146: Walk With Me in Hacketts Cove, Canada

in #walkwithme5 years ago

It has been 2 months since my last #walkwithme, and this walk was actually Stryder's idea, so thank you Son :)

IMG_2687.JPG

As soon as the weather warms up Stryder only wants to be outside, he'll play out there by himself contentedly if his brothers don't want to go. Last weekend they went on a really long walk with @hendrix22, so Stryder was inspired to get out for one with me. He's going to be 8 years old soon, I have to soak up any times like these that I can, for they don't want to walk with their Mama's much longer than that :)

Screen Shot 2019-05-11 at 8.57.07 PM.png

Taking a picture of him taking a picture of a fake flower. Worth noting that the fake flowers do blow around, ending up all over the place, they are not the best thing to put on a grave imo.

IMG_2683.JPG

It was a really windy day, without the wind it would have been fairly warm. I was in my winter coat, what a wuss I am. As soon as we walked past the first bog though, we were pretty grateful for the wind.

Bugs!

We have no bugs yet at our place (another reason why I've been doing as much planting/yardening as I can right now) and we would have been absolutely swarmed in black flies if it weren't for that high wind. I only got bit a couple times, and Stryder thinks he swallowed one...

The black flies will be coming en masse soon. Then they die down and the mosquitoes come. Then the june bugs...I'm just going to continue to enjoy these last few bug free days, and be grateful for every day I have to wear my winter coat!

In reality, I will take the bugs with the warmth. With the warmth comes the flowers...

Screen Shot 2019-05-11 at 9.06.47 PM.png

Some pretties in the bushes near our place...

Screen Shot 2019-05-11 at 9.07.01 PM.png

More Pretty

Screen Shot 2019-05-11 at 9.06.30 PM.png

Screen Shot 2019-05-11 at 9.05.07 PM.png

Strange & Beautiful Trees

Screen Shot 2019-05-11 at 9.05.26 PM.png

Thank you for coming on another #walkwithme, I hope you enjoyed it! Below I've added some outstanding walks of the week. Big thanks to everyone who is still using the tag, and especially to everyone who is still STEEMin! Check out these #walkwithme's:

Walking in town Karlovo By @vesytz

Story of the Ulmer Spatz By @delishtreats
Screen Shot 2019-05-11 at 9.44.14 PM.png

Walk with me along Chester's Riverfront By @kansuze

Retroactive Walk With Me From Beltaine By @phoenixwren

📷#WalkWithMe Chasing the graduation gown | 追寻毕袍 😎(by @ace108)

Sort:  

Lovely idea Stryder! Nice walkwithme post Lynds! I luv this 😍 glad for wind at times too i guess hey? It's wild how fast these kids grow up 😱 i have already been on one solo road trip this year! There is a life after kids. It's INSANE! No kidding take alllllll the contact you can!!

Good time see you out and about again Lyndsay. Good to see a bit of the old Neibourhood lol. Looks much better without that white stuff IMO lol.
I discovered something the other day about mosquitoes, they don't like the smell of Vicks vapour rub a little dab here and there on exposed skin might help. Oh and it helps you breath easy lol. And of course you always carry a little bottle of vinegar with you to dab on bites don't you?😁😁

Posted using Partiko Android

I did not know about putting vinegar on bug bites, I'll try it this year!

Yes Lyndsay it's not instantaneous give it a about 20 or 25 minutes with out scratching lol. In fact never scratch an insect bite it always makes it worse..

Posted using Partiko Android

Ok, good to know it takes time to work or I might have been pissed lol! <3 Thanks again Andy.

Good to see a @lyndsaybowes #walkwithme post. No black flies here but doing my wood gathering before the ticks come out in force....

See, another reason why you should get some chickens, they love eating ticks! It'd be a real buffet for them over at your wood pile!

looks like an amazing trip

Thank you for visiting us my friend!

I hate insects:)) because i am afraid of anything with so many legs :)) the elder our boys are, the less they wanna spend time eith moms in public especially, but they do need us, moms and sons are smth connected forever, it's for sure;)

You're right, there will always be a strong connection between Mother and Son (and especially if I keep up the baking I bet!).

Ooh that one labeled "strange and beautiful trees" totally looks like a fae portal, yo. That's awesome. :D Yay Stryder getting your mom out for a walk! :D

Ahhhhh I see the portal...no wonder I was attracted to it!

Bless Strydee's Heart for realz!

No bugs here yet either, but I'm sure they're coming soon. I saw a bumblebee a couple days ago, first one of the season.

Enjoy the last few bug-free days there as well @amberyooper!

Ah yes the wonderful bugs.... They are just starting to show up here too. I saw a few mosquitoes today :(

We don't have a lot of black fly's around here though, unless you go further north.

Sneaky-Ninja-Throwing-Coin 125px.jpg
Defended (100.00%)
Summoned by @flagveterans
Sneaky Ninja supports @youarehope and @tarc with a percentage of all bids.
Everything You Need To Know About Sneaky Ninja


woosh

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84