War, Marriage, Death, and 1,000 regrets

in #war6 years ago (edited)

If you knew that you had an hour to live after you got married, would you still do it?
If you knew that serving your country would lead to you putting innocent civilians in body bags would you still volunteer?

To safeguard the identities of those involved in this tragedy I am withholding dates and locations.
At one point during operation Iraq freedom, in a city hotly enmeshed in conflict between Allied forces and an endless insurgency streaming into the city from across the borders, there was a wedding.
Two local individuals chose to pursue their love and continue their lives in a city torn apart hour after hour by gun battles, mortar attacks, bomb blasts, air strikes, and an insurgency that gave the locals the choice to either aid them or risk gruesome deaths.
These two individuals got into their cars with the wedding party, went to their mosque and began commencing their nuptials.

Around the same time, local intel reports filtered down through trusted channels that there was a suicide vehicle-born bomb attack on one of the local Allied bases being arranged.
There had already been several recent such attacks and the aftermath of such an explosion was mind boggling to behold: shockwaves capable of tearing the faces off of entire concrete buildings, evaporating individuals unfortunate enough to be nearby, and leaving soaring death tolls should the right location be hit at the right time.
Immediate countermeasures were planned, and with a vague color and body style of the suspected VBIED (vehicle born improvised explosive device) being passed down to local units, recon ambush locations were set around allied bases, hoping to identify and stop the attacker before he could drive within lethal range of a gate.
Local fighting had been intense. Nerves were frayed and allied forces were forced to see every individual as a potential threat as the insurgents blackmailed local citizens into committing atrocities on risk of seeing their families butchered.

The ambush was in place, watching a local intersection with boots both on the ground conducting traffic and snipers in place in elevated locations.
Despite the city's infrastructure being completely undone, strict martial law in effect, hospitals blown into shells, streets littered with bomb craters, and sewers flowing through those streets, many civilians still had no other option than to continue going about their lives, a day at a time, and so traffic flowing to and from mosques and markets was a fact of life, despite it being one of the most dangerous cities on earth.
The wedding finished, and they loaded into cars and began driving home.
The local population had been well informed through local government of the appropriate measures that had to be taken to not appear a threat to local Allied forces and avoid being shot at.
Hand signals, signs, and boots on the ground had to be immediately obeyed, on threat of deadly force.
Warning flares, air horns, and orders shouted by an interpreter through a bullhorn would escalate to warning shots, "flash bang" stun grenades and then lethal force if not obeyed.

The wedding party reached the intersection with the overwatch, driving a vehicle that matched the description of the suspected VBIED.
I imagine that given the distraction of their love for one another on this most special day, and the words of their ceremony still ringing in their ears, they forgot for these few precious moments that they were living in the middle of a war zone.
Orders were screamed, escalation measures blazed, warning shots were fired, and the newlyweds panicked, flooring their vehicle directly at the allied position.
Disabling shots to the vehicle did not stop it, and concealed squad automatic weapons ripped through the vehicle, stopping it dead and killing everyone inside.
I was the corpsman, responsible not only for treating wounded marines but also for treating civilian casualties and wounded insurgents.
They were lined up on the ground awaiting my inspection when I arrived. Each of them had received multiple lethal wounds, dead even if their bodies didn't know it yet.
There was one young man, whose identity I don't know but always think of as the newlywed husband, whose face was broken by multiple head shots, and yet his mouth still moved in silent words.
Later I drove the vehicle with the bagged bodies to local Iraqi government officials to be handled according to customs of Islam.
I still dream of looking into the back and see them dead but with eyes wide open staring at me, pleading, asking.

This, my friends, is the real cost of war, the horrendous price that you will not hear about on the news.
This is the grief that we who wore the uniform must bear with us to our graves that wakes us up at night in a cold sweat.
This sculpture of 1,000 paper cranes is my gift to that newlywed couple who never lived long enough to get home or consummate their marriage.
This sculpture was never displayed publicly due to its controversial message so this, Steemit is how this memorial will be seen by the eyes of the world.
1000 cranes, each hand painted and sealed and mounted on hand woven wire armatures meant to mimic the reels of razor wire seen in combat zones surrounding every Allied base.
They arise from two body bags on the ground, finding their color as they fly in concentric spirals 14 feet into the sky.
May their memory fly even further: may their spirits fly to a place where love can grow in peace and war and grief are as easily shaken off and discarded as a flight of birds might leave the earth and take to the sky.

