Wednesday Walk Construction Edition

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago

Wednesday Walk Construction Edition

This is in response to a Challenge by @tattoodjay to take photographs of things on a walk. Things you don’t normally see. I really like the challenge and the challenger so here I am again.

I've been a couple weeks without a Wednesday Walk. My walking buddy had a nasty ear infection and just wasn't able to go so I mostly stayed in too. Sam is better to the point of being just fine so we've been back at it.

38th street z.JPG
38th Street. A main cross street in my neighborhood.

There is an ongoing construction project going on in my neighborhood that Sam and I walk through every day, and really have been for months. It's a storm water project. Go ahead and laugh, Yuma is historically one of the driest places in the US. But just like Morton Brand Salt, when it rains it pours, particularly in the Summer Monsoon Season.

Intersection x.JPG
38th Street and Hunter Ave. Major intersection.

They built a retention basin a couple of years ago. It was a neighborhood joke, this massive basin that water just didn't drain into all that well. Now we know the rest of the story. The county is putting a delivery system in for it that covers a huge area.

Pipe Detail x.JPG

This is right in the middle of 38th street, my only access in or out. They have made it so I can get in and out. Only one way at any given time, but I can always get in and out. I told you it's a big project, with big pipe.

Dirt Detail x.JPG

One good thing about it, Sam and I have taken lots of different routes to get to the desert recently. We pick our way through street closures and around big equipment, but we've gotten through every time.

Front Porch x.JPG

This is the view right off my front porch. I don't think my little street is going to be part of the storm water project, but the gas company has taken advantage of the road construction to upgrade all their main lines and house connections in the area. These guys are installing new main line right up the street.

My Yard x.JPG

This is the corner of my yard, and inside that caution tape is where my new gas line connection will be. They installed the new feed line a couple of days ago and will install this section of main line today.

Yard Wide x.JPG

Fact of the matter is, I need to finish this up so that I can make breakfast (and some rice for lunch time that I can microwave) before 0630 when I am scheduled for disconnect and re connection. They will provide bottled gas right at the meter so I won't have to relight the pilot lights. But I darn sure will be done cooking for the day by then!

This is the end of this #Wednesday Walk. I'll fix some breakfast for me and Sam and I will head out for our walk just after the sun is up. A little dirt and inconvenience can't stop us.

All Words and Photographs in this post are mine, for better or worse.

You want some really cool stuff? Check these authors, they will not disappoint.

@broncofan99 Sports Teaching Fishing BBQ. Not necessarily in that order.

@morkrock Music Games Stinging Politics. Don't go here with thin skin.

@princessmewmew Food Antiques Food Life Food Cats. Anything of beauty could show up here.

@soyrosa Great Photographs and Insights for us All

@enchantedspirit Astrology and much more. Detailed analysis and more with grace and humor.

The STEEM Engine

Sort:  

Glad tp hear Sam is feeling better and able to get out and about, Thats a lot of construction going on I guess its kind of good the two projects are ongoing at the same time so you have to deal with the chaos only for one period not twice for different projects

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :)

I'm just not sure the dynamic of the agreement, but combining the two projects is a really good idea. That street (38th) had been badly deteriorating for the last several years and the county put $0 in maintenance. I was pretty angry about it, but now see there was a master plan. For a change :)

It’s nice when the county has a master plan that makes sense often that doesn’t seem to be the case 😂

Just letting you know, you have a somewhat time-critical message waiting in your wallet. Please read it ASAP and follow the instructions ... again ... ASAP. Thanks.

Done. And thank you for the consideration. I really appreciate it!

nothing like having your front yard and street torn up...wow Kind of like a beehive right? Hopefully they'll be done before monsoon season starts. They're busy replacing power lines around us - old standard wooden poles for huge concrete beasts, now we just hope they'll with-stand hurricanes and tropical storms. At least Sam is better and you're able to get out and about! Happy Wednesday walk @bigtom13 :)

They don't have a prayer of finishing prior to the monsoon season. Officially starts June 15. For us, the monsoon means a serious possibility of thunder storms. Big thunderstorms. I'm guessing they are counting on the fact that no area gets storms every year. We will see how that works out for them :)

That is awesome that the two departments are actually coordinating to get the work done at the same time while it is all tore up. These days you don't see that very often. They would rather dig the area up twice to get it done!

Yeah. Normally it would take two separate projects. All our utilities are underground so there's really a lot of stuff under the streets to look out for. So far, so good as far as losing services.

Another interesting walk, even though (or thanks to?) it was so close to your home :-) Hope Sam gets well ASAP!

I am not sure why I haven't taken the Nikon out to chronicle this project. Sam on lead and the Nikon just do not work at all well so these are all phone photos.

Maybe I just don't want to remember this project so haven't taken the Nikon out :)

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by bigtom13 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 473

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61275.32
ETH 2983.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76