Weather Photography / The hunt series - Supercell in Austria, Graz 12.6.2018 What is going on with nature?

in #weatherphotography6 years ago (edited)

Story

As you already know from my previous post, I was going on my first storm hunt. Knowing, what I was getting myself into, I was expected a storm, but not a monster supercell with a little tornado in it. Oh yes, I live in Austria near Graz. Did you ever heard or seen a tornado in Austria? No!
What is happening with the nature...getting crazier every year. So in that purpose, I will follow the storm season all year long and bring you amazing stories, photos and videos.
Let the journey begin.

On the week before the storm, we did get the forecast of weather anomalies. Because, I don't what it so get suck in a storm or something worse,I reached out to Clemens Humeniuk (storm hunter for many years). Safety first.
In the afternoon it was time. We saw some anomalies on the radar and we packed our staff and go. When we arrived on the spot, Clemens immediately said that, this will be a huge storm. He was not wrong.

So here we go. We will start with the BANG with last photo of the storm.
Is she beautiful?

"The peak of the hunt" Fully developed supercell with winds of 100 Km/h. Pack your things and run. So we did.
DSC06328_HDR.jpeg

This is how it all started. It doesn't look like much, but as you saw, this is a massive supercell. At this time, warm wind going into the storm. (25 minutes before the storm)
DSC06295.JPG

You see, the storm in getting bigger and stronger. Still, the warm wind was going into the storm. At this time, we didn't know what is coming just hoping, for a big storm. Then the magic happened. (15 minutes before the storm)
DSC06297.JPG

We see, formations in the storm. It could be a supercell. OMG. My first storm and we will catch a supercell. I was pumped. But as Clemens said, it could change quickly and we must be patient. (10min minutes before the storm)
DSC06311.JPG

OMG OMG OMG. It a SUPERCEL and it is going straight towards us. Time to take photos. We had about 5 min before the storm comes. Those 5 minutes of magic was indescribable. What a play of clouds and lightning. AMAZING.
DSC06319.JPG

The stormcell has picked up the speed and it was dangerous close, so we did have to get ourself into a safe place, waiting, that the storm passes. Then we headed straight home, to view out footage. And what Clemens found on this footage, was truly amazing. 20% of supercells form tornadoes, he was able to capture it on photo. (Photo here https://bit.ly/2LPT8BL )

I was so happy, that we witness, of such nature phenomena. Had a such a good time and made a lot of amazing photo and yes, we did also a time laps. Videos are coming soon...

46B144EA-773C-4557-BC79-EA9C40E00B3C.jpeg

So, what do you think, of the series? Let me know in the comment section.

Cam: Sony a6000
Lens: Sony 16-50mm

All your support, will go for buying a new lens for weather photography, so I could bring you better photos and videos.

🍀Enjoy❤️Upvote❤️Resteem🍀

Sort:  

The photo of the supercell is breathtaking. So much size and weight of water in those clouds. Great work 👍

Thank you very much. Love, that you like it. It was spectacular. You will see it, when we drop the video.EB2E9070-7EEC-4351-BC2F-25EC2F0E4BE3.jpeg

What camera do you use, just out of curiosity? Also, what kind of lens are you looking for?

As you can see, from the post, I'm using a a6000, with a sony 16-50mm lens. I like the lens but it misses sharpness. What I what to buy/use, is a Sony 16-70mm E F4 ZA OSS, or Sony 10-18mm F4 OSS, amazing lenses.

I'm running older Nikon stuff, a D70 and a D60. Generally I run the older 18 - 70mm kit lens or the 70 - 300 lens. I have a few prime lenses, a 35 and a 50. I've even managed to get a few older lenses. I'll keep an eye out for you. If I see some Sony stuff, I'll give you a yell. I've been thinking that the next camera I get will be a mirrorless. I don't like all these moving parts in these DSLR's. Feels like they could break at any time.

I love sony cameras. I had a nikon but the camera is to big :) it good, but to big.
Now better lens for me is E 10-18mm F4 OSS E-mount Lens SEL1018 for strom
hunting, because the lenses are $$$ damm.... : / will come to that too :)
Thank you for your support.

I agree. It's like having a baby hippo around you neck :) I do believe that my next camera will be a mirrorless. I'll have to save up the money though :)

If I see something in our local pawnshops, I'll snatch it up for you. Most of what I find here though is for Canon and Nikon. Still, every once in a great while... :)

Oh, 😍 Thank you so much for all the support you given me 🔥 it means the world to me! I appreciate it so much🤘

Oh WOW that’s incredible heavy cloud formation!!! Your hearts must have been pounding. Judging how long you have between you are the oncoming storm is the key to survival in these situations I guess!!l I am looking forward to seeing more footage and the video you speak of. Upvoted and resteemed! 😍

@sallybeth23 Thank you for the support🔥👊 I appreciate it. ❤️
I couldn't believe that souch monster super cells can appear. But now 😱😱😱😱😱😱
This, I will never forget. The video(timelpas) is amazing, but it needs a little bit of work, did it in raw. photos, so it will look incredible. Need a few days, but as I say
Hard work pays off🔥🔥
98183023-2CA9-49BF-A7A1-606DFB9C2E47.jpeg

Definitely a real monster!!!!

We got the similar forecast for this weekend.. Agien :o
Last two year the weather is unbelievable.
I m working hard on edeting and colorgrading videos, to get then on steemit...but it will be worth, waiting :) for shure!!!

Thank you for your contribution to the Photocircle tag!

Cheers,
@Photocircle Team

Learn about this photo curation project by clicking >here

To learn more about the new project feature, please click on the quest image below.

hey, this post resteemed by @manikchandsk to over 7500 followers and voted. good luck
thanks for using our service.
send 0.300 sbd or steem to @manikchandsk and keep post link in memo that you want resteem + 40 upvote +@manikchandsk 100%upvote.
click for details..https://steemit.com/manikchandsk/@manikchandsk/post-resteem-upvote-service

The last image is superb. What a great job, @marjanko!

Thank you for your support🤗

it's just amazing. wow

Thanks, bro 🍀

Superb shots!!! :)

Thank you very much 🤗🍀 Love, that you like it❤️

You are kindly welcome! :) Yes, I really do :)

It means the world to me. Thank you for the kind words.


Awesome Work!

I've verified that your photography is original, and that means it's so good that I had to check.

Your post has just been upvoted and resteemed by @yourluckyphotos - The nonprofit service that verifies and promotes original photographers on Steem.


Your photography will be featured in Today's Lucky Photos showcase, alongside numerous other photographs. Tag your posts with yourluckyphotos to increase your odds of being featured.


this is crazyyy :D

You got to see it live😱

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63868.85
ETH 3063.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10