AFRICAN MUSIC: Fire on the Mountain by Asa

in #wafrica6 years ago (edited)

Asa is a Nigerian songwriter, multi-talented singer and guitarist. She is one of the most remarkable Nigerian artists in contemporary times. Asa has toured Europe and America, receiving well-deserved international recognitions and awards. In Fire on the Mountain Asa mirrors the looming violence on the Nigerian soil and questions the role of the military in the protection of lives and property. She foresees a fire on the mountain. And she was right. Northern Nigeria soon became a warzone.

Lyrics (Fire on the Mountain)

There is fire on the mountain
And nobody seems to be on the run
Oh there is fire on the mountain top
And no one is running

I wake up in the morning
Tell you what I see on my TV screen
I see the blood of an innocent child
And everybody's watching

Now I'm looking out my window
And what do I see
I see an army of a soldier man
Marching across the street

Hey Mr. soldier man
Tomorrow is the day you go to war
But you are fighting for another man's cause
And you don't even know him

What did he say to make you so blind
To your conscience and reason
Could it be love for your country
Or for the gun you use in killing

There is fire on the mountain
And nobody seems to be on the run
Oh there is fire on the mountain top
And no one is running

Hey Mr. Lover man
Can I get a chance to talk to you
Cause you are fooling with a dead man's corpse
And you don't know what you do

So you say you have a lover
And you love her like no other
So you buy her a diamond
That someone has died on
Don't you think there's something wrong with this?

Tell me who's responsible
For what we teach our children?
Is it the internet?
Or the stars on television?
Why o why o

So little Lucy turns sixteen
And like the movie she's been seeing
She has a lover in her daddy
She can't tell nobody
'Til she makes the evening news

There is fire on the mountain
And nobody seems to be on the run
Oh there is fire on the mountain top
And no one is running

One day the river will over flow
And there'll be nowhere for us to go
And we will run, run
Wishing we had put out the fire
Source

SUPPORT CORNER

  • Kindly follow the peerless vocabulary lessons delivered by @majes.tytyty and get rewarded with some upvotes for your participation.* image (1).png

Have you ever thought about sharing your memories on the blockchain? Then try The Steemit Blockchain Memory Project by @ericvancewalton. You may get regarded.

n8rvvRbt.jpg

Honour Roll
@majes.tytyty, @brotherdave, @ericvancewalton, @tryskele, @prechyrukky, @olawalium, @oladunsi, @amiable9ke, @akdx, @streetstyle, @opaulo, @artzanolino, @donkeypong, @wafrica, @obamike, @beeyou, @steem-lagos, @crypto.piotr

I am @gandhibaba and my dreams remain unchanged: to some day write books that will be recommended for first class holders.

FB_IMG_1523740403286.jpg

Thanks for visiting my blog. I appreciate your precious time.

Sort:  

She's amazing, I love her voice. The song is pretty sad, but a powerful message. You have very good taste in music my friend.

Thanks for your comment good friend. I like the fact that you love the music. Cheerrsss!!!

I love such a variety and love discovering new artists. You're always most welcome. <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61986.23
ETH 3026.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75