Course Review. How To Create A Website With WordPress.

As many of you know I've been plugging away at updating my CSS / HTML / and JavaScript skills, or should I say lack of skills. LOL. The other day I came across a free Udemy course on creating a website using WordPress. I'd been wanting to dive deeper into WordPress. I've used the platform for years for different blogs I've had, and it seemed like another good skill set to add to my web work portfolio. The course was free so I signed up.

I really liked this course. Honestly though, it covered the very basics of using WordPress. For me, I found it a little too basic, but I did learn a couple new things, and I'll probably be incorporating what I learned into themotorcycledude.com shortly.

For anyone just starting out with WordPress, this is a fantastic course that walks you through everything step by step. Downloading the software, setting up hosting, getting the software to work on your server, choosing a theme, and then setting up the blog / website.

The teacher Martie Dread really holds your hand every step of the way and explains everything step by step. I've already set up several WordPress blogs, and although I didn't follow along completely at this point, it seemed pretty accurate. The process of setup is pretty much universal, with slight variations from server to server.

I guess I was expecting more of a theme building course and that definitely wasn't what this course was about. The teacher shows us how to install a new Theme, then spends the rest of the course tweaking that theme. Nothing wrong with that at all and by the end of the course he builds a really nice website out of the theme we used.

Fate would have it, the theme he used and set up was exactly what I had mind when I set up my travel blog on themotorcycledude.com. A project that I'm hoping to get off the ground shortly. Hopefully, I'll start getting some regular content posted up there shortly. I tend to bite off more than I can chew at times. I will definitely be incorporating a theme redesign on that site using this Udemy course. The way he set up the site was pretty darn close to what I had envisioned originally for mine.

On a side note, for a while a lot of people were setting up websites using WordPress. I'm kind of happy to see that trend die out. WordPress can be a bit resource intensive. It seems like a really powerful platform to just host a three page mom and pop style website. However, if you're looking for interactivity, maybe incorporating a shopping cart in the future, and an easy way to add additional content, a WordPress blog could be a perfect solution for you or your client.

If you're new to WordPress or thinking about starting a WordPress blog or website, I think this is a really great starter course. I had to figure all this stuff out on my own when I started out. I wish I would of had this course the first time I set up one of these blogs.

https://www.udemy.com/share/1000hKB0MbclhRRHk=/

Sort:  

Always cool to have a Wordpress on you own!

Posted using Partiko Android

No doubt. I meant to include links to some of the Steemit widgets available too.

https://wordpress.org/plugins/tags/steemit-widget/

Hosting your own blog does come with some advantages on design and layout and incorporating other features like e-commerce.

Congratulations @the-bitcoin-dood! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 700 posts. Your next target is to reach 750 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66361.53
ETH 3253.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.43