Wednesday Walk to Dog Marsh

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago (edited)

018(5).JPG

HOQUIAM, Wash.

I took a walk out to Dog Marsh, on the Grays Harbor bay between Eighth and K streets in Hoquiam, for @tattoodjay’s #wednesdaywalk challenge.

Wednesday Walk is a Steem Basic Income challenge and giveaway. Participants are encouraged to walk a short distance from their home or work and then write a post with photos of the walk for a chance to earn shares in the SBI program.

Thankfully, @tattoodjay doesn’t require that the walk happen on a Wednesday. I had time Tuesday after work for my walk.

This first shot is of Karr’s Hill, taken from right outside my apartment building on the corner of Jefferson Street and Karr Avenue. The hill (as well as the street) is named after James Karr, one of the first white dudes to settle in the area that became Hoquiam.

004(1).jpg

It’s a 12-block walk from my place out to Dog Marsh. About three-quarters of the way there, along K Street, I stopped for this view of my favorite hill.

006(1).jpg

My favorite is the hill in the center of the photo. It’s usually one of the first things I look at out of my apartment window when I wake up in the morning. I haven’t uncovered a name for it yet.

The hill to the right is Beacon Hill, formerly Campbell’s Hill. Ed Campbell came to the area around the same time as Karr and chose the name Hoquiam for the early settlement when he set up the first post office.

The name is derived from the Native American word for the river that runs through town. It means “hungry for wood.” They called the river that because of the driftwood that gathered at its mouth, which forms the eastern boundary of what is now Dog Marsh.

A little farther along K Street, I stopped for a pic of these houses. Hoquiam has quite a few homes painted in bright, somewhat offbeat colors like these.

014(1).JPG

After the last residential block, I crossed the tracks of the Puget Sound and Pacific Railroad and entered Dog Marsh. I saw the lady and her dog featured in the headline photo right away. I was bound to see someone walking their dog at that time of day: Columnist Kristine Lowder called the site Dog Marsh in a 2018 article because of the marshy ground and its popularity with local dog owners.

021.JPG

This no-littering sign has been tacked to that telephone pole since I started walking out there five summers ago. Someone maintains it with a fresh coat of paint on occasion, though it looks like it’s been awhile.

031.JPG

People follow the rule almost perfectly.

I set my 10-inch tripod on the gravel path to get this shot of the clouds.

035.JPG

After that my camera battery started dying, so I had to keep turning the camera off to let it recharge a little. I used some of the downtime to jump over the drainage ditch beside the railroad tracks and venture out onto the trestle on the Hoquiam River. This shot shows the eastern edge of Dog Marsh and the mouth of the river where it enters the bay.

041(2).jpg

While I was on the trestle, a boat motored past on its way out of the river. I expected it to turn right into the bay, but instead it turned left and headed up the Chehalis River, which runs through the neighboring city of Aberdeen.

045(1).JPG

My camera battery was pretty much dead at that point. I put the camera away and just enjoyed the walk for awhile. I managed to get one final shot, near the western edge of Dog Marsh looking east toward the Port of Grays Harbor terminals.

046(2).jpg

As you can see, there’s still plenty of driftwood in Hoquiam.

Sort:  

great pics there! I'm slowly learning it's my first week on steemit. I've been posting photos myself all week there is some really top notch content on here and I'm learning as I go. Thanks for posting!

Welcome. @photocircle is a good community to get in touch with. Keep at it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for the advice I'll start using them. Any information I can get like that is helpful

Thanks for sharing with us this beautiful area, its good to hear people follow that sign even if it does need a touch up

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :)

Air looks warm. And some particulates in the air making it a bit smoggy ? But wonderful view of the hills and the little tower.

Posted using Partiko Android

Maybe it's pollen? Not sure. And I have no idea what that tower is! Definitely something to find out one of these days. Thanks for taking a look.

Posted using Partiko Android

It looks like a very nice place to visit... thanks for sharing the photos with us on Steem!

Awesome place. Thanks for checking out my post.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi cliffagreen,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

So cool! Thank you. :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow that's a cool place to live around. What's a dog marsh? Is this place related to dogs or just the name?

Congrats on your curie, really nice pictures, calm and serene.

It's called that because the ground is marshlike and everyone walks their dogs there. It's basically Hoquiam's dog park.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh thanks for explaining it in the least words but 100% effective use of words :) ;p

Congratulations @cliffagreen! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hey there @cliffagreen!

I can relate on having the walk not solely dedicated to Wednesday! Hahaha.

Anyway, I did had a lovely walk with you today. I had enjoyed all the sights and blocks you went through. And I agree that hill is just beautiful.

Thanks for the walk. Congrats on your curie love. Cheers! ❤

Posted using Partiko Android

So glad you enjoyed the walk. :)

Posted using Partiko Android

We all need the walk once in awhile..

Posted using Partiko Android

Certainly a great area to go for a walk and enjoy the outdoors. Great photographs to go along with the story and I really enjoyed it.

That looks like a wonderful, quiet place to me. The beach is very inviting, I would love to take a walk on that rout every day of the week, no exception and I believe the weather could not stop me, no matter how bad it would be. I would take my rain coat and rubber boots and would take the walk. Wonderful photos, well done @cliffagreen!

Some days you would need a raincoat, especially in our winters. It's still beautiful when it rains too. Glad you enjoyed it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Raincoat is fine, not a problem, it worth it so you can enjoy the beauty of nature.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70734.57
ETH 3561.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75