Wednesday Walk. 'Artisans in the Gardens' at the Lion Gate Lodge, Sydney Botanical Gardens. Original Photography.

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago (edited)

A bright sunny day
Being in the Sydney Botanical Gardens:
All cares of the world disappear. Perception of light:
Traveling on the wings of a Golden Spring.
And creativity finds another home.
At the Lion Gate Lodge.

~Ally.

ORIGINAL-2492.jpg

Ceramic kalidascope of life.
Artist: Liza Hoelzi.


Wednesday Walk initiated by @tattoodjay is a wonderful way to see those hidden gems in your 'ordinary' environment, and experience those unexpected magical moments when you can truly delight in your world. ~Ally.

Last week I took you for a walk through the Sydney Botanical Gardens on my way to see the annual exhibition: Artisans in the Gardens being held at the Lion Gate Lodge in the Gardens.

On my #WednesdayWalk this week I'd like to share some of the fabulous art and craft pieces that were in this exhibition.

Artisans in the Gardens Exhibition.

Artisans in the Gardens is a Spring Celebration of our Natural World and traditionally showcases some of Australia’s finest established and emerging artists and craftspeople who are inspired by nature and who also endeavor to highlight current environmental issues through their work.

This was the 18th Artisans in the Gardens exhibition and brought together a wonderfully eclectic array of pieces in sculpture and mixed media, ceramics and glass, iron and wood, textiles and jewelry.

All items in the exhibition were for sale with proceeds going to the exhibiting artists as well as assisting the Foundation and Friends of the Botanic Gardens to continue supporting cultural and recreational, scientific and educational, conservational and horticultural programs within the Gardens. Source:

Original.BEST.cr-2417.jpg

Entrance at the Sydney Botanical Gardens.


The Lion Gate Lodge.

The Lion Gate Lodge is a heritage listed cottage that was built in 1878 as a residence for the Head Gardener of the Sydney Botanical Gardens.

During the day the lion and lioness bronze statues that stand guard at the gates are silently passive and loved by children and adults alike. But no-one would dare attempt to scale their gates when they are closed at night.

ORIGINAL.gates-2486.jpg

Welcome to the Lion Gate Lodge.


The Garden Enclosure.

The garden enclosure to the right of the Lion Gate Lodge is landscaped in a cottage garden style. The fashion for such cottage style gardens was started by mid-Victorian painters who romanticized the idea of cottage life with gardens that were continually in flower throughout the year.

All the cottage gardens surrounding the Lodge have been adapted to the type of plants that will grow well in Sydney's climate. So you will find harmonious combinations of indigenous and non-indigenous flowers and trees here.

Just inside the entrance: A stunning cascade of Peach Angel Trumpets providing a heavenly backdrop for this ceramic work by Kay Runcie.

Original.-2488.jpg

Eucalyptus Gumnuts.
Artist: Kay Runcie.


Garden Accessories.

Jane du Rand is a well established domestic and commercial ceramic and mosaic artist. Her two garden pots on either side of the steps in the middle of the far end of the garden enclosure were so beautifully decorated with mosaics and molded butterflies and plants, banksias and birds.

Original.twobowls-2508.jpg

Butterflies and plants: Banksias and birds.
Artist: Jane du Rand.


Original.-2504.jpg

Butterflies and plants: Ceramic bowl.
Artist: Jane du Rand.


Original.-2505.jpg

Banksias and birds: Ceramic bowl.
Artist: Jane du Rand.


Original.-2506.jpg

Detail of Banksias and birds: Ceramic bowl.
Artist: Jane du Rand.


My favourite outdoor piece was a ceramic 'stone' by Kay Runcie. It was designed to be a garden feature and nestled into the earth beautifully: As if it had always been there. Measuring about 30 cms in diameter, the 'stone' was adorned with imprints of mottled moths and leaves ~ Reminiscent of ancient fossils in rocks.

Original.KayRuncie-2511.jpg

Detail on Ceramic stone.
Artist: Kay Runcie.


Looking back over the enclosure towards the Angel Trumpet trees and the Eucalyptus Gumnuts by Kay Runcie.

Can you see the pots and white chickens in the yard?

