The monsters are in the making again

in #weather6 years ago

These kinds of images are the monster under the bed for most Caribbean people from June to November. And to be honest, even though I am 8000 km away from it now, I felt goosebumps starting when I saw these first images.

storm.png
NOAA

For people who do not know how to read these images (which is okay) it is the trajectory of how tropical depressions are moving. In this case you can see in the path between Thursday and Friday the letter D which means depressions, and after that a S, which mean storm.

You also have the letter H which means hurricane and the letter M which means you are f&cked because it means major hurricane.





Now the good news:

This storm here is that is projected to dissipate in the weekend due to high pressure in the Caribbean region. In the Leeward islands (North East corner of the Caribbean) there is currently a flume of Sahara dust, which is dust travelling in a high pressure area.

Usually in this season it is either Sahara dust, or storms in the making which dominate the Caribbean weather. Many people complain about the dust because it gets in your car under the good and in your equipment. But still, I will choose Sahara dust any time over a storm ;)





But what it really means...

Is that hurricane season really started. The Pacific is having a super active season already and the Atlantic only had only Alberto as yet, which we are all kind of grateful for.




Vifreepress

Last couple of weeks

I have only been seeing news the last couple of weeks that the Atlantic bassin is still 'too cold' and that that will prevent hurricanes from forming. Yes it does...until it doesnt anymore, and all of a sudden storms are in the making.





And as I say.

I dont live there anymore, but I can make such a vivid vision of for instance my ex-colleages starting to stress out, and people starting to buy the whole supermarket just to be sure.

Hurricanes Irma and Maria left a big scar on the North East Caribbean, and they are not remotely ready to deal with anything that looks like a storm again. So hopefully they will keep their guards up and take a lot of precautions because you never knows what happens.

I wonder how my Caribbean buddies @daudimitch and @blacklux and whoever else are feeling with seeing these images again? We all have our stories about these types of experiences, and I must admit that seeing NOAA's projections do not really make me happy.

Let us all hope it just stays quiet this season for all.






Proud member of the SMG. Do you want to apply as well? Give it a shot on Discord or follow the SMG curation trail

Interested in Passive income? Try Swiftcoin and Mannabase
Sort:  

The struggle is real! Been buying canned food and water to be prepared this hurricane season but the idea of being without water/electricity again is not pretty!

Exactly. My previous idea of storms was always just playing games with a bottle of booze, but that idea changed totally after last year. The no water was the worst I found, Ive never been so smelly in my who life hahahahhaha

Its traumatizing! I used a cloth in my hair all the time until it rain and washed my hair with rain... actually all the neighbors did the same ahahaha

I think I agree with you - I would rather have the dust rather than the storm.
Hopefully it will be mild for a while longer to give your former colleagues time to prepare.

Dust for the win right???

I must admit, when everything is red because of this dust it is also not really nice. But having no electricity for weeks is more of a disaster !

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by karinxxl from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I would be so scared! Hurricane season is brutal !

Hurricanes are NOT cool.

That cat5 last year that I had was enough for the rest of my life. I can honestly say that I am extremely happy that those things are not here in Switzerland!

A lot of places in the world have better weather, nicer nature and other things, but I often am very happy to live in good old Holland where it's safe and nothing terrible ever happens
( * cough 1953.. cough*)

It seems a pretty uncertain way to live with these hurricanes every year :-/

I also remember a hurricane passing Ireland just last year minor detail but thue, Holland is in general very safe for nature stuff!

Also very happy to live in a country now with not too much nature disasters going on, (unless I get an avalanche in my neck next winter hahahah)

Noooooooooooooooooooooooo!

You have your stash ready??

Or even better, a pack to flee as fast as you can?

Bertyl was formed yesterday, hopefully she will die out as soon as she was made!

I am not fan......I get a buggy feeling in my Stomach
Not really looking forward to it, still haven't recovered from Irma as yet and not looking forward to this Hurricane season....

I still get kind of sad when I think about Irma and the days afterwards. Like tears in my eyes way of sad. It has changed so much for all of us.

Honestly I am super happy I wont experience a next one this yea, because the thought of it alone is already enough to not feel too good.

I hope you guys are spared man, and that it stays away

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70391.42
ETH 3572.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74