Walk With Me: The Return Of The Springeye .. The Flowers Strike Back!!

in #walkwithme6 years ago (edited)

DSCF6865.JPG

The Return Of Spring

So anyone that's read my recent #walkwithme posts will know it's been a long and miserable winter here in England. In fact I recently went away for a weeks hiking and was hoping to grab some lovely spring pictures of the hills and mountains .. only to find myself bathed in rain and fog. It was with some relief that my recent walk was taken on an archetypal spring day .. the sun is shining and the camera is packed, let's go!

Ok ok so this one doesn't look too full of spring's promise, but I like the shot and I'm building up to it ;)

DSCF6839.JPG

DSCF6887.JPG

DSCF6899.JPG

As much as I love the villages and winding country lanes of England's green and pleasant lands, now it's time to part company with civilisation and be enveloped by an ancient forests flowery embrace .. but first a picture of the track that I took to get there.

DSCF6910.JPG

I did pass by a more recent plantation on my way into the forest, but it has an ethereal beauty of it's own so I had to grab a couple of pictures.

DSCF6916.JPG

DSCF6917.JPG

Into The Forest

DSCF6920.JPG

DSCF6924.JPG

DSCF6925.JPG

It's a warm day so someone is looking to take a dip, if I'd brought my shorts I might have also been tempted.

DSCF6932.JPG

DSCF6933.JPG

I just love the inherent promise of spring, the return of life speaks to me on a multitude of levels.

DSCF6928.JPG

DSCF6935.JPG

DSCF6947.JPG

I think my dogs expression pretty much matched by own (minus the drooling and lolling tongue :D ) .. what a day to appreciate the profound beauty and fragility of life .. although I promise, no flowers were harmed in the taking of these pictures.

DSCF6950.JPG

DSCF6953.JPG

I just loved the primrose growing the middle of the falling tree .. it was a but difficult to capture it's majesty with a camera but I couldn't resist giving it a go.

DSCF6955.JPG

DSCF6956.JPG

Parting Is Such Sweet Sorrow

Alas the hour is getting late and my dinner is calling me home .. but what a day to be alive!

DSCF6967.JPG

Thank you for joining me on this walk.

Minnow5.gif

Written by perceptualflaws
Original Pictures by perceptualflaws
Gifs courtesy of @justcallmemyth

Minnow3.gif

Sort:  

It’s amazing how late spring is this year, all over the site I have spring flowers bursting out in amazing abundance.
Hopefully it’s a sign we’ll get a decent summer......
fingers crossed eh!?

Hey dude .. thanks for stopping by .. hope you've had a good day!

It's amazing how quickly it's changed eh? A few weeks ago I was trudging through snow and this week I'm dancing through flowers, what a picture that paints! haha :D

Man we're certainly due a decent Summer so I have my fingers well and truly crossed .. thanks again my friend.

That was absolutely spectacular and so worth the wait PerceptualFlaws! Flowers everywhere, I particularly loved that primrose on the fallen tree...

This was definitely a favourite of mine...ethereal is a good way to describe it.

But the best... d'awww....!!!! No flowers were hurt, I bet they were super happy for the company!

Hey @lyndsaybowes thanks for stopping by my friend .. I'm really glad you enjoyed as I've been threatening to upload my pics for a while now. :D It really was a beautiful day to be alive .. they say the best things in life are free and that is very true! I'm actually (right now) writing the post I wrote in my mind on this walk, I will also have to try and get out this week and take some pictures of the bluebells. Thanks again my friend.

Lovely primroses, and I love the real forest. We have some lovely real and native forests in Scotland, but there are also some creepy dead "managed" forests used for logging, like this one that I stumbled into a couple of weeks ago. No bird or nature sounds - just silence.
Dead forest.jpg

Hey @natubat thank you for stopping by, glad you enjoyed the pictures. I have Scottish blood, family in Scotland and I lived right up in the Highlands for a number of years and I just love the Caledonian pine forests! Probably some of my favorite ancient woodlands in the world. The plantations were a travesty, but they seem to be reversing many of them and the vast tract of forest they're recreating in the Highlands is fantastic! Connecting ancient woodland and eventualy recreating a 600 square mile naturally regenerating woodland .. great stuff!!

It is good to look at the postitives in this - there are some great reforestation initiatives going on, and some beautiful trees, like the ones in your post. When you see these dead zones - and I've seen quite a few - you realise why native forests are so important. I'm sure they make the ground more swampy too when they're felled. The Highlands is a beautiful place though. You must have loved living there.

Ahhh, the Arthurian countryside​​:) It's good that spring is putting some bounce back in your step!

Thank my friend .. it's been a long winter and I've felt drained .. but in a way that also makes the scent of spring that much sweeter ;)

Winter is a very beautiful time of year. I really love winter. The first time I fell in love with a girl in the winter. My first kiss was in the winter. We walked under the beautiful trees in the park. I read poetry to my beloved girl. She approached her face, at first I did not understand. I was young and very inexperienced. Continued to read poetry. She brought her face closer still. The distance became completely indecent ..
Then I understood. For the first time I kissed my beloved girl. I really love winter.

Thank you @rosgard and that is a beautiful story .. thank you for sharing.

It's nice that you liked the story of my life.

...but what a day to be alive! I had the same feeling wandering around in the early spring forest in southern Germany. Despite the fact that we had a nice winter, the overwhelming power of spring every year keeps as wondering... Nice walk, in beautiful landscape. Thanks for sharing.
Have a look how our meadows look like at the moment:
https://steemit.com/photography/@johano/hallelujah

The beauty of spring is indeed a tonic of itself .. and it's an elixir I very much enjoyed tasting. Thank you for stopping by @johano I will be sure to take a look at your post.

I personally don't hate winter, but theres something about spring that I just look forward to and makes me feel good about it

Hey @empress-eremmy yes perhaps I didn't word that as well as I could have .. I do love winter (I love all the seasons) and I love the snow, clear skies and crisp air. It was just that this particular winter seemed to drag for ages and it was often dull and wet as opposed to being crisp and clear .. but yes I did also manage to get out for some beautiful winter walks :) Thanks again

What an absolutely beautiful place! I have to admit the last shot with your furry friend looking at the camera takes the cake!

Thank you my friend, I'm glad you enjoyed the walk :) Yes I love that picture .. I think he was getting hungry as well! :D

I miss the English countryside and it's beauty. The photos are a good representation and made me feel cool with all that shade. Spring air and cold water. The moss. I can smell the flowers. Hey your dogs are Australian cattle dogs, red and blue heelers.

Hey @izzynoel thank you, as much as I get annoyed with place there is something quite magical about these lands .. the sense of history is palpable and never far away .. are you English and have emigrated to Australia?

Yes they are both heelers .. I love the dogs and have owned them for years .. not that many over here though.

I am originally from Australia but lived in the UK and seen alot of it. It has some sort of charm or enchantment about it, well for me anyway. Even if the weather is bad I still appreciated it.

I must say I did get sick of Towyn, Nth Wales after spending three holidays there. But there was always Snowdonia and Angelsey down the road.

I used to have a red heeler and she was so loyal and protective. They have alot of energy. You are right I haven't seen one in the UK, or any Australian dog breed for that matter. Now I got a half dingo half kelpie bitch.

rebirth ! in joy :)

Yes I will indeed :) & love the theme walk with me. keep it up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22