Some amazing sea birds!

in #w5 years ago (edited)

I decided to show you some sea birds today. Here we have a juvenile Kelp Gull taking off!
A cloud covered sky with the threat of rain is so nice to walk on the beach.

And here you can see him landing!

This is a Hartlaub's Gull, just before landing.

Some Cormorants flying above the surf.

Here we have another juvenile Kelp Gull.

This is the parent of the juvenile.

This little guy is called a Water Thick-knee. What an ugly name for such a nice bird.

I have to admit here that we are new residents close to the ocean, as we come from up north in Gauteng, which is about 2400 kilometers away. I personally am a mountain man, and now have to get used to the ocean. A lot of work awaits to identify the creatures that one encounters on the beach, and the ocean's bird-life. But I trust that we will soon know a lot more about this wonderful new place where we now stay.

We hope that you have enjoyed the pictures and thank you for visiting a post by @papilloncharity

PHC-Footer-05.gif

signatureTeam South Africa banner designed by @bearone

Sort:  

@papilloncharity, Yes, the name is not describing the beauty of this bird that's why i don't believe name system because don't know who keep these weird names. Ha ha 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

What great shots of them all and sure the last one has thick knees but they could have come up with a nicer name for it

WOW I love these ! Wonderful photos and really interesting birds <3 I like the Kelp Gull taking off so much ! Great shot and framing * ___ *!!!

And Water-Thick Knee's name makes me laugh.... What a name !

Hello @papilloncharity
Awesome lending photographs of birds..
I really like this picture. Nice post..

Just a great catch of seabirds!

I have to thank @dswigle for leading me to your post. I've been looking at your photography and gentle words for the last 20 minutes. You have a new #1 fan.

Thank you for your own kindness and I appreciate your comments.
Life is short and we are placed in it to cultivate a care for all others. At least that is my motto, as it's so easy to hurt, but even easier to love.
Take care and thank you once again!
Blessings!

I too am raising money to be helpful. I learned of the Feather's Tale Children's Village in Tanzania being run by John St.Julien who is dying from Babesia and Lyme parasites about 2 years ago and follow daily. The situation is sad. He had done wonderful things for the village in the 6 years he has been there.

So great that you are helping them.
Charities don't have things easy nowadays, but all charities do what they can with what they have.

You can also see what we do at;
https://www.facebook.com/ThePapillonFoundation

Blessings!

@willowwisp Oh! And my apologies, as I forgot to "follow" you.
Done now!
Blessings!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97