Novacadian's Nova Scotia Biking Tours (Part 3)

in #walkwithme6 years ago (edited)

My wonderful tenant which has rented my downstairs apartment for a number of years has, finally, taken my advice and purchased their own place. He did not opt for an income property against my advice. Wishing them all the best.

The great thing is that my daughter and her partner are taking the upstairs while my residence will return to the downstairs where all the memories of raising my daughter reside. Kind of a full circle of sorts that is a story deserving of its own series of posts.

Anyway, one project was to bring the wiring of The House LAN downstairs. It needed about 50 feet of cable. The best deal seemed to be found at the establishment with a fitting statement in their brand... Best Buy.

  • bestbuy.ca

Even in my internal combustion vehicle driving years, the ride to their location in the Bayer's Lake Industrial Park, from peninsula Halifax, seemed a good distance. It was to my surprise to find how a section of the BLT Trail made the ride seem trivial. The trail is part of what once had been the south shore CNN rail line.

BLT Web Site:
http://blttrails.ca/

The route is along the black line beginning on the mid left, of the following image, where the number "103" is marked. That is the first overpass in the video. The video ends at the top right of the following image, where it is written "Joseph Howe Dr."

After finding my holy grail it was all downhill on my return.

Because the trail uses what had been the old south shore railroad line, which was discontinued in the late 90's, the grades are steady but gentle.

My exit from the trail was adjacent the Ashburn Golf Course.

Come #ridewithme!

  • Ledgen
    0:00 On Chain Lake Dr. on route out of Bayer's Lake Industrial Park
    1:34 Entering the BLT Trail
    1:46 Passing man on a stroll
    1:56 Passing another man on a stroll
    2:10 Passing under a major overpass used as an entry point into Halifax
    2:48 Passing man pushing a wheelchain with another man in it.
    3:44 Passing a jogger
    4:00 Passing another bicyclist
    4:27 Ditto
    4:33 Ditto
    4:45 Passing pedestrian road hogs
    5:56 Stop at lookoff to Chain Lake. It is the emergency water supply for the city.
    6:37 Passing under overpass which is being worked on.
    8:30 First city street crossing
    9:28 Passing another bicyclist
    10:31 Second city street crossing
    11:41 Passing two joggers
    11:59 Back at Ashburn Golf Course main entrance

Sort:  

So how many miles/km did you end up biking? 😮

Probably around 20 kms going from home to Best Buys and back again or perhaps a little more.

Impressive to me!

I saw a convo in discord about pics uploading sideways and the work around is making a slight edit to each photo before uploading. They were saying like a small crop edit would fix it. Not sure though.

Thanks Papa. Tried a rotation clockwise and it just was sideways in the opposite direction. 😎

Will play with your suggestion. Thanks again!

I usually take either a screenshot of the image (i use my phone to steem with) or yes edit by croping the pic just a little and saving it does the trick. The extra step is annoying to have to do. But, it's a fairly simple fix.

Did a little editing to replace the pics with a map. Puts more focus on the video as well. Will try both your tricks on future posts. ✌💛

Good Luck!!

Nice job, glad to see you're warming up for the big tour!

Thanks, @lindsaybowes! It certainly gave me confidence for being able to make the journey to Hackett's Cove in one day. Even Queenland does not look out of the question. Beach anyone?

That's super!! Yes...we need to get out to Queensland, damn really wished I was there today I tell ya lol :) We really need to get our vehicle fixed!

...Queensland, damn really wished I was there today...

Really! Did my ckassic 15k ride, yesterday, from the north end of Halifax to the southern tip of point pleasant park and around to the waterfront and back. Stopped at my daughter's on my return trip to retrieve my credit card, which was forgotten when used for beuretto delivery when watching the Westworld finalè the night before.

Due to my drippy sweaty state their offer to stay was declined with my tub at home calling to me like some Greek Sirine. 😎

This is an exciting time of change for you! I hope it goes well. Biking is so wonderful!! Good for you for getting out on an epic ride!

I hope it goes well

Thanks @yogajill! Its feeling great so far.

Next time I will give you a shopping list. You can drop by Costco for me. Super awesome video as always. Love that part of the trail all paved. Last year rode from Head of St. Margaret's Bay at the Bike and Bean all the way to the coke bottling plant and back. I think it was 40K and it was so awesome. Loved it.

... it was so awesome.

Glad to hear. Planning on taking the trail to Upper Tantallon, then onward to Hackett's Cove. Looking forward to it!

Next time I will give you a shopping list. You can drop by Costco for me

Think a bike trailer might be in order. :)

super. tasting that sea salt caramel now as we speak :)))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39