-127- Walk With Me in Soft Focus ~ A Gorgeous Misty Morning in Hacketts Cove, Canada

in #walkwithme6 years ago

Some Would Call It Fog

Yet if you grew up land locked like I did, I have very distinct memories of fog. It would always come on the fall mornings...and it had this smell...I cannot describe it, it's just the way fog smells. Since we've been living by the ocean we get these magical misty mornings (and sometimes afternoons) quite frequently and all year around, and it doesn't smell like the fog back home. Therefor I call it mist. How about you? Do you differentiate between fog and mist? Or is it same shit different pile to you?

fullsizeoutput_2eb9.jpeg

Did someone say shit? I shit on all the things!

IMG_7599.JPG

Screen Shot 2018-06-07 at 10.26.38 PM.png

Okay, I Really Got Off Track There...

Anyhoooo...let's look at some beautiful shit! Bwa hahahhahaa :)

IMG_7602.JPG

Everything looks so great in Mother Nature's soft focus.

IMG_7566.JPG

I was having fun with near and far. Oh lord, don't get me going on that Sesame Street episode now...near...far...near...far... (I'll spare you the video). I just loved the contrast of the crispness of up close versus the mistness of the distance.

IMG_7605.JPG

IMG_7594.JPG

IMG_7595.JPG

And do you see what I see? My #ophumanangels note for the fishermen is still on that pylon. What is that sticky note made of, cement? The writing is finally fading but that note is holding strong. I put that there in the winter! It says "You are very loved and needed".

IMG_7596.JPG

What's Blooming

IMG_7560.JPG

Our lovely lupins are opening everywhere, and I told you before how they seem to really thrive in ditches...my walks have reached a new level of joy, tis the season of beautiful sights and smells...everywhere. Nova Scotia is Heaven on Earth in the Summer.

IMG_7562.JPG

fullsizeoutput_2eb1.jpeg

IMG_7564.JPG

The Trees Are Still Going Wild With Colour and Scents

IMG_7558.JPG

IMG_7586.JPG

IMG_7557.JPG

IMG_7591.JPG

IMG_7580.JPG

Just A Few More Photos I Swear...

IMG_7581.JPG

IMG_7584.JPG

IMG_7585.JPG

IMG_7589.JPG

Really, honest, honest...these are the last!

IMG_7573.JPG

She looks so pretty...standing there waiting for her gift.

IMG_7574.JPG

I haz gift for pretty lady...

fullsizeoutput_2eb2.jpeg

fullsizeoutput_2eb3.jpeg

Apparently it was not satisfactory...

IMG_7578.JPG

IMG_7616.JPG

Women...Can't live with 'em...Can't live without 'em.

fullsizeoutput_2eba.jpeg

And if you'd like to go on an actual walk with me, I took a video as I got to the bottom of Heart Attack Hill. @DonnaDavisArt would be proud, I named a home (not my own) haha, someone else's. "Lilac Lane" is what I call it now. Come see the variety of flowers, apple trees and lupines as I stroll through the mist trying to catch my breath.


(Video 2:34)

Sort:  

I nearly spat my drink at the Hyperbole reference. 😂 That tree surrounded by mist right after you said "just a few more photos" is my favorite! 😍 We almost never get any kind of fog here, so it's an event in Denver and beautiful (and dangerous because no one knows how to drive in it).

YAY HAHHAA!! All The Things was absolutely for you <3 <3 <3 I'm glad you saw it!!! <3 <3 <3

Your fave was my fave too! Thanks for loving it :)

Oh wow, that is some thick fog if you can't even see well enough to drive in it...eek!

It's probably not any worse than your mist, but Coloradoans are used to high visibility and seeing for miles. So they keep zooming along like "if I can't see stuff it's not there, right?"

I am proud! I am forever naming things. Even our large rock out front, is the spitting rock. It just makes life more civil and easier to describe to others :)

Don't you LOVE the fog. Oh when I wake of a morning and stumble (hobble now a days) into the living room that looks out to sea and it appears the view has been smudged into a chalk or pastel drawing, it quickens my heart. I can just sit and stare and smell and listen for hours (I'm very good at sitting still and being quiet, one of my 'skills') The fog horn blows, the gulls cry is more distant and eerie. Love it. I'm missing my morning walks with this blessed toe.

I love the crows and blackbirds on the beach. They always look out of place, here too, but they are down there doing their business, fighting with the gulls if need be or disrupting the terns as they dive for their supper.

Good job on heart attack hill!

I'm assuming the cat urine plants must be in the narcissism family. At Christmas I always plant paperwhite bulbs and some family members love the scent (I being one) and others think they smell of cat urine. I guess they did a study and it's true that this exact scent is registered in two distinct ways by people either you have the 'smells like cat urine' 'gene' or you don't I'm thankful I have the 'this smells heavenly' gene because I DON'T like the smell of cat urine. What do the flowers look like that you were talking about? Like post a photo one time (unless you have Im so behind everyone so forgive if you have before)

Now, I have to watch this video of yours. I feel I haven't touched base with you in a bit our your lovely MIL.

Yess, I do love how the sounds carry so much further and more ominously in the mist/fog.

Hey what flowers are you talking about? Do you mean the cat piss smell plants? I don't know where that was coming from...

Shaking my first that I have the cat piss genes lololol!!!

I love mist. Fog is a whole other critter! Looks like there may be a bountiful crop of apples. We get mist very rarely here. Love the photos, especially Lilac Lane. Reminds me of where I used to live in Ontario. BTW how are Edgar and the kittens?

Thank you for knowing the difference between mist and fog, haha, a good ol Canadian gal would eh?

