SUNSETS IN CAPE TOWN - WALK | WITH | ME

in #walkwithme6 years ago

cover working file.jpg

It's Wednesday! That means we are half way through our week, and the weekend is nearing. I noticed the tag #walkwithme a while ago and have been meaning to use it, but got busy with other things and totally just forgot. The area in Cape Town I live in is called Gardens, after the famous Company Gardens, but I honestly couldn't think of a better name for my suburb, as it is so green and leafy.


I just love the area we live in, and I often take short walks after work to unwind and free my mind. Photography has always been an interest of mine, and I've been making a point of trying to see my surroundings as photos waiting to happen.

WhatsApp Image 2018-07-11 at 19.13.24.jpeg

When I started my walk the sun was just starting to set, and I snapped the image above. I love the mix of massive oak trees and the gigantic palms. It's winter here, so a lot of the trees have lost their leaves. I love the starkness of the naked trees against the tangerine sky. I can almost feel them shivering in the icy wind

WhatsApp Image 2018-07-11 at 19.10.25.jpeg

I love lamp

WhatsApp Image 2018-07-11 at 19.10.24 (1).jpeg

On my route to the park I have full views of Table Mountain and Devils Peak. I adore this shot of the colossal mountain peak towering over the pretty, canicule palms.

WhatsApp Image 2018-07-11 at 19.10.24.jpeg

My view of Table Mountain as I reached the park. I love the archaic rock formation surveying it's friend, the beautiful valley. It's incredibly humbling to stand in it's shadow.

WhatsApp Image 2018-07-11 at 19.10.23.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2018-07-11 at 19.10.23 (1).jpeg

Ancient giants roam this park, infusing the air with their vanilla breath. Dogs bound up and down, chasing raucous squirrels and tattered tennis balls. The breeze rustles the leaves and calms my chaotic mind.

WhatsApp Image 2018-07-11 at 19.10.22.jpeg

The park starts to darken with only the amber street lights illuminating my path. A homeless man is making his bed for the night, and a street child is walking behind me, watching my every move.

The darkness is descending quickly on me. I quicken my stride and wrap my coat tightly around me. I step in into the well light street and make my way home.

WhatsApp Image 2018-07-11 at 19.10.22 (1).jpeg

footer.jpg

Please consider voting for @adsactly-witness as a witness. To read what we are all about - click here

adsaxtly-witness.gif

CLICK HERE TO JOIN OUR DISCORD

DQmd5CQG5zLjjm2z8289qcLU6eBHJpC5FmgtR3aC1eXnhsi.png

Sort:  

Wow! Great post.I just love the post.

thank you so much, that's lovely of you x

@princessmewmew come to live in southamerica, here the sun shine everyday, food is good, and people are very friendly, soon the bad economical situation will pass, We need adsactly in America and one who directs it, leave Bronco there he can do it alone jajajajaj

That's such an amazing idea!! I'm going to have to do one of these every now and then.

Pretty much the only thing to do in this town is walk up mountains! 😂😂

Thanks for sharing and letting us join you on your walk! 😀

Posted using Partiko Android

awesome, I wanna see your mountains!

Ciao!🙏
Hey dear Princess it's a beautiful garden of the Princess' Kingdom.
The walk with me tag is completely worthful when we saw some beautiful views and I really enjoyed the view of table mountain and specially the lamps on the street, it will be better if authorities convert them in Chandelier haha.
I think it's a good practice to lessen the stress, recharge your mind, get some cool snaps of giant trees and skies these are the views of Capetown and all are very beautiful.
Thanks.

Ciao!🙏

thank you! I like the tag because we get to see how people all over the world live. Totally fabulous.

Woow! I've always wanted to go to south-africa. Swaziland caught my interest. Added to the bucketlist! :)

thank you so much. it is an amazing place. Swaziland is also stunning, very green and lush

What part of SA do you stay in? Because I can see sweet sunshine, yet I hear it's very cold currently, your camera is above my pay grade. 😂😂😂😂

I am in Cape Town. Don't let the pretty orangey images fool you - it is freezing! I just use my iPhone xx

wow you have IPhone xx, 😂😂😂 remind me to pay you a visit

Hi Princessmewmew Thank you for a lovely walk down memory lane. Terrific photos. I love Table Mountain.Reminds me of a big mother embracing her children.

That is a lovely way to think of our Lady. thanks for your support x

The pictures are beautiful. It makes it look like a wonderful place to visit. I really like how you tinted the pictures. It gives a soft effect to them. I am getting the sense that your area has a lot of gated homes or communities? You never see front yards, there is always a fence or wall around them if I am correct.

Thanks my guy. In our area it is mainly private homes, with smaller front yards. The party is out back, where most people have huge gardens and swimming pools. If people have a large front yard, there are normally walls up.

IMG_4166 2.jpg

Beautiful photos! I love a good evening walk after dinner. Of course your pictures look much more interesting then what I have around my neighborhood. lol :) someday I will have to come to South Africa and do an evening stroll through Cape Town! :)

yes, you must! It's an amazing place and with the USD$ you will holiday like kings!

It is definitely on my bucket list! Is it fairly inexpensive there compared to the US?

I just love that part of Cape Town. I have family that live there and that is where we stay when we are in town. Been way too long now though and definitely need to plan another visit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86