Original.-2513.jpg

Eucalyptus Gumnuts.
Artist: Kay Runcie.


Walking into the courtyard.

It was quite late in the afternoon by the time I arrived at the actual Lodge and I soon realized that the exhibition was about to close.

As my focus became the artworks rather than the actual Victorian sandstone building, I can't include any of my own photographs of the Lodge with its own little cottage garden. However, you can see some wonderful cover images on the Royal Botanic Gardens Sydney website.

The old mottled walls of the courtyard made a perfect neutral backdrop for this group of brightly coloured ceramic pieces by Liza Hoelzi.

ORIGINAL-2491.jpg

Ceramic kalidascope of life.
Artist: Liza Hoelzi.


ORIGINAL-2490-2.jpg

Detail of Kalidascope of life.
Artist: Liza Hoelzi.


Original.-2493.jpg

Detail of Kalidascope of life.
Artist: Liza Hoelzi.


A wooden fence served as a natural and rather bland background for this fascinating stone piece by Michael Ferris.

Original.MICHAEL FERRIS-2495.jpg

Spiraling Stones.
Artist: Michael Ferris.


These funky and very colourful rainbow parrots by J. Maxwell, balanced on sticks in the garden of the courtyard just outside the entrance of the Lodge.

Original.J.Maxwell?-2498.jpg

Parrot Paradise.
Artist: J.Maxwell.


ORIGINAL-2497.jpg

Jubulation.
Artist: J.Maxwell.


The Indoor Exhibition.

The moment I stepped into the main room of the Lodge, I was caught in the midst of quite a frenzy, with one of the large but very delicate sculptures being moved by the curator and several assistants. I was told very politely that the area needed to be closed off, and I couldn't stay. But I argued my case for staying, promising that I'd stay clear of their work.

Although I loved the out-of-door pieces, it was some of these beautiful indoor pieces that made my heart REALLY sing.

These ceramic pieces by Jane du Rand were the first artworks that called out to me to come even closer.

Original.JaneDuRand-2499.jpg

Lorikeets: Ceramic sculpture in glass cloche.
Artist: Jane du Rand.


Original.JaneDuR.EucalyptusandLoriqueets-2500.jpg

Detail of Lorikeets: Ceramic sculpture in glass cloche.
Artist: Jane du Rand.


This installation by Sally Blake with its copper spirals and woven baskets, and a variety of sea life forms was simply awe-inspiring, to this mixed media artist, now aspiring to work with wire structures with my paper mache models.

Original.SallyBlake-2501-2.jpg

Sea Life.
Artist: Sally Blake.


The delicate joins of this copper wire piece by Sally Blake were subtle yet played a big part in the beauty of the piece.

Original.SallyBlake.4x3-2501.jpg

Detail of Sea Life.
Artist: Sally Blake.


Leaving the best until last.

I was totally enchanted by this collection of hanging small boats by Elise Cameron-Smith. I was particularly attracted to this work because of the organic and geometrical double shadows they were casting against the corner walls.

Elise Cameron-Smith dances between the title of sculptress, miniature boat builder and furniture maker. Her 'whimsical treasures' are created in wood with streamlined sails bound and stitched into place.

Although Elise only started out as an artist and maker a few years ago, she has already been featured in Frankie, Donna Hay, Yen, Home Beautiful, The Captain & Real Living Magazine, and has sold her wares in galleries and shops not only across Australia but as far afield as Brazil, The Bahamas, Singapore & America. Source: Elise Cameron-Smith:

Original.A-2502.jpg

A fleet of 13 ships.
Artist: Elise Cameron Smith.


I have a feeling that you'll really enjoy watching this video of Elise Cameron-Smith's semi-gypsy lifestyle and craftwork. I certainly did.


Of disappointment and vows.

There are five rooms altogether in the Lion Gate Lodge and unfortunately, I only had enough time to hastily capture the artworks in the main downstairs room.

I've seen other exhibitions at this venue, and so I had an inkling of how many works I was not able to see. A tad disappointed, I've vowed to come back again next year. And not be side-tracked along the way. Although that will always be somewhat of a challenge for me.

The Calyx.

