More Street Murals in Playa del Carmen

in #walkwithme6 years ago (edited)

As promised, here is another amazing mural I found in Playa del Carmen. I chose to show you several close ups first, and then the "zoomed out" street view.

This is a close up of the right side of the mural. I thought the colors and detail were simply outstanding! And I figured out how to enlarge the photos (thank you @rwedegis) so please, take a close look at it. This artist is something else!! You can see the lines from the cement blocks that form the wall too.
cfcoe5xdap.png

This is a close up of the center of the mural. The color isn't as vibrant, but that's only because of the way the sun and shadows played on it all. Please keep in mind that I am only using my phone camera.
ozyvdvtyid.png

Finally, the far left of the mural with the beach and shoreline in the background and even a few cats (I think) having a lap at the water, which from the way the painting is done, I'm guessing they're drinking from a cenote, a fresh water source that flows into the ocean.

51tl83n0v2.png

Here is the far left again, zoomed out...
tcsafya4fq.png

the center...
3o8rt7d8ff.png

and the far right! Notice that the palms in front of the flamingos are actually real ones :)
y9y7n2suv3.png

I wish I'd had the sense to take one panoramic view of the whole thing, but as they say (whoever they is), hindsight is 20/20 :)

Well? What do you think about this beauty??

I wonder who the artist is, and what he or she is doing now, because I'd sure love to give them some credit for this. Next time I'm there, I'll first take a panoramic photo and then look closely behind the greenery for a signature.

I don't know about you guys, but I'd love to have this as my fence in the backyard! Hope you enjoyed this one; no deep thoughts, just art appreciation. I have one more spectacular one coming; murals such as this deserve a post on their own :)

Cheers!

Proud Member of :

SB-Marvel-Family.gif


Asapers.gif

![](

Sort:  

That is great! Love how street art can transform a basic thing like a wall into a canvas to show off someone's amazing talents.

Thank you @pifc; I appreciate you stopping by! All construction is cinder block based here, so basically it's ugly and grey, so even "regular" houses, apartment buildings, stores are painted bright colors. Something we tend to cringe at back home, but it works here :)

wow.. so beautiful. Love colourful life of Playa! :)

Thank you very much @liltammy! They have so many beautiful ones here too :)

This is superb! The murals are super breathtaking and beautiful :D The walls become so alive! Love it and thanks for sharing with us, @lynncoyle1! <3

Thank you for enjoying it so enthusiastically @happycrazycon!! :) I'm glad you liked it! I had to stop and stare at it for so long...I'm sure anyone watching me must have thought I was crazy haha

howdy today @lynncoyle1! hey this is the perfect mural to have those young palm trees growing up in front of it, I thought they were part of the mural, a 3d technique! The painting is so good that you have to ask yourself "who ARE these people?" and do they sell paintings that I can get? It's remarkable. the photos aren't bad either.

Thank you @janton, and I agree with you about the palms. If I hadn't seen them with my bare eyes, I'd wonder the same :) I'm going to look back at news articles to see if I can find out anything about the artists. Every week there's an outdoor art exhibit with painters, photographers, jewelry crafters etc, and I'm beginning to wonder if any of them participate there as well.

oh hey..that's another great idea from the "lovely" Lynn. isn't that what someone said on the Engagement post comments, or was that gillian?
well anyway good idea, I bet you can go there and get some great artwork from starving artists. and on that one mural you're going to see it there is a signature?

Both gillian and I have been referred to as lovely over there :) And I was so in awe of that mural, that I forgot to look for a signature. If I can find it again, I'll have a look. I just start walking and wandering and stumble upon these things!

wow lynncoyle1 that sounds like an interesting hobby and I assume it's very safe there? I mean are there bad parts of town that you try to avoid?

It is very safe. Like any city, there's places you don't go, but I've never felt unsafe anywhere here yet. Actually, where we live now used to be pretty rough, but the government saw that tourism was spreading, and they "moved" the ghetto much further away from here. Tourism is the only economy here, so it's in everyone's best interest to keep the tourists safe.

oh I understand lovely lynncoyle1, thanks for the information and good luck on your walks to find great artwork! like that one with the turtle, you just say "who ARE these people?"

You'd be surprised how much is around here! The turtle won is pretty awesome too (I haven't got any voting power, so I'm waiting to comment on those ones :). haha who ARE these people...no kidding!

Great job capturing this mural there is so much in the different scenes. I like the tree frog that seems to come right out of the second photo. Staring us down with those big red eyes but with a friendly expression on his face

Thank you @steven-patrick, I think so too. I had to stop and stare at it for a long time. I love the frog too and was amazed at the fact that it really did seem to "come right out of the second photo" :)

I imagine every time you look at these, you see something new. A new animal or piece of the image you hadn't seen before.
So vibrant!

I stood and stared at it and took pictures for so long; I'm sure anyone watching might have thought I was a little crazy haha It is "vibrant" though, isn't it?! That's the perfect word choice!

Thanks for stopping by @goldendawne; hope you are well :)

Thank you @prostosun! These photos turned out well, but in real life, it was even more captivating :) Thank you for stopping by :)

Okay, these are the best ones! I like these much more than the ones in the previous post! The illusion of creating a scene in contrast to the cityscape that it was painted on!

I do too @bengy! I posted some that are even nicer than this a long time ago, before I had an audience, so to speak. I think I'll do a recap post on them because they deserve more attention :)

All of the construction here is done with cement blocks, so there's a lot of ugly grey around. These murals just add so much. I'm glad you enjoyed them!

That's gorgeous, Lynn! It seems like it was tucked back in the corner somewhere. I'm glad no one has put graffiti over it. It seems like around my parts, as soon as something pretty gets installed, someone has to tag it.

I wouldn't mind having a few extra C notes. :D

Thank you @themanwithnoname; I was so amazed when I saw it! And it was tucked in a corner of a street that intersects with more of a walking street with very few cars. Besides my last post where I shared the one that had been tagged, I thankfully don't notice much tagging here, probably because they seem to have their own form of vigilante justice. I've seen a "pack" of guys running after one guy who stole a ladies purse, and from what I've seen on the news and heard around here, you wouldn't want to be that guy if and when he got caught.

they seem to have their own form of vigilante justice.

The people who steal and such must be in really desperate straights to steal if they know what will happen if they're caught. Also, it's not that big of a town, is it? Wouldn't the person be recognized. Anyhow, the moral is to not steal.

Desperate is right I think. The population is now about 500,000 though, so recognized? I don't think so, but yes, let's remember the moral here haha

That's a much larger population than I would have imagined. That's a real city! Ok, so still the poverty, but maybe still a little anonymity.

Exactly @themanwithnoname! This place has grown exponentially in the last 10 years. Truthfully, I miss its' smallness!

That's kinda too bad it has grown so much. I like the small town feel of places.

Us to @themanwithnoname. Brian and I started coming here almost 20 years ago, before we knew each other of course, and we both fell in love with it's "village' like appeal.

This is an absolutely beautiful piece of art! I too would love to know the name of the artist! Perhaps when the conflict is over I could hire him/her to do a mural on my wall...281 meters od plain block wall painted white at the moment!

There are so many murals and talented artists around here; it's really incredible! This one is truly beautiful though and would look spectacular on a wall the size that you have! I'm going to search online to see if I can find out more about them all.

Thanks for stopping by @cecicastor!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29