Edgar and the kittens are doing amazing, I don't see too much of them because she moved them all upstairs in the corner of Eddie's room behind a whole bunch of stuff LOL!! I visit them daily, they are growing a Lot, and always sleeping in a kitten cuddle puddle or feeding. Edgar spends a surprisingly large amount of time away from them haha, young mothers, sheesh!

As long as they are growing and doing well, mama is doing her job. She was just looking for a place she knew her kittens would be safe! Lucky Eddie! Edgar trusts him!

Yes, it is truly a blessing for him...I keep giving him a hard time saying he set up that perfect cat apartment there hahaha :) He was trying to lure them away from me... lololol :)

I'd say he succeeded! lol Now as long as he doesn't want to keep them...that is how our cat population almost got out of hand one year...

HAHA we have homes for them all and she's getting spayed as soon as they're gone :) :) No worries there thank goodness...

I remember my sons wanted to keep the first batch of kittens...in about a year we had 27! They all went to good homes on farms. The two cats we kept were thane spayed...the boys wanted to know why it was called fixing when they weren't broken! LOL

@lyndsaybowes, You created me my day through your impressive photo clicks. I have big passion to travel & stay some period in Nova Scotia. I never see these adorable foggy's backgrounds live. But luckily to follow you. Then I could see live reaction via you-tube video who's made you. Seriously Your environment showing color combined exhibition today. Very deserve location to live stay near ocean. Thanks for given attractive post.

Lol. Those birds! And the little guy was trying so hard! But the mist was absolutely awesome and created the best picture effects. Lovely read, thanks!

I too love the photo with the crispness of the greenery and the misty hazy in the background. So beautiful. Living in Vancouver and Vancouver Island, I always thought "mist" more than fog...growing up in Ontario, I thought "fog". And the picture of the ravens are beautiful too...my favorite bird. I always think of Ru now when I see one :)

Seems to be taking a while for Spring to really show her face out there this year hey?

Ahh nice, thanks for telling me about your mist/fog experiences, and did you find the Ontario fog had a smell? Like, it's almost a bit of a bad smell but not really...I still can't explain it...

Yessss...the all hearing Ru!!! I can't wait for the next update, he's soooooooooo sweet <3 <3 <3

Spring is definitely taking her sweet ars time, I'm hoping it means we're gonna have a nice long summer to make up for it hehehee, here's to hoping!

You can always hope @lyndsaybowes!! And as far as a smell with the fog, I have to ask, were you smoking something? haha No, I can't say that I noticed that 😎

The oceanside has a distinct smell

Yes it does @marionbowes; it's a lovely smell. I was joking because lyndsaybowes was asking if the fog in Ontario had a smell :) I get the coast/mist smell for sure :)

no smell to fog in Ontario. not even the mist at the lake or at Niagara Falls as there is not a single thread of Seaweed anywhere. :)))

haha exactly @marionbowes!!! :)

HAHAA! Nooooo it's not that hahahaa :) Prince George, BC, the fog in the fall has a smell ahahaa I swear it...

Ohhhh! Prince George. Yes! It's the pulp mills stinking everything up :) I lived in Mackenzie for three years if you can believe it :)

HAHA nooo I know the pulp mill smell hahahahaaaa, the fog smell is different yet!

hahaha Has anyone ever told you, you're weird ? :)

When we say it is misting that means it's very softly raining. I so wish we had lupines here. I've seen them in Montana and I wanted so badly to bring some back with me. They're really very lovely. Mother Nature's soft focus is the shit!

Oooh wow, I'd love to share some seeds with you! Or are they considered invasive there? Or just the wrong climate?

I don't think they're considered invasive. I would love to try to grow some, though I'm not sure if they would adjust to our hot and humid climate in the summer. Are they perennials or annuals?

They are a short lived perennial. Living about 3 years, but they produce a tonne of seeds and will seed themselves, also you can collect them and plant in late fall before the frost. I'm on discord and steem chat if you want to give me your address :)

I like fog but for a day or 2 maybe. But not for many days. I would always be lazy. Here in Venezuela there are places where it is very cold and there is always fog. The junquito is a place of that and Colonia Tovar, by the way is very beautiful, sometimes we go there for a walk. In the Humbolt there is also a lot of fog because it is very high. and in Merida ... Beautiful tourist city of Venezuela.

From your photos I loved the number 13

Oh my! I just love the fog (I call it fog unless it's just hovering over at ground level, then I call it mist...not sure why)! We spent a year living on Nantucket and my absolute favorite was when the fog would roll in and we'd stroll the docks and sometimes it was so thick you could not see the boats until you were right up at them, but you could hear all the clanking of the pulleys on the masts, and the foghorns. And you're so right...the smell is just the best!
My run the other morning was super creepy through the fog...this morning I just ran through a bit of mist on my way home ;)
Thank you for this (and all) walks through beautiful Nova Scotia.

Nice descriptions of being near the water in the fog...

I feel ya, it would be very creepy running in the thick fog...like a horror movie or something!!

Yes there is a difference, living land locked, at times. At Niagara it was actually mist. Always mist. Down at the Lake. Lake Ontario it was mist. Land locked junk was Fog. Thanks for making my morning, yet once again. Fuck ..I am homesick and I just got here. I can here your feet clomping on the pavement. I am going to have to teach you a lighter step. Chi running. my dear. Not a lupine in sight here either. However, my mother has a family of bunnies. It is actually a beautiful day, and I will run to discover horses. I will take photos of the stream and the pond. Happy day to you. Much love...P.S. Make sure B takes care of my flowers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05