When You Hear The First Crack, Start Running

in #walkwithme5 years ago (edited)

518A6A97-CD16-4758-BE70-AD0423E6E970.jpeg

I left my backyard on foot and walked 20 feet out on a frozen river system so that you could walk with me and see what I see.

B870C191-37B8-4CEC-B0AD-06F4BDDA7001.jpeg

Pure majik to the east and to the west.

CDEAC074-A643-4ACA-84AF-45565FBC8DAA.jpeg

One more look to the east from the surface of the frozen river.

160BE7CF-9A35-4191-BF96-03005F91A505.jpeg

A funny thing happened. I had been explaining to @marionbowes that I haven’t started running (as a hobby, yet) but I did enjoy her recent cross-training for runners post.

If you missed it, here’s the link:

https://steemit.com/runninginthemaritime/@marionbowes/cross-training-for-runners

No sooner had I taken the second shot of the rising sun, when I heard the first crack.

Yeah, it was the ice.

@marionbowes, it’s officially now.

I started running by sprinting to shore.

I ‘m fairly certain that I engaged all two of my fast twitch muscle fibres in the process. ;)

No need to be concerned. I learned (from Marion’s article) that I just have to start participating in a spin class to correct this issue.

BE421F5F-2711-4D9C-A5F4-5BD0BCFE0D06.jpeg

Safely, back on solid ground.

BA4C4B8A-C5CB-4AB0-94BD-FD1480CE520A.jpeg

I’m a slow twitch, methodical girl. Built for endurance over longer intervals. ;)

~ Rebecca

Sort:  

The golden mist could possibly be bottled and used to make wonderful potions. Too bad it's heavily guarded by cracking ice spirits.

Hahaha! Probably going to be heavily guarded until June, this year. Lolz!

LOOOOOOLZ!!!! You go girl hahahaa, especially cracked up about the spin class comment!! <3 Awesome #walkwithme Rebecca, and just gorgeous photography.

Hahaha! The ice is many inches thick now and it’s been laid down in layers this year, so I think that I just cracked the most recent layer under the snow because visually there was no crack. I could only hear it and for a good distance as it went.
So, naturally I ran like a mother fucker...coz I’m sweet but a little bit psycho...

Incentive is a great teacher. You made me laugh this morning. Thanks for that 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

I thought it was funny since we have been kibitzing back and forth about running.

Oh good @andyjem! Just applied what I learned from Marion’s article to a completely impractical and rare situation in life. Her article was full of valuable information and my goal was to give it more exposure and have a wee laugh at the same time. ;)

Thank goodness you were warned by the cracking sound.glad you could run.

I know it reads a little crazy. We’ve been in a deep freeze for months and I think that I just cracked the most recent layer of ice that’s been laid down. Still need to heed the warning. ;)

I am glad you did!

I think you're supposed to drop down on all fours to spread your weight out and crawl slowly to safety. But I'm glad you made it!

Yes, you are supposed to get right down on your belly and slither. I got out there, took a picture or 2, heard a small crack, took another couple of steps and heard a much larger crack that travelled for a good distance. I couldn’t see a chasm of any description but decided I ought to heed the warning and briskly return to shore. :)

That is quite the incredible backyard you have. Majik indeed. Thanks for bringing us on your walk, glad you made it out alive :)

Thanks for taking a look and joining along @herbsgalore!

Great captures you got on this daring adventure! If the crack was loud enough I’d imagine I would have pancaked on the spot haha. Steem on :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hahaha! Thank you @jcsteem. I heard the first crack which was little. Took a few more steps which was met with a louder crack that travelled for a good distance and that’s when I started to run. Visually, you couldn’t see the crack. The ice is thick, I cracked the most recent layer, under the snow. ;)

Well, well, well. You are certainly my kind of runner. We know when to get out of a tight situation in a hurry. However, I am not a racer, just a runner (never say just) lol...I do run slower, more methodical and therefore can also do the longer haul with endurance...and I capture all the beauty along the way. xx super great photos as well.

Yes, I think that means that I’m a situational runner. Lol!
Damn good thing I don’t have to run to save my bacon on a regular basis, is all I can say. ;)

yes. well at least you could do that. Although I think you are supposed to drop and do the pancake thing. At least that is what I remembered from Girl Guides. lol

My intent was to try and give you some more exposure for your blog post. I thought that it was well written and very informative.

why thank you and yes I got that and also forget to say thank you for the exposure. It is hard to always find things to write about and there are a whole group of runners our there and another group that maybe want to. who knows. I learn a lot at times when I write these as well, if I take the time to do the research. But its true what I said, I love it for the scenery as much as what it does for me in all other aspects, physically, mentally and spiritually. What lake are you on BTW?

Sorry that I missed responding to this Marion.
I thought that you did a fantastic job writing your article and I know that it takes a considerable amount of time to put it together so that it flows, is accurate and holds the interest of the reader. Tricky to do at the best of times.
We live just before lock #7 on the Trent-Severn Waterway and you are most welcome if you ever find yourself back in our part of Ontario. :)

Why thank you. Not all my posts are quite that put together, but once in a while I nail it. We are back there often, many friends and family still about there. :))

hahaha, as usual your posts provoke a good laugh from me! I guess there are lot of ways to discover new hobbies :-)

Oh good! I’m glad it put a smile on your face.
You are experiencing a winter like we haven’t had in a long time...like 40 years long, how are you coping?
Daily moisturizer is a necessity and you’ll likely need a heavier one than you normally use (in a more temperate climate for your face. ;)

Oh yes you're so right, my fingertips are always splitting and face has been almost peeling with dryness all winter! What I've found so difficult this winter though is the fact that heat is so expensive that we've had to keep the thermostat low and I am literally shivering inside at times! If I could keep it a little higher so I'm at least comfortable inside, I wouldn't mind the cold outside too much (as it is here anyway).

For me, the snow has been my saving grace...the world is a prism with the snow and frequent sun here and that magical, bright, clean landscape the snow creates really lifts my spirits. The drab spring right now though leaves something to be desired! Nothing is blooming yet and no green is happening yet...time to get on a plane to a milder climate right about now I'd say.

Well, we’ve technically survived another winter...
May I suggest that now’s the time to buy an electric blanket for your bed and a heated throw to use like a shawl while you work. Stores will put these items on clearance. Buy now for next year and store them until the late fall. They take next to no electricity so they’re economical to use and in the case of the heated blanket (for your bed) if you buy queen or king size, there are separate heat controllers...important if temperature fluctuations vary from one person to the next. You can also buy battery operated heated jackets, gloves and socks... I never have but I have tried a heated jacket and they work really well. ;)

absolutely BRILLIANT idea :-)))) thank you! A electric blanket even if just used for an hour before we get into bed could make a huge difference...that freezing bed was really something to deal with each night! Flannel sheets would help too but good quality ethical flannel was just too expensive for us this winter but they too will be on clearance. Heh heh!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63671.94
ETH 3040.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01