Why getting consent is good……….

in #wafrica5 years ago (edited)

I live in a world / country where people just assume that it is fine to do certain things without taking consent from the other party. Don’t know what has prompted me to write this, it might be that pain in my heart or the guilt of my sins because I am guilty of that too sometimes.

Seeking consent is good; we should not just assume that because we are close to someone or because of a form of relationship between two or more parties, we can decide to do things without thinking of seeking their consent.

image source

There are some basic lines we don’t cross and I have realized that the society tries to justify it because they think since it doesn’t look bad to them then someone should take it the way it comes without putting into consideration the emotional turmoil or the psychological effect it might have on us at that moment and also later on in life.

I have heard people justify sexual harassment because they decided to objectify or sexualize the woman based on what she wears and that alone is disgusting. You basically don’t touch people because of the way they dress; you just don’t assume they want to be touched because they decided to dress in a certain way. Even in marriage, you don’t touch your spouse if they don’t want to be touched in that case, it is pure rape or molestation whichever way we want to see.

People close to you, friends and family member sometimesjust assumes its fine to take your clothes, shoes or basically wears in general without asking if you are interested in letting it go or you are even willing to give it out. Imagine having it in mind to wear a particular dress on a certain day and you find one of your siblings wearing it, it is creepy to me and pisses me off.

Coming to a mutual agreement before doing things is the best. I always seek my girlfriend’s consent before touching her, even though she claims I am her boyfriend and so I don’t need her consent yet I don’t feel comfortable doing that no matter how much she justifies it.

Seeking consent helps to clarify things between parties involved without having a bad mind or a prejudice against the person.

Always learn to seek consent in all you do. Have a great week

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13