posts; we all have life struggles and sometimes it is a real effort to post. If I know people's struggles I upvote them even if it's just a photo, perhaps they couldn't manage anything else (I have been there).

It's nice to be able to distribute a few cents here and there, even if it seems minute.

It all eventually adds up so I keep at it 😉 !

It is very dry, although this is a beautiful time of year to visit as the island is covered in wild flowers. I know what you mean about visiting blogs - I tend to do less resteems now and bookmark posts that I want to keep. I agree about offering a bit of support to people to keep them going - everyone needs a little boost now and then 😊

Thanks for the info. I'm notorious for over voting and under voting. I've been largely stagnant lately myself. Realizing I need to be more useful to the community here. I'm taking a posting break for a bit while I figure things out, and this post has helped me do that.

A more valuable upvote is really something to celebrate! I just hit a two cent vote last week and it feels cool :)

Have you looked into Gina bot? It's really neat because with the notifications it sends it allows you to see how much a specific received vote is worth.

Anyways, thanks for the post! It's good to know there's a tool for more efficient voting! Enjoy your vacation!

Hello @nateonsteemit I've just visited your post about your plans for the future - some interesting ideas. Voting can seem inconsequential, but If we are all doing it little by little then we'll see a big change. I did look at ginabot, it's a good tool, but I haven't ventured on to Discord yet and I find steemworld.com more manageable. Glad the post helped, congratulations on your two-cent milestone!

Oh, no doubt! Thanks for reading and following :)

Indeed, I too throw out my upvotes to all of ya that I "like".
I could use a serious edumication on how all this steem stuff works.

Throwing out upvotes works too 😊, @ethandsmith has written some good beginner's guides and @revisesociology writes good posts exploring "what it's all about".

This is great information! You used Steem world to see that neat pie chart? I’ll have to check it out for sure.

Hello @mrscwin, how are you? Glad you found the post useful. If you like piecharts, steemworld.com is the place for you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64111.27
ETH 3065.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00