Acclimatizing Myself for Gatlinburg

in #weather6 years ago (edited)

20180606_154554 (1).jpg

On the rare occasions that we have sunny weather here in England, I tend to lock myself away like a vampire. There was a time I would love to bask in the sun, cool drink beside me, absorbing those lovely rays. Nowadays, no longer. I have a very low heat tolerance thanks to my MS. The hotter I get the higher my fatigue levels rise. It's like being attacked by an energy-sucking leech, draining my body. For this reason I also don't take hot baths, opting instead for cool showers.

In just two weeks' time I will be on my way to Gatlinburg, TN, for the first official The Writers' Block meetup. As much as I am looking forward to meeting other Blockheads and planning the future of our community and publishing house, I am starkly aware that the weather there is somewhat warmer than home. I have a weather app on my phone with home and Gatlinburg set as the locations. Not only is Gatlinburg warmer, but the humidity is higher.

temp.png

England has had a pleasant few weeks with the weather and currently the sun is out, there is nary a cloud in the sky and the humidity is higher than usual. I have forced myself outside to confront this meteorological menace in preparation for my Stateside trip. Feeling much like the aforementioned vampire, I stick to the shadows, a garden umbrella shielding me from the worst the sun can throw at me. I get dizzy and my head goes on the wonk when too hot, so thankfully my other half is on hand to serve drinks and assist me to escape the heat when I need to.

Here's hoping I'm prepared in time for Tennessee.



Are you a writer or keen to learn? Do you wish to join a community of like-minded individuals who can help hone your writing skills in the fields of fiction, non-fiction, technical, poetry, or songwriting? Join us at The Writers' Block by clicking the logo below.

Sort:  

I yeah the humidity might be the most annoying thing in this one. I hope it will not trouble you too much there. Surely one of the blockheads will spread their wings to assist you in cold refreshements, I presume!

Be foerwarned. Americans over-air-condition themselves. Going from hot to cold to hot again may be the worst part for you as you go in and out.

And here am I, looking forward to what hopefully will be lower humidity than where I live. Just 5 hours away, Gatlingurg lies at a higher altitude and I am looking forward to some days (and nights) of clearer air.

@joe.nobel has a good point. Many of us severely overuse the AC. Here at our house we like to keep it near 77-80F, but most folks I know like it in the low 70s or even high 60s.

Very happy to have stumbled across the wonderful TWB community, thankyou for your warm welcome.

I hope you can find a way to stay comfortable and tolerate the heat so you can make full use of this fabulous chance to network and meet some amazing members of the community. I suspect many awesome plans will be hatched and alliances strengthened and momentum will become unstoppable.

Make sure you are always at arms reach of refreshments and as for a friend who knows all the best shady spots @rhondak sounds like the best bet, just be sure to avoid crucifix's the pair of you!!!

I hope it proves to be as fabulous as I would envisage it to be. Just be sure to take all the precautions you need to and good care of yourself my friend.

Bon voyage! :)

Well, you'll be hanging with the right person if you hang with me. I can't take the heat either, for the same dang reasons. We will find vampire-friendly activities.

I'll bring the garlic

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75