NYSC. WHY SHOULD I SERVE A COUNTRY WHO HAS NO REGARDS FOR HER CITIZENS LIVES.

in #wafrica6 years ago (edited)

Nysc is a waste of time .

National youth service corps 🙄🙄🙄🙄🙄

NYSC is the first punishment you get for being a graduate.

Yes I said it.

AM NOT GOING TO DO NYSC IF SOMETHING ISNT DONE TO ENSURE THE SAFETY OF CORPERS! I AM SOMEBODYS CHILD, WE ARE ALL IMPORTANT TO PEOPLE AND ARE NEEDED ALIVE!
IF MY COUNTRY DOESNT PLACE ANY VALUE ON MY LIFE, WHY AM I SERVING IT?!!

It's like a punishment

Am pained writing this.
This is my oldest brother outta three. He did camp in adamawa and after much pressure he was able to go to abia for service.
According to him
Three weeks in adamawa was not easy.
Screenshot_20180412-150145.png

You must do NYSC before we can employ you...you go miles away from your family for so called NYSC but ZERO protection for corpers. Manage to finish NYSC, they ask you to bring 2-5yrs work experience.
Is this country not mad??

Even those serving are begging for government to pay allawee (allowance)

Biko NYSC should be scrapped it has lost its relevance.

Let's talk about coppers who has died serving this country of a thing.

From the lady who died from no medical care right there in camp to the one shot died by a police officer last week.

How many people have died because they left the comfort of their state of residence to another state miles away because of Nysc? Youths who labored for degrees couldn't even use them because they live in a country so religious yet so lawless & unruly with no regard for life.

It becomes more painful once you put yourself in the shoes of this NYSC Member & her Parents.
I don't think my Parents would have survived if my brother had been killed in cold blood by a Policeman while serving this year or my second brother who's about to go on this journey.
Or even me who has another year to go.

It needs to restructured if not scrapped.

You are still wondering why we are going through recession in this country? When the Minister of Finance skipped NYSC and forged a certificate. I mean, this woman literally skipped NYSC, she skipped SAED trainings. She's a misfit!

I really don't blame her.
The stuff is tiring
But if you are already serving.
Be safe out there please
The streets are not safe.

Sort:  

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

I completely understand your point. I've been there myself. But sincerely, ranting won't solve anything. There have been many people that have called for NYSC to be scrapped and the issue keeps being swept under the rugs of the federal government.

I did NYSC and I enjoyed every part of it. I had the opportunity of shaping the lives of young people. These students need motivation to rise above the limiting realities of their environments. They see you as someone who is successful in your educational pursuits and want to be like you. Have you also considered the impact you could make on the communities through your knowledge and skills?

One other thing for me to point out ... Challenges are everywhere. There are uncomfortable situations you need to pass through which you can do little or nothing about. Instead of fuming and telling people how unreasonable it is, ensure you learn something valuable from it. There is nothing you cannot learn from, as long as you're open to learning.

Take it as a challenge and see it as an opportunity to impact lives while building your capacity also..

I also said restructured.

Am sure you heard of a lady who died early this year when doing drills and was not given proper medical care hence her death.

Why will you put together a group of people without medical care.

Of course it's enjoyable.
When you finished how was the job search???

For me
I think the #19800 should be put together for the year and given to them to start life.

That's the bane of not only NYSC, but every system in the country. As you've said, the scheme needs to be restructured.
As for job search, I don't know how it feels like actually since I have something I'm doing myself 😁

I love this one oh, please inform them to give me my own 1year for hand cash better off than to go and wash away in no man's land. The what is how many of this leaders is actually serving their so called papa or mama land.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05