Walking New York City - Part 1

in #walkwithme5 years ago (edited)

NYC is one of my favorite destinations to visit, especially when in possession of a camera.

My wife and I rode New Jersey Transit into Penn Station yesterday morning, as we had tickets to see the Tedeschi Trucks Band at the historic and ornate Beacon theatre that evening.

After arriving, we walked from Penn Station (33rd Street) up 7th Avenue, up Broadway, and entered Central Park near Columbus Circle (W 59th Street) where we spent the bulk of the day walking and exploring the many wonders this park has to offer. It was in the low 60s ℉, overcast, foggy, and drizzling but, all in all, a very enjoyable day.

You never really know what you're going to encounter in Central Park. Here's just a sampling of what we saw:

  • The ubiquitous joggers, runners, dog walkers, bike riders, horse-drawn carriages, and rickshaws for hire.
  • A hula hoop gathering on the lawn by Sheep Meadow.
  • A group of people practicing whip techniques. No, I'm not kidding. We met a couple on vacation from Texas and they commented that the only times they've ever seen whips were in the presence of cattle 😱
  • An older gentleman in very sparkly overalls blasting disco music out of a portable sound rig that he was trying to sell.
  • A guy riding a hover-board with a python snake wrapped around his neck.

I'm sure you get the idea - basically anything goes in Central Park!

I'd like to share some of the images I captured yesterday. I hope you like them. This is part 1 of maybe about 5.


NYC-10-06-2018-7.jpg

Touristy statues in a 7th Avenue window front.


NYC-10-06-2018-1.jpg

A couple of MTA transit workers debugging the wiring for a busted subway turn style.

NYC-10-06-2018-2.jpg

Lots of traffic, taxis, double-decker tour buses and bright lights.


NYC-10-06-2018-3.jpg

Times Square.


NYC-10-06-2018-4.jpg

No reason not to get in some exercise followed by some craft ice cream in Times Square.


NYC-10-06-2018-5.jpg

Lots of selfies, and photo shoots in Times Square. It's not too hard to draw a crowd.


Coasting through traffic and getting pretty good gas milage!


NYC-10-06-2018-8.jpg


cognoscere.jpg


All images @cognoscere and taken on Saturday October 6th, 2018 in New York City (Sony DSC RX100M5)

Sort:  

Beautiful pics of enjoyful moments in new York city .

Hi cognoscere what a great pictures i like the 2 one
cheers o/

Nice captures , very classic and colorful place .
Thanks

Nice photography in new York city . Enjoy your visit .

Hey!!! You're back. You disappeared for a while. So did I off and on. Glad to see you! Central Park sounds like an interesting place. Sounds like Bourbon Street In New Orleans. Lots of unusual people there. That's a lot of women in bras! I'd hate to have been a model for that.

Interesting selection of subjects @cognoscere. It reminds me a bit of the buzz in London. I love going there and taking lots of photographs too but am always happy to come home.

Great photography! 😁

Enjoyed the shots completely that was great to check out and the trump looks shocking a bit hahah :D

Things move fast in NYC .... Keep your wallet in your front pocket for starter. :-)

I appreciate that you post pictures about things that other people don't. The perspectives that you offer are unique and tell a different story than most of the pictures we see.

A few thoughts:

  • That's a lot of Trump statues
  • I wouldn't want that wiring job
  • That's a lot of traffic
  • I've never seen Times Square like that
  • That person is getting great gas mileage!
  • I can't change my bra, so I guess I'll either have to change myself or learn to be happy with who I am. ;)

Very enjoyable read, great photos. I've never had the chance to visit NYC, so I'm finding this very interesting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71288.26
ETH 3580.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77