Sort:  

is past pay out so can't UV this one but very nice to meet you, am following....
this is the type of post that makes some of us not rage quit <3
@battleaxe

Thank you so much for reading it! I try to put a lot into my posting with at least one "really serious" post a week like that one, so it means a lot to me to hear from people who have read them! That means more to me than any vote =)

Upvoting now, coming back to read this later. Looks too deep to read in a rush. Take care for now!

EDIT:

Read. I’m not going to get wordy, only that I appreciate you putting some things into perspective for me. In recent months, my contact with those I seek more information from have been less than inspiring. It’s why I’ve not spent much time on my project lately; I’ve been waiting for new inspiration to strike.

The sculpture is a beautiful tribute to the souls lost. It’s wrong that all that effort and the message it comes with is abandoned and hidden out of sight, which is the problem to begin with.

Loading...

That's it, man! We need more stories like this to show people that real war is not like watching some John Wayne movie. Sometimes the good guys are not involved, and they could be friends or relatives of the enemy.

#Letsmakeitpersonal

Taking lives seems to be something very unnatural for man. At least in the context you describe. Seeing people die as a result of machine fire or other military equipment is, as I can imagine, deeply disturbing.

... Has this influenced your decision how you report to other men about soldier life? Would you say you shouldn't have done your military service? Have you been able to work on your experience therapeutically? Has this experience made you more conscious or stronger in life?

I hope for you that you one day will recover completely from this experience. Good, that you talk about it.

No part of war is "fun" to talk about, for me at least. "Unnatural" is definitely one way of putting it. Unfortunately it needs to be talked about, because a lot of people seem to think... well I don't know what they think, honestly but when we want change at home it becomes a national conversation, and there is just no conversation at all about what happens in war. I think there's a lot of perspective at the very least that people could stand to gain if they knew what happens in the countries we fight our wars in. Who knows, maybe our next big war will be on our own soil. If people know what war is really like, then maybe we'll be a bit more proactive with our votes and keeping politicians in check so that we try and prevent the next one.
Yeah, I go to therapy but it is not so much to help me get past one incident that I am hung up on as a combination of many incidents and their cumulative effect on how my brain now functions.
I like to think that any experience can make us stronger, but that is entirely on us to make that happen. We can't bury the memories, we can't run from them. We have the option to kill ourselves, which many do, or find a way to turn it into a strength, and have it become something that fuels us to keep on going. The hundreds of hours of work it took to build that installation was for me, the resolve that I was going to take this memory, and use it to strengthen my character and my resolve to take my life and make something purposeful of it.

I have great respect for your installation. It's not just a work of art. It matters. Your personal story makes you what you want to be. You've done more than many people dare to do. Everything we do or don't do has an effect on the systems around us. One should be aware in depth of the decisions one makes in life.

I had a conversation about it the other day and was shocked at the degree of insignificance that my conversation partner attested to. I take a completely different view. I heard first hand the stories of war, hunger and expulsion from my parents. It had a deep impact on me and today, after I reached my midlife, I know much more than I did when I was young.

Origami is very contemplative and one achieves a certain balance through continuous work with it. I wonder what you may have been thinking when you built this work.

The therapeutic help does not appear to be particularly effective at the first moment and also in the first years when one receives it. Some things don't set in until years later.

I understand you, even though I myself have never seen a person killed by violence. Death is a horror for us modern humans. It would be better if it wasn't. May you not only have nightmares, but dreams where you can fly freely like a bird. From my heart I wish that what you have experienced will take you further. And it seems you've matured. All the best for you.

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on this issue! And thank you for your well wishes, also.

I cannot express how deeply sad that makes me feel for you, for the people in the car, and for those who loved them.

The sculpture with the rising birds is sensitive and wonderful and it needs to be seen to remind everyone that wars have very tragic personal consequences.

Very good for you, @corpsvalues.

I'm really blown away by this one. I'm Navy but never been in a spot where I've had to experience some of the things you have so thank you for being vulnerable enough to share this with us. I found this and the story behind it to be incredibly moving. It reminds me of the first time I saw the Coat Of Dog Tags at the Seattle Art Museum in the best ways possible. 6431611-SAM_-_Coat_made_from_soldiers-dog_tags-2.jpg

Thanks man, and thanks for sharing that dog tag sculpture: i was not familiar with it.

Congratulations @corpsvalues! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Colombia vs England


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

You got a 4.14% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @corpsvalues!

Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale. Visit http://www.upmewhale.com for details!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25