Time for another nature walk - Chambers Gully HikesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #walkwithme5 years ago (edited)

Only a short 15 minute car drive from Adelaide CBD and you have reached one of the best walking trails in South Australia - Chambers Gully Hike (Loop).

I really enjoy hikes in the Adelaide Hills, but the best are those which loop; no point covering the same ground twice.

As you know Adelaide is the Steem capital of Australia and my fellow #mallsballers would probably know of this hike, it's right next to the famous Waterfall Gully and Mount Lofty Falls walk. Here is a quick map how to get to the start.

Once leaving the city Its a short but fairly scenic drive getting there, but the road does get a little narrow in points, so please drive carefully :)

Instead of driving all the way to the Waterfall Gully car park, look for a small car park on the left - this is the quickest way from the CBD to connect to the Chambers hike and there is always plenty of parking. TIP: If the small dirt car parking area is full, you can generally get a park on the side of the road in front of the house with the stone wall. Starting from this direction you do have to walk up a road for a bit to connect to the hike. It's a gentle slope and in the winter or after a good rain there is a nice creek to follow.

The environment can look very different pending the season. Most of the photo's here I took just this Sunday, but I've thrown in a couple I took on previous walks this winter as well (The photo's which look allot greener are in winter :)).

Even early in this walk there is allot to spot near the creek, look at the Tawny Frogmouth Bird I came across below - pretty good camouflage looks like a branch from a tree.

The Chambers Gully hike is approx 10 km long and takes about 2 hours to complete. In the summer it can get pretty hot up the top (there is a fair amount of climbing and then walking along the top of a hill - but this also makes for some great photo's of the city).

It's pretty hard to get lost just look for the sign posts as per below

A good part of the walk is on a 4X4 trail, but other times it does get narrow and needs single file/one at a time walking or you could slip and injure yourself.

There are heaps of wild life to see along the way; oh! look at this little sleepy cute guy below.

No walks complete with out some Kangeroo's as well; and there are plenty of wild one's in these parts

Here's a rare sight. The Southern Brown Bandicoote below (not to be mistaken as a rat! these guys are super cute! but a pretty rare thing to come across like this on the track - I'm just lucky I guess :)).

Unfortunately the nasty common brown snake is also found on this track; Nearly stepped on this guy last Sunday...ouch! fortunately he was just a half grown and not very aggressive.

Out of the Gully and up the top it's a nice sight to see Adelaide CBD; it's also a reminder that we are so blessed to have such great parks with wild animals so close to our city.

I might leave it at that for this hike post, I don't want to give too much away as it's an amazing walk, abundant with fauna and flora and people really do need to try it for themselves.

I hope you enjoyed walking the Chambers Gully hike with me; it's one of my favorites so I'm very pleased to share this with my Steemian family. 

Have a great day and take care

Sort:  

I absolutely love shots of Adelaide from a distance, in the hills, or where you can see the entire city. They are great for testing out the zoom lens on your camera too.

Thank you my friend - there is a lookout just a short detour off the trail, I didn't show it in this post,but this is where you get the best pics :)

I did the Waterfall Gully walk once, but I haven't done this one, or much really. I probably should. I've heard good things about the Onkaparinga Gully; with a lot of tracks from Old Noarlunga heading inland. I know the Heysen trail is huge; have you tackled any of that?

Hey Matt, Ive done bits and pieces of the Heysen trail but the whole thing takes about 60 days taking you across the whole state (I know someone who has done it twice - you can join a club in Adelaide called friends of the Heysen and get help with logistics). Cool! Will take a look out Noarlunga way (Onkaparinga Gully) haven't done these yet :)

Sensational!!!!

I love the Adelaide Hills, and should I ever move there (I have considered it plenty of times), I'd live in the hills.

I love that you came across so much wildlife just on that simple walk. It feels like you need to travel for miles out of Melbourne to get to see wildlife like that.

Thanks..We are very lucky in Adelaide, each year I discover more and more. From a few visits, Melbourne has a great CDB, shopping, cafes and kayaking up the Yarra at night is fun!...but yeah too spread out for me (too far to the wildlife parks - I need to get back to nature for the weekend or would go crazy).

Congratulations! Your post was selected by the @dropahead Curation Team (dCT)

The views are extraordinary, and the gifs with the animals you shared are fantastic. That really seems like a nice place to go hiking.

I'm glad that you enjoyed yourself, best regards.


@dropahead - Supporting your STEEM adventure

Thank you; it does take some time to make these post (but I do recommend it to others, just have a coffee and think back over your adventures is fun if you make it) - I'm a bit slow on the computer but really enjoy sharing them on Steem.

I'll be sure to check out some of the other posts/materials you guys support. Cheers

Quality review by the dropahead Curation Team

According to our quality standards(1), your publication has reached an score of 92%.

Congratulations for your excellent work!

(1) @dropahead's quality standards:

- Graphic relation to the text (Choice of images according to the text)
- Order and coherence
- Style and uniqueness (Personal touch, logic, complexity, what makes it interesting and easy to understand for the reader)
- Images source and their usage license

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77