WednesdayWalk | Friends or Foe?

IMG_3289.JPG

My Wednesday walk started in the morning and ended in the evening as I wanted to share nature which I encounter during the day on my walks.


todaysjourneyreg.jpg

It all began on my back lanai.


As I finished my morning tea and decided to head out for a walk I encountered my first friend from nature. Something moved....as I looked to the right, there it was!


The Brown Anole Lizard

IMG_3289.JPG


These little guys are so skittish. We see lizards everywhere in Southern Florida and we assume they’re all native to the area. Not this little guy! He is native to Cuba and has been introduced by being sold through pet stores. They reproduce quickly! They are highly invasive and have forced the native Carolina Anole to the tops of trees! They have an orange dewlap under the chin which they inflate to attract the females.


As we traveled down the sidewalk on this sunny warm day, something bright green flashed to my left. I spied another creature.


The Cuban Knight Anole

IMG_8387.JPG


This fellow is the largest of the Anoles, also native to Cuba and is often confused with the Green Iguana. Introduced to the Southern Florida and again this Anole is a highly invasive species. They do not tolerate cold temperatures and are known to fall from the trees during freezing weather! This Anole is fiercely territorial and will eat anything smaller than itself. He didn’t seem to be fierce with us around, just scurried up the tree!


IMG_8403 (2).JPG

By the time we arrived back home we found we had several visitors in our yard!

The American White Ibis

ibis4.jpg


These birds are found from Virginia down to the Gulf of Mexico but are most commonly found in Florida. Look at those long curved orange bills! Aren’t they cute?


ibis2.jpg

Ibis love to eat insects, small fish and crayfish and I often find them actively pursuing insects late each day in my yard. Scientists have found the adults spend around 10 hours per day eating. They’re very shy, so I’m not able to get too close

ibis3.jpg

Late this day Mr. Bird called me outside to see our last visitor of the day!

The Cuban Tree Frog


DSC_0001 (3).jpg


This little guy moves fast, in fact I was only able to get one shot before he jumped away. The Cuban Tree frog is a stealthy creature which is also an invasive species. This tree frog is native to the Caribbean and is the largest tree frog of North America. It is a nocturnal creature who is known to eat anything that will fit into its mouth! They mate year round, highly reproductive!


They secrete toxic mucus which will burn the eyes and is highly dangerous to small pets. We have friends who have had to rush their dogs to the vet because they have touched these tree frogs.


I guess cute little visitors aren’t always as cute as they look! We have learned to be very careful when we encounter wildlife both large and small.


Thanks for joining me on my Wednesday Walk sponsored by @tatoodjay! Thank you @tatoodjay! His daily walks are contagious! One step at a time toward living a healthier life!

Thanks for stopping by!!
And as always, blessings to you all!

loveyourself.jpg

steemusa1.png

SS-pansies-EN-edged.jpg

echotrain.jpg

Sort:  

good last shot of the day! i can hear mr bird calling you out to see him ;) (as he's called me out before too!) you've got such wonderful diversity. crazy that the pet store animals are taking over the native fauna! a part of your tropical climate i suppose. still the diversity is astounding, i only hope the introduced species don't crowd out the locals.

Yes, we do have diversity that is for sure. The key is to find out how to protect the natives. Unfortunately the invasive wildlife continue to grow in strength between the pythons, frogs and lizards the small native wildlife are in trouble. It is really important to stop the import of non natives. :) ox

What cool things you saw on your walk, so many cool creatures :)

thanks for joining Wednesday walk tip!

Thank you @tatoodjay! It is fun. I never know what I will see (or what I am not seeing? lol)

Hi @birdsinparadise! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

Check out @tattoodjay blog here and follow if you like the content :)

@tipU voting service | For investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63594.33
ETH 3039.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10