A Snake, Some Tears , A Turtle Ghost and More!

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago (edited)

Welcome to my Wednesday Walk! I hope you're ready cause this is gonna be another big one! Grab a cup of coffee and get comfy! My photos are from my walk along the South (White Trail) of the Gunpowder Falls State Park in the Hereford Area of Monkton, Maryland. Monkton is also part of Baltimore County.

2zslrvlkii.jpg

My walk started off easy enough and some of the views on this trail are just beautiful. This is the entrance to the trail and a couple of shots from the immediate area.

i4zjth36co.jpg

rp3delchdi.jpg

nqu767eud3.jpg

I only made one other short post about this trip and I'll still have a few photos left for another one besides this one. This is the trail that has the I-83 bridge above it.

6l6s0dkwtu.jpg

n5kwq03w5p.jpg

It was noisy under the bridge but the noise dissipated very quickly after we crossed under it. We (husband and I) walked over this little bridge and I took a couple more shots of the water before we started up what seemed like a slight hill.

swpxu1cr3t.jpg

8xi3y6fz97.jpg

ydimidlz1m.jpg

I stopped just a little ways up the hill to take a photo of some baby trees that were growing along side of a tree.

e0eqbe84sm.jpg

This is a photo from the top of the hill. I know! It doesn't look so high and it didn't feel so high either (at this point).

odm1lbunru.jpg

The trail on the hill was winding so it was easy to not feel exactly how high it was becoming and the winding made the walk easy also.

6knnbmp8hr.jpg

I am glad we weren't around when this one came down! Actually, I don't want to be around when any of them come down!

z9hhw2819e.jpg

Here is another tree that looks like it fell a long time ago. I thought it looked interesting how the wood was breaking down.

906lf05fom.jpg

The trail up on the hill was nice for the most part and we only had to navigate around and over a few fallen trees along the way.

9v7d34pcc2.jpg

5pa6y7jami.jpg

yf1ivkhn5a.jpg

I should mention that my walk is from this Spring so it was a very nice day and everything was turning green and blossoming.

n9lo7harh9.jpg

dku8rm2upr.jpg

1apmp3abb3.jpg

kp8hpdn3e5.jpg

Right about here is where the trail took a downward turn. Looked fairly easy and it was, just had to be careful not to slip on the loose stone.

23bstepb91.jpg

This spot here was pretty cool to walk through!

acxh8txklm.jpg

This spot was also interesting because it is where I almost stepped on a snake! It startled me but didn't scare me as I knew it was just a very big garter snake. At least, I was pretty sure it was just a garter snake.

dar32esnls.jpg

3okmny235x.jpg

Snakes in general don't scare me but I'm also not a huge fan. Made for a nice photo op though and it was a short stop from getting down to the water again.

gyl120k8fq.jpg

1x5jepvhfm.jpg

Now, I know there must be other ways into this area because we came across an area where there use to be a bridge to the other side, a man fishing and a couple of areas where groups of people can gather.

2mzhguhcse.jpg

lkuks7i50k.jpg

tjq8togvfm.jpg

Oh well! Was worth the trip in regardless! We saw a trail leading back along the water so decided to take the lower trail back and of course that made for more beautiful views of the water as well.

v3e1qsosh0.jpg

m2yliy8ayz.jpg

1ptgyw1vg1.jpg

We even came across a few mushrooms along the way!

lnsxpn19x4.jpg

The lower trail was starting to get a bit sketchy at this point and we found ourselves trying to pick it up after it abruptly ended in spots and in one particular spot among the brambles I came across this poor little turtle that had passed away. It was so odd seeing his ghostly white shell. Maybe it was a bad omen!

usdwzixow1.jpg

You see what we didn't know at the time is that most of the lower trail had been washed out by all the rains we had last year. There was nothing we could do except try to get up to the higher trail. Goodbye water and hello hill!

kh5soo00cu.jpg

ku22xaueia.jpg

Going up the hill was a lot harder without a trail...yep...no trail! trying to go up a hill and sideways at times about killed me. I'm not joking either. I was in a lot of pain now and was having pains in my chest which was probably a panic attack. I had no idea how far off the actual trail was so I sat down on a fallen tree while my husband scouted ahead. I sat and had so many thoughts going through my head. We should've just back tracked and taken the way out that we came in but oh no that would've been the smarter thing to do. Yeah so this is where the tears came in because I literally felt like I was going to have a heart attack and could barely walk. My husband came back and he found that we weren't far from picking up the high trail. This was the last photo that I took before he returned. I remember thinking that if this was the last scenery that I saw before dropping dead then it wasn't so bad and felt almost serene. I also wasn't planning on making the local news so I rested a few minutes more, put the camera away and pulled myself together to get up to that trail and back to the truck.

pl4bjto1q7.jpg

It took me a long time to recover from this one folks and I still don't feel like I've fully recovered. Would I do it again? If you asked me that for a few weeks after then I would say no way! Now I can say that I would try it again! Knowing that there was no longer a lower trail would've helped and I know that there are other ways in so we'll be looking that up for, hopefully, a Fall trip back. I think the views were totally worth it as was the snake, some tears and the turtle ghost!

taie7xbrwa.jpg

Thank you @tattoodjay for #wednesdaywalk!!

86ea2dyu0d.png

10t0fnrxjj.png

anonyvoterlogo.JPG

Sort:  

Wow, Dee. That was quite a hike. I’m glad you are okay. 💕 You got great photos. Beautiful scenery. The poor turtle. I wonder what happened to it.
I kept watching each photo expecting to see the snake. And when I did I tried to remain calm as I have such a phobia about them. Eeeeek! 😊

Thank you Jo!! I know..I felt bad for the turtle and hope he didn't suffer. If it was a black snake then I really would've been scared. They can get pretty big and will strike out. Most garter snakes just want to get away. I think I figured out why my husband always lets me lead the way..lol! JK..he doesn't want to get in the way of my photo taking and lets me choose the pace. I do tend to walk into a lot of spider webs though! 🤔 😏

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

🎁 Hi @deerjay! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Wednesday Walk In Chincoteague Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you @esteemapp!! 💖

Wow, you have such an adventure, if I may called it as such. I am glad all was OK in the end. The area you show is stunning. The snake would scare me if I came across it. :-)

Thank you Neli! It was quite the adventure. The snake had nice coloring and I'm just glad I didn't step on it. :)

What a breathtakingly beautiful area for a walk, so green and vibrant, that is cool witht he detail of the breaking down of that fallen tree, and lets hope that was a garter snake :)

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :)

Thank you @tattoodjay!! 🐍 😉

Most welcome :)

What a beautiful composition of nature photos i could smell that fresh forest air through my computer screen just beautiful i really enjoyed that walk with you :)

Thank you @hangin! It makes me happy that you enjoyed it. Take care and wishing you a beautiful weekend!!

My pleasure did enjoy it very much and you have a great weekend also :)

Oh, isn't this the prettiest part of the country? I love the trees, and the one breaking down has such an interesting piece of bark on it.

I love looking up! You gave me plenty of opportunity to look up those tree trunks. Love the wandering paths and I kept waiting and waiting for the shot of the snake, nice job with it! :)

Oh, the turtle!

I love your walks through the forest. Always beautiful! Have a most amazing day!

!tip

Thank you Denise! I thought the tree breaking down was a sight to see. That was my first time in my walks to happen upon a snake but I did feel bad for the turtle and hoped it passed from old age and didn't suffer. Take care and have a lovely weekend!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=deerjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=a-snake-some-tears-a-turtle-ghost-and-more


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

You got a 12.40% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @deerjay! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84