I still have more to share about The Calyx and the current plant exhibition there: Plants with Bite.

1000.-2478.jpg

Always remember to smile and look up at what you have in life. ~Marilyn Monroe.


Sculpture by the Sea.

However before we return to The Calyx, I wish to take you along the 2 kilometre pathway that follows the spectacular high cliffs of Bondi Beach to Tamarama Bay, to see some of the 107 sculptures in this year's Sculpture by the Sea, Bondi.

'Land-Place-Site' Wendy Teakel.jpg

Land: Place: Site by Wendy Teakel.
Photograph by Noel Mclaughlin.


My Wednesday Walks.


Photography: ©Alison Lee Cousland.
SONY Mark2 A7: 35 mm:

Creative Commons License
All photographs by Alison Lee Cousland in this article are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License

Terms of CC BY-SA.

  • This ShareAlike license will allow you to reproduce and/or manipulate this image even for your commercial purposes.

  • You are required to attribute me, Alison Lee Cousland as the designer/artist.

  • You also need to be willing to license any of your new creations that make use of this image, under the identical terms IE allow others to reproduce and/or build their own art upon your art, as well as granting their right to commercial usage.



T H A N K ✽ Y O U ✽ F O R ✽ Y O U R ✽ V I S I T1 copy.png

Sort:  

Congratz, your post has been resteemed, upvoted and… featured in The Daily Spotlights of November 2 2018! Check it out to see who nominated you…

I love the parrots and the Jubilation ! and the ceramics are so joyfuly colorful ! ^_^ What an awesome and beautiful walk with you my dear lvfi20x4gc.png

Very nice coverage of the exhibition, I enjoyed looking at all the different art that people had done. The Plants with Bite caught my eye. I always liked these types of plants when I was a child. I kind of feed mine a bit too much hamburger though and it molded. (This was before the ability to easily look up plant care instructions but I suppose one should know better, lol)

wow, it's really a beautiful gardens, full of beautiful artworks!!! I love especially the first one, the Ceramic kalidascope, I'd like to have smething similar in my backyard, wow!

It's easy to imagine your wonderful drawings being translated into ceramics similar to these Silvia. They would make wonderful features in your backyard. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

CERAMICS.MAGICAL MOMENTS.png

Perfect walk, my dear Alyson. These ceramic pieces are stunningly beautiful! Thanks for sharing! I'm nominating this post for the #dailyspotlights, by @pixresteemer!

Delighted that you could come on this walk with me Isabel. I particularly liked this ceramic piece with the feeding parrots. Love the soft green. Oh. to be a millionairess and be able to support some of these fantastic artists.

Thanks so much for the nomination to @pixresteemer for #dailyspotlights too. Love seeing my work on the #dailyspotlights. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

MAGICAL MOMENTSceramic.png

It was my pleasure, my dear Alyson! I'm so glad you are back!

Great to be back too Isabel ~ Not as much as I'd like to be as I'm actually starting to create some new work. I hope to share the beginnings of it soon. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

Can't wait, sweetie! Keep it up!

Will do Isabel. I hope you have a lovely week-end. I'll be working in the bush tomorrow. Looking forward to it at it won't be too hot. I've formulated my own tic repellent with Neem oil + lavender + eucalyptus + citrus oils. 💖

Well done, Alyson! Here we are facing winter! I hope you are wonderful!

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable Mentions list in our daily Travel Digest. Please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting the Travel Digest if you like what we're doing.

Loading...

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=allyinspirit
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=wednesday-walk-artisans-in-the-gardens-at-the-lion-gate-lodge-sydney-botanical-gardens-original-photography


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Another fabulous blog @allyinspirit. Sydney has more than it's fair share of talented artists and sculpters don't they? I love those large ceramics with the mosaics and creative decorations. The Angel trumpet flowers are looking glorious. I think they are amazing flowers.

If I am going to Sydney for whatever reason, I will definitely put the Royal Sydney Botanic gardens on my list of places to visit. Thank you for sharing these great images and providing us with great info. (U & R )

I realised I missed this last week.... How could I?!!!
I'm so glad I came back and found it... Such amazing pieces and displays!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63671.94
ETH 3040.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01