Walking New York City - Part 3 - The Pigeon Lady at the USS Maine National Monument

in #walkwithme6 years ago (edited)

More scenes from a walk in Manhattan last Saturday.

In this post I'd like to share some images of the USS Maine National Monument which is a fountain erected in 1912 as a memorial to those that served and died aboard the USS Maine (ACR-1) which exploded and sank in Havana Harbor, Cuba on February 15th, 1898.

This fountain is a favorite of the many pigeons that call Central Park home.

Other posts in this series:








cognoscere.jpg


All images @cognoscere and taken on Saturday October 6th, 2018 in New York City (Sony DSC RX100M5)

Sort:  

I'm not a big fan of pigeons @cognoscere. My dislike of them is second only to seagulls. They cause so much dirt and distruction in our area. Not to mention noise!

Thank you for the pretty flower at the end. 😂 😂 😂

I can vouch for the fact that the pigeons make quite the mess at this fountain. I didn't dare show a photo of the water in the fountain, let's just say that you wouldn't want to bath in it or drink it 😱

Those he Pigeon Lady like as statues already built up there.
Your walking time seek impressive statues. Completely brilliant photography collection.

That's another memorable and grateful sculptures in the street. Better photo captures @cognoscere.

Wow many pigeons in one place . Lady is enjoying the touch of pigeons . Nice pics taken .

Amazing statues and birds pics

Awesome theme! I love it @cognoscere!!! <3 <3 <3 Great shots my friend.

Amazing view in pics . Birds are everywhere . Nice statues . Thanks

Wow that was stunning to watch some epic shots you have taken perfect timing :D

I realized I missed this one. I guess that's nice they made a memorial for them. It doesn't bring the people back, but the pigeons at least seem to like it. I don't think I would enjoy having them sitting all over me. You never know when they're going to cause you to need to change your clothes. Heh.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84