We Write: Prompt MedicinesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #we-write5 years ago

Now that I've emerged from the November Madness @mariannewest reminded me about the We-write. I'm coming into it just before the deadline so I grabbed the first half from a comment made by @wonderwop and I'm happy to finish the prompt started by Uncle Bruni.

Imgur

The beginning by @wonderwop

People say that laughter is the best medicine, obviously they've never taken a Vicodin. Medication addiction is one of this nations growing epidemics, and it shows no signs of slowing down. If you have teenage children prancing through your house please be a responsible parent and lock up all medicines, you never know when your children might have friends over. Another thing that is important to remember is if you have out dated medication, please don't flush them down the toilet. They could easily contaminate your city's clean water supply by leaching into the ground water. Treat your meds with care, as if they were a loaded gun.

The ending by me

And where does one go from there? I can add I live quite near the city often referred to as the "opioid capital of the US". But the whole state is in crisis, which is quite surprising given it's always been a peaceful, rural state.

But that proves the point that you can't take anything for granted. Though I'm not one to jump on the paranoid bandwagon, it is something to be conscious of. Addictions and mental health issues that exacerbate them are insidious. I think only by taking the time to get to know ourselves (truly and deeply) can we know if we are at risk. Honesty is hard, but it's even harder to be honest with yourself.

If you find you need help, get it. Don't wait.


This is different than what I usually write, which is quite refreshing even though the topic is not an easy one to talk about.
Thank you Uncle Bruni for posting the beginning of the we-write!

enter image description here


enter image description here

Join the Freewrite fun today! Visit @Freewritehouse


Proud to be part of the


enter image description here

Please the Bananafish god by entering the Finish the Story Contest

All images are mine or licensed from Adobe except where noted. Thumbnail image from Pixabay . Freewritehouse, and the Bananafish Tribe used with permission from their owners

Sort:  

You two got a big problem laid out clearly in this short piece. Well done!!

You two got a big
Problem laid out clearly in
This short piece. Well done!!

                 - freewritehouse


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Excellent continuation @ntowl thank you for ending my story. You rocked it, like a pro. 👏

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85