Is there anything left to be proud of???

in #war6 years ago (edited)

Hello friends of the steemit community, this is @hermannsol. I am a Cameroonian from the English speaking region Bamenda. It is with a severe ache in my heart that i decided to write on this today.

image

source

Growing up as a Child, i've always loved to travel out there and pursue a career of my choice abroad. That is to say in all honesty that being a Cameroonian by birth and having lived my entire life here, i've never been proud to be called a Cameroonian. It marvels me so much to hear others say how much they are proud of their country but when i looked at my country back then there was nothing to be proud about. In fact it even got to a point that i felt like i didn't belong here. That's how much i detested my country as a young person. I was very far from the word patriotic. And why? Simply because of the state of the country. The problems of corruption, unemployment, poor leadership with a president i have seen all my life as leader. He is currently 36yrs in power and has announced his intentions to run again for another term of 7yrs. He is 85yrs old now and should he win, that will make him 92yrs old when his term expires and 43yrs in power. The irony of the whole thing is voting is just a formality nowadays because we know the winner already. He can run for office as many times as he wants and always wins.

With that in mind, i always saw Cameroon as a terrible and messed up place. I didn't like it at all and would have grabbed the least chance i had to get out. Here is a place where you cannot even ptotest against the regime, you get jailed, labelled a terrorist and sentenced for saying the truth. You cannot do anything against the regime and most have just learned to roll with it.
Growing up, i knew we needed a change and i have been praying for it for i knew only prayers and doing that which is right could bring the change. I used to watch news and i see of how people in Arab nations and countries experiencing war suffered, people displaced and poverty. I will thank God for the peace in my country. I will say to myself atleast we have peace even with all these problems. Atleat i had one thing to be proud of as a Cameroonian and that was peace.

image

source

Now i don't even have that anymore. It all changed by this time in october 2016 when the people of the English region rose up and started their protests. It started like a small issue and now has culminated into a civil war. The media has misinformed the entire globe of what is happening and the world fails to really understand what is happening here. The media announces only minimal cases of deaths but the true numbers are shocking. The military instead of protecting the citizens is attacking and killing them. Many harmless parents, children, youths have died and continue to die because of this. Just today, i felt so bad in church when i saw people who have escaped their homes, families and children all displaced to strange places. Life has become so tough and insecure. It has become a state of emergency.
The one thing i was thankful and proud of has been taken from me. The chaos, tears, gunshots and deaths i used to watch on TV are now right before my very own eyes. My worst nightmare is now a reality that i can hardly believe. The lives that have been lost, husbands living their houses and never coming to their wives, Children losing both parents and so many lives lost everyday, students unable to go to school because of the insecurity in the country and many more effects. I personally could not go to school last year because of this issue i wasted a whole year of my life and that is nothing compared to what others have lost.

This is why when i look at my country Cameroon now, all i can ask myself is:

Is there anything left to be proud of?

Sort:  

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

My sources say no

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by hermannsol from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I hope things improve, stay as safe as you can.

Thanks @rentmoney for the concern. I appreciate it man. I will be safe by God's grace.
Thanks

CONGRATULATIONS YOUR ARTICKE WAS SELECTED FOR UPVOTE IN THE SUNDAY WAFRICA CURATION

https://steemit.com/africa/@wafrica/wafrica-sunday-curation

signed @jeaniepearl

Thanks guys..
I appreciate it.

Thid is very terrible. Africa will remain poor until they change their mentality.

One thing that is killing and dwindly Africa is greed... Too much greed. This is what is happening to your country. They only know and care about themselves and family members instead of the masses.

Like 2pac said, let's change the way we live, let's change the way we think and let's change the way we do things or else things will remain the same...

It is pure wickedness..
Those are the kind of people we have as leaders in Africa.

Man! The situation is really bad out here, lots of lives gone and not certain when it will all end. Hope we stay safe and see it end.

Yours,
Simcard

Thanks bro and may God keep you safe.
It is well.

Dear Hermann,

You post really resonated with me. Because I felt exactly the same about my country growing up. The bad situation there (wars, corruption, crime, anti-democratic authoritarian regime) made me determine to leave my home country and seek a better life somewhere else. That’s why I left Russia when I was 27 years old and went to Sweden. I have been in living in Sweden for the past 12 years and it’s been a huge positive change in my life. As for my first country, I don’t have much hope left either…

That's good to know @oleg326756...
Sometimes it just feels like no matter how hard you try, you just don't fit in. I don't want to feel like this for my country, i really want to see it become a better place but i just can't help it.
Thanks for passing by @oleg326756 and sharing this part of your experience with us.

Congratulations @hermannsol! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Final results coming soon

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94