What makes you feel vulnerable makes you beautiful

in #vulnerability6 years ago

What do you usually do when you feel exhausted?
As for me, I often pull the blinds down even at night and make my room really dark.
After that, I grab my laptop and access TED.com.
Or if I have zero energy to even get up from my bed, I just simply pick up the phone and start TED application on my mobile phone.

dark-desk-laptop-132650.jpg

As you all may know very well, TED is famous for its "ideas worth spreading".
Among many enlightening talks, I listen to Brené Brown's talks.
Brené Brown is researcher professor at the University of Houston and she has studied human emotions for many years.
Here below is one of her talks called "The power of vulnerability".
I really recommend you to watch it, and I promise it will become one of best 20 minutes in your life and you will come back to watch this whenever you feel frustrated.

"To let ourselves be seen, deeply seen, vulnerably seen ... to love with our whole hearts, even though there's no guarantee."

"And the last, which I think is probably the most important, is to believe that we're enough. Because when we work from a place, I believe, that says, "I'm enough" ... then we stop screaming and start listening, we're kinder and gentler to the people around us, and we're kinder and gentler to ourselves."

"Our job is to look and say, "You know what? You're imperfect, and you're wired for struggle, but you are worthy of love and belonging." That's our job. Show me a generation of kids raised like that, and we'll end the problems, I think, that we see today."

"They had the compassion to be kind to themselves first and then to others, because, as it turns out, we can't practice compassion with other people if we can't treat ourselves kindly. "

"And the last was they had connection, and -- this was the hard part -- as a result of authenticity, they were willing to let go of who they thought they should be in order to be who they were, which you have to absolutely do that for connection."

Hope you enjoy this video like I always do.

Sort:  

@boleeway, I gave you an upvote on your post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return and possible future votes!

Thank you in advance!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71288.26
ETH 3580.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77