A Quick Wednesday Walk Around Mom's House

in #wednesdaywalk6 years ago (edited)

My husband had to drop a small desk off at my mom’s house so I thought I would do a quick walk around the property and take some photos to share. It had been sprinkling a little earlier so everything was still wet. I didn’t mind so much because I think it brings the colors out a little more sometimes. I posted a photo of this fountain before and, yes, I’m posting another one. I just really like the placement under the tree. This is the second time that I noticed that no water was in it. My one sister who lives there usually puts some in but just got out of the hospital the day before. She is the one that survived stage 4 breast cancer and just got reconstructive surgery. She is pretty strong to go through everything she has these last few years and I’m thankful she is still with us!

0t6xq4xpfg.jpg

This photo was taken along the side of the house. My mom always had ice plants and these were transplanted here from the back of the house. I still have the ones my mom gave me years ago. Sorry the butterfly one is a little blurry but that little butterfly just kept fluttering around too much.

0uddg257e5.jpg

These next photos are ones I’ve never shown before (I think). I will show the photos of these from the inside another time. Some of the old houses in certain parts of Maryland have stained glass windows and these are original to the house. The first two are on the side of the house. I’ve always loved these and they remind me of a fish and a lion. The long one is from over top the front door. There used to be side panels along the sides of the door but one was broken many years ago by a paper boy and the other was broken when someone tried to remove it from the house. That is my nice way of saying someone tried to steal it. Sad but true. When a neighbor passed away, the windows there were removed practically overnight.

sp6w28og6b.jpg

tz24ic9f44.jpg

On to the back of the house. I noticed these over top the basement stairs. Evidently, someone pulled some vines down and the vines had left these little designs. I thought it was pretty cool looking so, naturally, I took a couple of photos.

xwkdqi6et0.jpg

This is a Rose of Sharon tree that is in the backyard. My mom planted this one and there is another one in the front of the house as well.

hxwiqyjclh.jpg

It had lots of blooms still!

e3qoja2hz0.jpg

My sister who lives there and another one that doesn’t planted a small vegetable garden. It brought back a lot of memories as my mother always had a nice vegetable garden when we were growing up. They also had a cantaloupe plant that had a very nice cantaloupe on it but a deer thought it was very nice also and ate it before they picked it. They were just going to give it one more day on the vine..lol! Isn’t that always the way! Anyway, still plenty of tomatoes to pick and enjoy.

li5zvsctf0.jpg

My sisters also transplanted some wild Morning Glories along the fence and around the stair posts on the back porch. They have a very pretty flower!

80xp8akoc0.jpg

lq76nunarh.jpg

Along the other side of the house, I noticed that the transplanted Hostas were coming along and growing nicely. Needs to be weeded but we’ve had so much rain here that it is hard to keep up on it. I know my own garden is currently a weedy mess right now. I worked on it a while back but it looks just as bad now if not worse. I’m not able to work on it but my husband says he will get to it. Hard to tell if that will happen any time soon as the short times it hasn’t rained, it has been very hot.

oharodu6fl.jpg

Back to the front of the house, I took this photo from the front porch and shows the front walk way. My sisters did a fantastic job on reigning in the borders and I think it looks quite nice!

vlaaah04xp.jpg

This is the other Rose of Sharon tree that my mother planted years ago in the front of the house.

p373m3vn8x.jpg

I was surprised to see that it still had lots of buds on it and I suspect it will still be blooming for a few more weeks.

5magn2m7p2.jpg

I saved this photo as my last shot and I’m dedicating it to my mom! I think she would have loved it as do I! ❤

ia9ly3md4x.jpg

Thank you @tattoodjay for #wednesdaywalk!! This is Jay’s Wednesday Walk post here!

86ea2dyu0d.png

10t0fnrxjj.png

anonyvoterlogo.JPG

Sort:  

Nice garden, love the painted glass and hibiscus flowers.

Thank you @solominer!!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Such a beautiful garden. I bet it was a pleasant walk, @deerjay. 🙂

Thanks @roxy-cat!! It was short but nice!

Your mum has a beautiful house and garden, Love those windows they are so cool, as are the vine remains patterns

Sending positive thoughts pand prayers ot your sister

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk tip!

Thanks so much @tattoodjay!! Positive thoughts and prayers are always welcome! ❤

Hi @deerjay! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

Check out @tattoodjay blog here and follow if you like the content :)

@tipU voting service | For investors.

Hope you enjoyed yourself! Cute little 🐦 bath.

Posted using Partiko Android

thanks for the comment

Someone tried to steal the window? HolyMoly! While your mom lived in the house? They are beautuful, but jeeze! I love your last picture very much!

My dad was also still alive when that happened. I didn't write about it but the next place I lived had a gorgeous one in the front of the house that was taken. I was living on the third floor at the time and the owner was not home. I think I may have a photo somewhere of that one also.

,
Never ever have I heard about people stealing parts of a house! That is absolutely crazy. I mean how much can those windows be worth hundreds? not thousands, right? And who buys the stolen merchandise? That is just bizarre!

It isn't as prevalent as copper theft and most is done by drug addicts. This is in Baltimore City where I lived most of my life. They sell them to antique shops or anyone willing to buy them for cheap. Here are a couple links that mention that kind of theft here. https://www.deseretnews.com/article/860360/Stained-glass-unsacred-to-thieves.html and http://www.oldhouseweb.com/blog/architectural-theft/.

It is scary and down right dusgusting!

I absolutely agree Melinda! I believe most of it if not all stems from the heroin addiction which is a serious problem in many places here and especially Baltimore City. I'm sure some is also just people stealing for the money. It is hard and sad to see some of the things happening to the area I grew up in and around.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71