The Aftermath of Typhoon Mangkhut (Ompong)

in #weather6 years ago

a.jpg

b.jpg

c.jpg

Photos were taken a day after the typhoon.

Damaged crops, fallen trees, landslides, floods, power lines off - these are the aftereffects of the super typhoon that hit our country less than 72 hours ago. It was no surprise how strong this typhoon was, it’s highly anticipated less than a week before it landed here in the Philippines.

The local government of the projected area, where the typhoon will pass through, did all their best to warn the people and evacuated the area in advance. Unfortunately, this typhoon still left some casualties despite all the preparation of the possible tragedy. Landslides killed number of people, which in my opinion due to human negligence not mainly the typhoon. You cannot always blame nature neither blame God when tragic things occur, because we, humans are abusing the nature instead of protecting it. We are guilty of it one way or another. Improper waste disposal slowly damages our beloved home.

A few days before typhoon Mangkhut strikes, I was so worried about my family members and loved ones safety. I was thankful that my father came home early, my older brother was the last one who arrived home. My younger brother went to the other town and fetched my sister-in-law together with my two nieces and nephew. It’s more prone to calamity in their area. I felt a bit at ease with my whole family together in times of disaster.

I can’t help myself, I was so anxious three hours before midnight. I was slightly paranoid too. I wanted to stay up all night, watch the fearful event unfold and do whatever it takes to survive. That’s my plan. I was rattled when heavy winds started to roar. I calmed myself and prayed intently. I fell asleep despite my plan not to sleep, and when I awaken at dawn it seems like the typhoon was not as scary as I thought.

I felt relieved in the morning, we’re safe and sound. That’s all I hope for after the storm.

DQme6oxmec8hHbTxYyZugnKvU4yTtpdhFqPA18RLVy5rMiJ_1680x8400.jpg


SN0W.png

Thank you @saskia for this wonderful banner.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16