Wednesday Walk Along “The Gunpowder Falls” ~ Part 1

in #wednesdaywalk6 years ago

#wednesdaywalk is sponsored by @tattoodjay. You can check out his latest #wednesdaywalk post here. Thanks @tattoodjay!

Almost a year ago, I went for a walk along the Gunpowder Falls State Park in hopes of seeing the falls.

24h0sdpjwu.jpg

My husband looked it up and, turns out we were walking in the wrong direction. So this time we will be walking in the right direction and see how far we get.

itvuvpyb0i.jpg

Last time we went this way. It was very nice and made for a nice post but it was the wrong direction to see the falls so this time we will take the opposite trail.

xhlsjirht2.jpg

93grpbua85.jpg

I’ll also be showing some photos in full spectrum with the original scene for comparison. I bought the full spectrum camera many years ago. It isn’t the best but it does a nice enough job when I manage to keep a steady hand.

Original
qf61fpe73u.jpg

Same scene in full spectrum
acbibefsph.jpg

This was how the water was looking when we started on the trail.

jepaachdsc.jpg

A little rough in some spots and not so much in others.

b4xhlfg7mt.jpg

39lisjr5db.jpg

The trail wasn’t too bad considering all the rain we’ve had and even though there were some muddy spots we were able to get around them.

p35k97fo15.jpg

It was a beautiful day! I do wish that I’d thought of using mosquito repellent as they thought it was a beautiful day also and were out in full force. Was worth being mosquito bait to get photos like this.

0s6utuenbe.jpg

11d0ixjlxz.jpg

I got to see some pretty colors!

onov3z3nrd.jpg

There were a lot of trees down but it looked like several had been down for a while. I thought this one was interesting with all the mushrooms growing on it.

unahqxhrfa.jpg

Then my husband pointed out why it was down. Lot of beavers around these parts!

lms9aknd49.jpg

This is one of the trails we were on.

dnwc3xg6ui.jpg

Saw some pretty cool trees!

d5s16jakfk.jpg

p68p3wh4ei.jpg

kb1dn1v5e8.jpg

Not all were standing tall but they were still beautiful!

cod3gfw61i.jpg

ida2ldo9o9.jpg

This one reminded me of a snake with big eyes.

97gmk8pdfs.jpg

Even the people trippers were cool looking, just had to really watch my step.

zwijcx480k.jpg

s609l63pvx.jpg

It was nice to hear the water rushing by along our walk.

gb87t5uz4s.jpg

q7i18cyc6r.jpg

9n7qjhmkoo.jpg

We came upon these two amazing looking trees and I took this series of shots.

kw4gfab9az.jpg

abzbyi12t1.jpg

fo7gsk6lfh.jpg

You know, I sure did take an awful lot of photos. At one point my husband said “if you keep stopping for so many photos, then we’ll never make it to the falls”. I slowed up on the photo taking and picked up the pace a little. The water was getting louder and we thought we were getting closer but we came upon this.

uhb87mrwx8.jpg

b5otlfy91v.jpg

owhmlm66rf.jpg

twyxsbmvl0.jpg

Turns out there was a small falls here but not “The Falls”.

vi79vxmlx0.jpg

t0h5ygdrlw.jpg

While my husband scouted for a place to cross, I took some more photos and sat down for a very short rest.

tisvvrq8lk.jpg

4vb1w4dxmf.jpg

azq3xbe4jj.jpg

cggrm5zlc7.jpg

I guess it’s also a good spot to end part 1. Thanks for joining me and I hope you come back for part 2 and maybe even a part 3. I sure did take a lot of photos! 😊

86ea2dyu0d.png

10t0fnrxjj.png

anonyvoterlogo.JPG

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you!!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thanks so much @pixresteemer!!

What a delightful walk, and those ful spectrum shots are super cool

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk tip!

Thanks so much @tattoodjay!! Very happy to be able to join in!! 😊

Hi @deerjay! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

Check out @tattoodjay blog here and follow if you like the content :)

@tipU voting service | For investors.

Great photos, @deerjay. And such an amazing place. I bet you had a great time walking on those wild paths. Looking forward to part 2. 🙂

Thank you @roxy-cat! It was amazing and I had a great time. I hope to get back in another month when leaves are changing.

Returning to that stunning place is a must, my dear. 🙂
What would be Autumn without the beautiful leaves?

Great outdoor post. Love losing myself in the woods. :-)

Thanks @manorvillemike! Losing oneself and finding oneself too! ;)

I never find myself. :-)

you had a nice walk. when I saw the river in the photo, I immediately thought about the mosquitoes :)))) those bent trees are really very amazing!

Thanks @tali72! Those mosquitoes were relentless and they seemed to like me just a lot too much..lol! Was worth it though.

Fantastic shots Dee. You got great photos of the water, trees and some lovely flowers. U&R ❤️

Thank you Jo!! Water, trees and flowers are a win any day of the week..lol!

@deerjay

I liked all the photos and the twisted looking trees. Cool you are trying out full spectrum photography! Though your white balance is way into the red. Its probably still set to factory settings when it had a hot-mirror installed. Now its removed your images have the infrared dominating the image, making the red. If you can figure out how to set its white balance you will have more natural looking photos. Use green grass, your palm of your hand or white paper as a reference when setting it.

I corrected a few of your photos in GIMP, hope you dont mind.

acbibefsph.jpg

twyxsbmvl0.jpg

9n7qjhmkoo.jpg

Thank you @solominer! I don't mind at all and your edits look awesome!! I have gimp and have used it some but I don't know how to fully use it. I know I'm missing a lot to it. I got the camera cheap several years ago (Nikon Coolpix). I'll take a closer look at it and or have my husband look at it. He has more camera knowledge than I do.

Looks like it was a beautiful walk @deerjay. Magical light filtering through the trees and it's always lovely to be walking so close to water. 🦋

Thank you @allyinspirit!! It truly was. I hope I can make it back soon to catch some Autumn colors. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97